We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 77 Auckland hotels

Auckland City Oaks

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Auckland City Oaks
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Auckland City Oaks to your Saves list
Ranked #27 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
rohan s Singapore, Singapore
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    314
    147
    48
    34
See reviews for
209
273
44
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (700)
  • Mar-May only
    (198)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (168)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (151)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (183)
All months
There are newer reviews for Auckland City Oaks
See the most recent reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Central location , staff nice , but ther room a bit small ., it is easy to walk to the main street and the restaurants , checkin was a bit delayed but the staff were very helpful , the linen a bit thin , just ok

Was this review helpful? Yes
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review

Dear rohan s Thank you for your review of our property and your positive comments on our friendly and helpful staff. I am so proud of our team and how they continue to perform to a high service level. Take care and I hope to welcome you back in the near future. More

Te Puke
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Positioned right beside the Auckland Central Police station may give a sense of security but it's noisy and very cramped rooms. Fully equipped for self catering which would suit budget minded travellers including washing machine etc. Minimal bath towels and one face cloth for two people. Check in security demands photo ID which is a bit bizarre. Very small lobby... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review

Dear BeeBee1TePuke Thank you so much for your feedback. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. Regarding to the requirement of seeing photo ID upon check in, please note that this is an industry standard and not property specific. We... More

Wellington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was lovely - we booked an executive 1brm, and ended up with a 2 brm apartment (one single one double) - with a decent lounge and kitchen (we were in one of the accessible rooms so it was pretty large). Service was ok - a bit slow...... I had an incident where the hairdryer in our room exploded in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Cartney I thank you for taking the time to share the experience during your last stay. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused by delay replacing hairdryer and the lift been out of order, it was during lift upgrading process while your stay. We hope to see you back in the near future, thank you for your support. More

Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only stayed one night at this hotel between flights, but as we had quite a bit of time (and overnight) between flights we chose to stay in the city centre to look around. This hotel is very centrally located, about 10 minutes walk from Queen Street (the main street), and about 5 minutes from the Sky City Casino &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review

Dear KiwiinNorway I am so pleased you enjoyed your short stopover with us as we enjoyed looking after you. Thank you for your review of our property and your positive comments on our central location, breakfast and airport transfer. Take care and I hope to welcome you back in the near future. More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
53 hotel reviews
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were on our last stop from 8 weeks of travelling in USA and Canada, staying in numerous hotels and apartments. My first impression was " Wow, are we in India?". Every worker there was Indian, with strong Indian accents. We arrived early, because our Air NewZealand plane landed at 6 am. As expected, we were not allowed in till... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just returned from 3 night stay at this motel to end out 10 day holiday in New Zealand and of the 4 Aparthotel/Motels we stayed in on the North Island this is by far the worst. On entering our room the first thing that struck us was the room deodorant (also too strong in the hall ways), followed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Awesome little hotel with all the amenities I needed for an active gym goer like me! The little kitchenette and washer dryer was a total plus, why I chose this hotel. Great friendly staff at the front desk and of course the housekeeping crew Will definitely visit again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Donna, It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, Front Office Manager More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed just for one night due to late flight before move to relative's house. You can get everything you need pretty much. Little bit far from CBD. But it won't be problem if you have car or public transfer. Highly recommend for family stay in a 2 bedroom apartment. Quite good price for long traveller.

Was this review helpful? Yes
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Webber I am so pleased you enjoyed your short stopover with us as we enjoyed looking after you. Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel. Thank you especially for your kind comments on our hotel and room. Warm regards, Front Office Manager More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and was really good. We had a two bedroom apartment and it suited us fine. Beds were comfy and we had a nice view of the harbour bridge. Really quiet which was nice. Only downside was we had to walk past the city mission on way to queen st or viaduct and lots of homeless... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Kenziemac Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel. Thank you especially for your kind comments on our central location, room facilities and fantastic view. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Surprisingly good. Right in the centre, close walk to everything. Hotel facilities and room were comparable to more expensive hotels in the area. If I had to pick a fault the front desk could of been more professional. (could be fixed with more training) Will definitely come back and stay and recommend the hotel to other colleges at work.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Russell E We are so appreciative of all your positive comments and feel very humbled that you would recommend our hotel to others – Thank you More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Auckland City Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Oaks

Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auckland City Oaks 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Auckland City Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
Auckland City Oaks New Zealand

149 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (135)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (49)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay