We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bella Vista Motel

Certificate of Excellence
511-513 Gladstone Road, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bella Vista Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely clean motel. Excellent service when we arrived early. Room was ready so we were able to check into our room straight away. We stayed in a studio room, it had everything that we needed, even a toaster so we were able to make our breakfast. The motel was within walking distance to the town centre.

Helpful?
Thank Julie S
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Extremely clean and tidy rooms with everything you need. It might sound like a little thing but we appreciated the quality of the toiletries - lovely Manuka product, not those squitty generic samples you get everywhere else. A friendly and helpful welcome at front desk, and a good price. The perfect stopover!

Helpful?
Thank laurahnz
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I rode in on my motorcycle looking the worse for wear. Helen was very helpful advising the best place for me to safely park the bike. The room was tidy and had everything I needed. It's a couple of minutes on the bike to town or the beach is a couple minutes more. I recommend this Bella Vista highly.

Helpful?
Thank McMunts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What do you really need when you are travelling? For me, it's quiet comfortable room that enables me to have a good night's sleep. I'm a very VERY poor sleeper at the best of times, but I slept well in a comfortable queen-sized bed. Quiet even though on the main road leading to Gisborne's CBD. Very welcoming hosts. I'd have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Francis B
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

This place is managed by a lovely couple who on arrival where very informative and helpful pointing out places to visit, We had a double bedded room with a wet room which meant after a shower the whole floor was wet.We especially liked the fire work display in town on new years day.

Helpful?
Thank Aw331
Eric B, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for pointing out the great location of our motel, and we are glad you enjoyed the service and the cleanliness of the room. An Access Studio, such as the one you booked has, by definition, a wet floor shower in the bathroom. This is much appreciated by those who want a larger shower space or who have mobility... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

We had a 2 bedroom unit just for a night. We just popped in from the street, with no reservation on the 29th December. Luckily they had the last unit available for us. The unit was very nice and clean with a nice size of bathroom and a well equipped kitchenette. Managed by a lovely couple. Highly recommended. 9/10

Helpful?
Thank Krisztian F
Eric B, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. It is true that accommodation can be scarce during the New Years period, as a result of the influx of festival-goers coming to Gisborne to enjoy Rhythm & Vines. We therefore recommend that anyone wanting their choice of unit, book well in advance. More 

Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

We have a 1 bedroom unit with two twin beds in the bedroom and a queen size bed in the living area, perfect for three or four people. All the beds were heated and very comfortable. Complete kitchen: oven, stove, refrigerator, microwave, a nice french press and kerafe. Full dinnerware including flatware. Nice set of pots, pans, and a skillet.... More 

Helpful?
Thank jcL1685CK
Pahiatua, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015

will stay there again recommend to anyone wanting a quiet Motel close to shopping centre excellent staff and friendly atmosphere worth staying however long you want to not too expensive easy off road parking

Helpful?
Thank elersann
Eric B, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback. Our accessible units are well designed and include shower seat and grab rails in the bathroom. It is good to know that they are practical for guests requiring some extra support. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015 via mobile

This is the standard Bella Vista motel layout that can be found all over New Zealand so if you have stayed at one you will know what to expect. The room was clean and comfy with no issues. The owners were very friendly and helped out with some rainy day alternatives. The only problem was the showerhead was too low.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Changwonmatty
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015 via mobile

Great service at reception with a warm smile and and help on where I might have dinner. Room small byy well appointed for the traveler. Warm and very clean clean and cosy. Breakfast was tasty too. Will probably return and could make my regular. Close to CBD.

Helpful?
Thank rockaruni
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Emerald & Conference Centre
1.3 mi away
Portside Hotel
Portside Hotel
#9 of 27 in Gisborne
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
1.3 mi away
Champers Motor Lodge
Champers Motor Lodge
#6 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#1 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
1.2 mi away
Senator Motor Inn
Senator Motor Inn
#3 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
#10 of 27 in Gisborne
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay