We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waikanae Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park

280 Grey Street (Beach End), Gisborne, New Zealand (Formerly Waikanae Beach Holiday Park)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Waikanae Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    30
    27
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
25
31
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Loved the layout of the Holiday Park, a variety of styled accommodation to cater for a range of holiday makers. The facilities are reasonably clean and accessible. Recycling areas are great. Laundry facilities were great, may be congested when the place is busier though. The variety of activities and resources available was great. My favourite was beautiful sights and walkways.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

A well run overnight stop. Lights turned off half way through my shower. Take a torch! The park is a little back from the beach due to the public walkway. This means you have to walk all the way around to the gate to get to the beach. I recommend some kind of gate to let campers access the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WaikanaeBeachTOP10, Manager at Waikanae Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. So sorry to hear about the “shower in the dark” experience. (Not a usual event, possibly a short power outage?) But I can reassure you that normally the lights do work in our facilities. It’s a hard one with the beach entry. We want to keep our campers secure and private from the public, but... More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
167 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

We spent one night here in the two bedroom motel unit. It was winter and the unit sure reminded you of that. Thankfully the heat pump took the edge off. The unit is old and tired and fits the price, you get what you pay for. The worst thing for us was the double bed. This was the most uncomfortable,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WaikanaeBeachTOP10, Manager at Waikanae Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Knowing that our guests get a good night’s sleep is very important to us, so as Manager I’m very upset to hear of your negative experience. Also our “Motels” have all been recently refurbished and renovated, and have new beds, so perhaps you were staying in one of our older “Self Contained Units?” Regardless, I would appreciate it very much... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Paid for a one bedroom cabin and felt that it was too small for two people. They were very nice and let us have a family one bedroom unit for $30 extra. The only thing I didn't like was hair on the shower floor and men's underpants in the cleaning box in bathroom. The things I did like was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WaikanaeBeachTOP10, Manager at Waikanae Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi there, yes I recall hearing of your visit and the “surprise items” in your bathroom. The Head Cleaner and I were very disappointed and measures have been put in place to minimize the chance of this ever happening again to another guest. So thank you for bringing it to our attention. We really appreciated the review and glad to... More 

Hastings, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Room was great. Nice and clean. Very warm. a really good heat pump that stays on when you go out the door... Comfy beds . good kitchen . Close to town and the beach. Easy to find place . Walking distance to town. and the beach is right out the door. you can hire go carts for the kids on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WaikanaeBeachTOP10, Manager at Waikanae Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Wonderful to hear you had such a great time and that our facilities met your expectations. Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review, and we hope to see you again in the near future. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

We had a 2 bedroom unit & it was clean & comfortable. Kitchen was well equipped. The ocean so close was lovely even in winter. Helpful staff on reception. We would Definetly stay again as it was so handy to town & we can't wait to come in Summer as it's such a good find

Was this review helpful? Yes
WaikanaeBeachTOP10, Manager at Waikanae Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Awesome to hear we met your expectations, and although Gisborne is still beautiful in winter, we encourage you to come back and see us in the heat of summer! Now you have found our little slice of paradise, we look forward to welcoming you back regularly  More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

Right on the beach and the sea was roaring in nearby. Really good takeaways/restaurant (Captain Morgans) opposite the entrance. Good facilities and helpful staff. Had a powered site and have no complaints. Everything I expected was there. Recommended. Terrific if you are into surfing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WaikanaeBeachTOP10, Manager at Waikanae Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

We all love being able to work right on the beach front, such a fantastic location, (although a little distracting at times for the staff who surf!) So glad you had a great time, hope you can come back and see us again soon. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

I found the price great - for a 2 bedroom. Was a bit nervous being near the road with noise but it was quiet at night. Bed was comfortable. It was nice to hear the waves at night. It was close enough to town that you could walk if you wanted to, not super close but close. Room was well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WaikanaeBeachTOP10, Manager at Waikanae Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review of our holiday and park and room. Really appreciate you taking the time. Theres nothing quite like listening to the sound of the ocean when you are on holiday. We look forward to seeing you again in the future More 

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

Once again the top 10 brand delivers. This is a spacious camp suitable for all travelers, clean well presented bathroom and kitchen facilities right on the waterfront. Easy walking to the town center and the ideal location for using the cycle trails. The beach is a surf beach. The port is close by and can bring some noise during the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WaikanaeBeachTOP10, Manager at Waikanae Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give this great review. As I am writing this, the surf out the front of the office is pumping. Can’t hear the port working for the sound of the ocean! Hope you can come back and visit us again soon. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

HAve stayed here a number of times but never for 5 nights in a row, great place, clean rooms, lots of space to spread out and close to the beach, city shops, river walk, great family resturant acorss the road and a great base to trip north or south, very freindly and very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WaikanaeBeachTOP10, Manager at Waikanae Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Glad you were able to stay longer with us this time! We look forward to you visiting us again soon, and hope we can make your next “tripadvisor” review as glowing as this one. Thanks so much. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.5 mi away
Portside Hotel
Portside Hotel
#9 of 26 in Gisborne
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waikanae Beach Motel
Waikanae Beach Motel
#16 of 26 in Gisborne
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Emerald & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#15 of 26 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
2.4 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#1 of 26 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
2.1 mi away
Champers Motor Lodge
Champers Motor Lodge
#3 of 26 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay