We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 70 Auckland Central accommodations

Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel

4.5 of 5 Hostel   |   16 - 20 Fort Street, Auckland Central 1010, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 10 more sites!
44%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
InfrequentFlyer447 Scotts Valley, California
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    38
    43
    29
    22
See reviews for
4
30
56
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Bed bugs in room 616 that have ruined the last week of my girlfriends travels. Other than that the rooms are small but they do the job, hopefully the mattress in that room can be burnt so no one else has to suffer horrible bites!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotts Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband's 69 & I'm 64. We're from California, don't travel a lot & it seemed crazy to book an overnight in a youth hostel in Auckland. But the price was unbeatable, it's right downtown & it was great! Admittedly, we didn't hang around using the pool or the spa or watching TV: we wanted to see Auckland, not a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for your feedback! We are very stoked to hear that you had such a great time with us and we hope you had an amazing time traveling! All the best for the future and we hope to see you again one day! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management More

Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms are really small, when it's full you don't have enough place for open your baggage!! You have some lockers under your bed so it's cool for some objects but it's take all the place and you can't hide your baggage under your bed, it's too bad.. after you have a room full of baggage everywhere and almost impossible... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you very much for your review! We appreciate your feedback and agree our room vary in size but we always make sure there are lockable draws underneath the bed for important belongings to be locked away securely. Unfortunately we don't have a license to allow drinking but the bar on Level 1 offers special rates for backpackers... More

Byron Bay, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nomads Auckland Rocks....Great Location close walk to everything you could possibly need when staying in Auckland City. I could see the harbour from my room which is always a bonus.There is a roof top Kitchen and spa with a nice and friendly atmosphere. Staff were very accommodating especially considering I arrived at 3am I was still greeted with a big... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you very much for your review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again in the future :) Thanks Nomads Auckland Management More

Taupo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location- Location- Location ! The best thing about Nomads Auckland ( and many more ) I have found is they have the knack to find a spot pretty central to all that you need- Buses, Trains and Taxi Ranks just around the corner ! Apart from location I found my private room to be extremely comfortable, with TV and an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback! We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management More

Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed in this hostel two different times over multiple floors. Hostel is very nice and clean; everything you should be looking for in a hostel. If you have a Telecom mobile sim you can get signal strength for their WiFi in the lounge area on the first floor. You may need some ear plugs (available at reception) for the music... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and also made use of our free ear plugs :) We hope you also used our free Spa and Sauna and joined our free daily guided walking tours? We hope to see you again soon. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management More

Helsingborg
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The kitchen was among the worst kitchens we have ever seen in a hostel. It was too small for that many people and you could only sit outside and eat when the weather was good. Though, the outside veranda was nice and had a pretty good view. A lot was broken, like the saucepans and the frying pans and there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you arrived at a time when our kitchen wasn't stocked up the way it should be. Even though you are gone now we like to let you know that we have re-stocked all dishes and cutlery which a monthly excercise we have to do due... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Paid 260 each for first week in NZ in a double ensuite, no window, bathroom was rough and TV didn't work, kitchen was pretty "trashed" utensils and pans were WELL-used, but staff was friendly and the fort st union bar connected to it was awesome. Expensive when you're not allowed alcohol IN your room. The dorms were much better though

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We are afraid to hear that you didn't find your stay with us as comfortable as expected! Our private rooms vary in size and our few no window rooms don't have air conditioning unfortunately. Can you please let us know in which room you stayed in so we can get the... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I was only there for one night, but even that was too much. The hallway smelled like some had thrown up the night before. The room also smelled and was really hot at night. The atmosphere is odd at the chain hostels (it feels like people are there to party, but not to meet people, which is how it felt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us didn't live up to your and our expectations. Our cleaners are working on shifts 24/7 and it's not good that the smell stayed on the floor for more than a day. We will follow up on this with our cleaning team. We offer... More

Superior, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Recently spent 2 nights at the Nomads Auckland Backpackers and our stay was great. The hostel is centrally located and within walking distance to many of Auckland's best site. For anything that is outside of walking distance, the hostel is well known and a common pickup for activities as well. Proximity to the bus drop off/pickup point is also a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We are stoked to hear that you had a great time with us and hope to see you again in the future and you might stay in our other NZ hostels in Wellington and Queenstown. Enjoy the rest of your travels, Thanks Nadine More

Been to Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel

Also Known As:
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hotel
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel New Zealand
Address: 16 - 20 Fort Street, Auckland Central 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 70 Specialty lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpack in style at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel.We’re located in a beautiful historic building in downtown Auckland, near everything you need for your stay in this fantastic city. Come stay at our stylish, upmarket hostel in the central city, We have some female-only dorms as well as mixed dorms and private rooms!We have great facilities, with a friendly atmosphere and crew who will cater to your every whim. Our travel staff were hand-picked to ensure you will have a trip to remember!We’re in an awesome downtown Auckland location, close to Vector Arena, Skytower, Viaduct Harbour, the train station and all the downtown shops – it’s the perfect place to stay in Auckland.Our facilities include 24-hour reception, Global Gossip internet and Wi-Fi, and a rooftop kitchen with panoramic views of the city and harbour. We have free tea and coffee, free travel advice (no booking fees) and free 2-for-1 drinks vouchers at check-in. Hang out on our rooftop sundeck, communal kitchen or our lounge with Sky TV. Chill out in our free sauna and rooftop spa then head down to Fort Street Union Bar to meet travellers from all over the world. We put on free and cheap daily activities all around Auckland. FREE 30min WIFI each day.FREE Tea & CoffeeFREE SaunaFREE Heated SpaFREE Travel advice (no booking fees)FREE/Cheap daily activities around Auckland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelWorld, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.