We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SKYCITY Hotel

#12 of 63 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hotel website
Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Offers & Announcements
Winter Packages,Book now!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
SKYCITY Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

1,204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    522
    460
    161
    33
    28
See reviews for
157
553
74
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1204)
  • Mar-May only
    (385)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (279)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (236)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (304)
All months
Motueka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location for shopping and attending conferences. Fantastic breakfast choices. Rooms are very comfortable and quiet. However a very busy foyer. Rooms serviced each day. They have their own airport shuttle which was very comfortable and quick. The driver was very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thames, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Wonderful weekend, well worth the money. Champagne and chocolates in room, free breakfast for two. Lovely big room, great view, clean and staff very friendly. Staff went out of way to help us. Room was clean and very comfy bed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
658 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have waited years to stay here and finally got the chance for two nights this week. So I came with much anticipation and left feeling let down and really totally disappointed. Sure it's a 4 star hotel but lacks finishing touches. In the room: - Tea and Coffee was not restocked overnight - Air Conditioning was poor - The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Colin_McClean, Hotel Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate your comments. Thank you for highlighting clearly the issues that impacted your stay. We were able to identify the room concerned by tracking the issue with the safe. We will check the air-conditioning, and we take on board your thoughts regarding the 'wet floor' bathroom. We have also noted the fact... More 

Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Spent the night here for my 40th birthday celebrations with friends. Although I booked a Premium Twin Room, was incorrectly given a King suite. Nevertheless, immaculately presented and would have no hesitation in recommending to others as a top choice of accommodation. Sadly, I have to advise the dinner at Orbit didn't measure up (see separate review) and would have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

He had an option to stay at Hilton which is on harbour or take Skycity hotel which is a part of sky tower. No regrets in choosing this hotel for the stay. Excellent staff service,good food,best casino,friendly environment. It's closer to happening places like queens street.. Ideal place to spend your time in Auckland Rooms are good,spacious and well maintained.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Foxton Beach, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is my second stay here, and while I want to enjoy it (as the rooms are lovely) there is always a but. Nice.... but That is because they always get something wrong - and don't fix it. This time it was asking for a king room and getting a twin. Reception said they are full and can't do anything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colin_McClean, Hotel Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate your time and effort. It's important to us that we know when we've fallen short of delivering exceptional customer service; and we clearly did fall short during your time with us. Unfortunately, the error occurred prior to your arrival at the front desk, and our poor team on the frontline were... More 

Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here multiple times and have never been let down. They offer the best value in my opinion of any other place in Auckland CBD. Great service, even making me milkshakes that weren't on the menu etc etc. Place is always spotless and clean. Make sure you request views to your preference as some views aren't the greatest.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul M, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your lovely review on Trip Advisor. I am thoroughly thrilled and we are all very flattered that you not only had a wonderful stay, but you also find SKYCITY Hotel to offer the best value in Auckland. Here at SKYCITY Hotel we strive to provide our guests... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My family of 5 with 3 teens stayed here for 2 nights. Our voucher was for 2 rooms but they offered us a family suite with interconnecting door and living area for an extra $180. Unlimited free wifi and dinner at the Fortuna buffet which the teens absolute loved! My only complaint (which I didn't complain about!) was a baby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DizzyLee1, Thank you so much for leaving such a rave and honest review on Trip Advisor. I have shared you lovely review with our team as it is such an encouragement reading such positive reviews. I am so thrilled that we were able to accommodate to you and your family and I do hope that your stay here with... More 

Gisborne, Gisborne, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second time staying at this hotel and both times have been thoroughly enjoyable. Very comfortable and staff are very friendly. When I am in auckland this is where I prefer to stay. I have stayed in other hotels in auckland but no compare to this hotel for comfort and location. It is just a quick walk into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kirby492 Thank you so much for your lovely review on Trip Advisor and also for the great recommendations. I am so thrilled to learn you had such a great time here at SKYCITY Hotel and we are honoured to have such fantastic loyal guests like yourselves. I hope that you were provided with the exceptional service that we pride... More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Value for money is good and the staff were mostly very friendly and accommodating. Very clean and tidy rooms. TV could do with a few more channel options. It is great being right in town, you can walk to everything you need.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JessyMaca, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate all feedback and welcome especially lovely comments such as yours. I am so thrilled that you had a pleasurable stay here at SKYCITY Hotel and I am even more pleased that our team were accommodating and friendly on the duration of your stay.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

327 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (300)
Viewed
Room/suite (93)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay