We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SKYCITY Hotel

#10 of 63 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hotel website
Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Wi-Fi!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
SKYCITY Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    551
    476
    168
    33
    28
See reviews for
173
572
77
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1256)
  • Mar-May only
    (385)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (330)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (237)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (304)
All months
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had booked in at Sky City with my partner to have an enjoyable night of wining dining on the final night of our holiday in NZ. The hotel and the service from staff far exceeded expectations and we were provided with warm and welcoming hospitality all round. I would most definitely recommend it and would definitely stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Whangarei
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Absolutely worth staying there, value for money and right at the Casino for convenience. Food is excellent as well as the service and drinks are reasonable. Rooms are very clean and well maintained. Close to Queen street shopping and not too far away from checking out the cruise ships at the waterfront. Would I stay there again. absolutely. Was this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Woolies I would firstly like to share my gratitude for your fantastic review on Trip Advisor. I am so thrilled that you had a great stay here with us at SKYCITY Hotel and I am equally pleased to see this is not your first time with us. We are so very fortunate to have such great amenities and facilities... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel has a less than average Lobby and Reception and this does not inspire confidence but that is the worst of the experience because the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. SkyCity Hotel is well situated for the Auckland CBD and nightlife and if you are a gambler then having the Casino in the same building as the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GallopingGourmet51 Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely honest review on Trip Advisor and also for the recommendation. I am thrilled to learn that you had an enjoyable stay here with us at SKYCITY Hotel and I do hope that you were able to fully benefit from our comfortable and spacious rooms. I am happy... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here 3 nights in July and is the second time in the last few months. But I've stayed many of times throughout the years as has my Dad for business and Sisters for the nightlife. As I write this review its just before I make a reservation for a surprise Father's Day treat. I'm new to trip advisor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear E_Renata12 Thank you so much for posting up such an excellent review on your previous stays here with us on Trip Advisor and I am thrilled that we were able to be a partial reason to you joining TripAdvisor. Such a pleasure to have had you stay here with us in the recent months and it is very exciting... More 

Marmora, New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an 18 hour layover enroute to Sydney. This was a great spot to stay so we could at least get a brief glimpse of Auckland. As we got in quite late, it was nice that were local restaurants open that we could eat dinner at. In the morning we were able to walk to the waterfront and get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear riodoc, I would firstly like to share my gratitude for taking the time to post such a lovely review on Trip Advisor, I have shared your kind words with our team as it is so encouraging to receive such positive feedback. I am so pleased that you were able to have such an enjoyable time here with us at... More 

Wellington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed at Sky City on business over the past year around 12 times. I've always been extremely impressed by the whole experience from the initial welcome through to the standard of food, quality of rooms, and overall service. I've stayed in both their standard rooms and their suites which I must say are lovely and spacious. It's also the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Al B I would firstly like to share my gratitude for taking the time to post up such an excellent Review on Trip Advisor. It is such a pleasure to have had you welcome you back to SKYCITY Hotel and I am equally thrilled that you had such an enjoyable time. Here at SKYCITY we strive to provide our... More 

Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I often stay at Sky City for business purposes but this time it was for my husband and I to relax and enjoy. we purchased the 'experience' package with dinner at the Orbit Restuarant and Sky Tower tickets, valet parking and lovely room for the night, Champers and chocolates included. Wow, what a night, thoroughly enjoyed it and excellent value... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diseyn, Thank you very much for taking the time to post up such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. I have shared your feedback with the Orbit team as I am certain they will be very appreciative of your kind words. I am thrilled that you had such an enjoyable time here with us at SKYCITY and that our... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was the last getaway before our first baby came and we have heard some spectacular reviews about the service here and it was nothing short of fabulous. The free wi-fi speeds were running faster than the speeds I had at home on our fibre connection. We booked through the skycity website to get the promo; adventure or relax winter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kelsey B I would like to share my gratitude for your excellent review on Trip Advisor. I am so thrilled to learn that you had such an enjoyable time here with at SKYCITY Hotel and that you were provided with the exceptional service that we pride ourselves on here. I have forwarded on your lovely and kind words to... More 

Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room is clean, tidy, spacious, quiet - in fact everything you could wish for. There is construction taking place in the hotel at the moment so very noisy in the lobby and coffee shop during the day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colin_McClean, Hotel Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your feedback and we were pleased to read that you found our rooms to be clean, tidy, spacious and quiet. Thank you for highlighting the construction work that is taking place in the Atrium area adjacent to our hotel lobby. We are very excited about what lies for our customers. The... More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In Auckland for the Bledisloe Cup and stayed the night at the Skycity Hotel. Found the location very central and not too far from Britomart. We had room 357 which was at the end of a coridoor and very quiet. Room was modern , clean ,fresh and nice. Bathroom was standard hotel set up. Bed is a huge super king... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear koochie2011 Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a fantastic review on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled that you were able to have such an enjoyable time here with us at SKYCITY Hotel. We are very fortunate to be as centrally located as it only proves great convenience to guests such as yourselves. I am... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

340 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (314)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (81)
Viewed
Room/suite (93)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 63 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#7 of 63 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 2,541 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#6 of 63 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#8 of 63 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay