We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SKYCITY Hotel

4.5 of 5 Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Hotel website
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
SKYCITY Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
SKYCITY Hotel
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    388
    140
    30
    25
See reviews for
138
493
68
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1051)
  • Mar-May only
    (292)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (241)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (236)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (282)
All months
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My family stayed a night at SkyCity Hotel, Auckland on the 5 Jan 2015 after we welcomed my mum at the airport. We thought it would be good to let my elderly mum stay a night in Auckland to rest after her long flight from Singapore. We booked two rooms & we're very impressed with the service at check in,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Worse hotel I've ever been in in years! I don't think they checked our rooms before we arrived. 1. Cobwebs on ceiling. 2. Entrance light fixing hanging loose, saw wires and all. 3. Bathroom shower grout was dirty. 4. One of our beside table draw was stuck and didn't open. 5. TV remote battery flap was missing, Hubby wasn't impressed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melrose, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel almost seems to be the centre of activity in Auckland and in that sense it was good to stay here for a few nights, but we weren't overly impressed with the room and in particular, the bathroom. The shower/bath grout was a bit mouldy and in need of touching up and the room itself was rather dull and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Te Puke, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Central to downtown Auckland with great rooms excellent restaurants and great entertainment and fun at the casino.Everything you need or want or would like to visit is within walking distant or by short taxi trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg S, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kcbk, Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor. My team and I are thrilled you had a brilliant experience here at SKYCITY and trust you have returned home safely with some wonderful memories. I am sure fellow travellers will appreciate your recommendation of our complex and we look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to... More 

Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spent our first night in New Zealand at SkyCity. Really nice staff members helped us out everywhere. The Do Not Disturb package was a great addition for our honeymoon, and the staff even sent us a congrats card with chocolates to our room! The room was pretty nice - huge bed, big bathroom, okay view (we didn't pay extra... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg S, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alexis Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. My team and I are thrilled you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Many Thanks Greg More 

Fairfax County, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our first hotel in our 2-week New Zealand trip, and it wasn't anything extremely special, but it wasn't bad either. The one thing that really stuck out was the location. Being right next to the Sky Tower we felt like we were at the heart of the city, and we were in walking distance of the bay and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg S, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kyle S I am pleased our concierge staff were able to assist you. Our location is definitely very convenient with easy access to CBD locations. With our world-class SKYCITY casino and over twenty restaurants and bars throughout the complex, there is something to suit everyone and every occasion. Regards Greg More 

Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were whisked from the airport to this lovely hotel . Having flown from the UK we availed ourselves of the wonderful shower and the comfortable King Sized Bed. We didn't have the harbour view but no matter there is plenty of room

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greg S, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Waspie11 Thank you for your recommendation of SKYCITY Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am pleased our team were able to provide exceptional service. My team and I would be delighted to welcome you back to SKYCITY Hotel should you return to Auckland City. Regards Greg More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

we stayed only one night, but had a pleasant stay. The room was really nice, bed was comfy and the hotel bars were good fun. It is the perfect location and easy to find as is well sign posted. We booked a deluxe harbour view room, but the views were not really worth the extra money. Not much harbour to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg S, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Becntony Thank you for your TripAdvisor post. I am thrilled you had an enjoyable stay for the most part, with the use of our restaurants within the complex and central CBD location Regards Greg More 

Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent our last night in New Zealand at the SKYCITY hotel in Auckland. Great room, perfect location, nice restaurants... Everything ok apart from the fact that breakfast is not included in the pricey room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg S, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Chillax82 Here at SKYCITY, we definitely have a convenient central location, a short walk from CBD attractions such as the Viaduct Harbour. If the walk back from the harbour is not very appealing, we have a range of wonderful restaurants within SKYCITY. Once again, thank you, and we look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY should you return... More 

New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just had a three night visit to Sky City - I regularly stay here for work and can recommend it. Its a good central location - i lobe all the restaurants near by. The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. There are a still a few older rooms left that have the older style bathrooms but luckily this stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg S, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

NZ_Scooter Here at SKYCITY we are constantly looking at ways to enhance our guest experience. To date, we have completed many bathroom refurbishments throughout the hotel and are due to commence more refurbishments this year. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards Greg More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Family Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland

267 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (240)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (65)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay