We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 73 Auckland accommodations

Newton Lodge

27 Cross Street | Newton, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Newton Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Newton Lodge to your Saves list
64%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Mikalet8 Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
9
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent 3 night in a single room, just next to the PC area. The wall is super thin so you could hear people typing noice, but fortunately (for me? at least) those PCs were only allowed to use until 8pm, so the sound did not disturb my sleep. Bathroom/Toilet area is well cleaned everyday. The noise is inevitable aspect when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in this hostel when it was new and all things looked rosy. Many of the rooms are not windowed but were clean and satisfactory. Now, more than 2 years on, the lack of maintenance and care is showing everywhere. From pillows and bedding that need replacing to shower screens falling off, a general lack of attention adds to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
104 hotel reviews
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stay in the six bed dorms! They have descent metal bunk beds, small lockers for your valuables, and even a couch to hang out on. The biggest point is there is a window and ventilation. The bigger dorms do not and get stuffy. Pay the money and go for the 6 bed. The bathrooms are good. The showers have there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We booked Newton Lodge because it was located close to the city centre. We stayed there for 2 nights as it had a acceptable price for a 6 men room. The facilities are quite good, the bathrooms and toilets are in the form of single cubical rooms and were clean. There is also free wifi and 2 free computers for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Main point - no heating anywhere in building! After arriving into a basic room (no windows, air vent in ceiling) our room (like the rest of the building) was freezing. We asked for a heater but they don't have any. All they have are extra blankets. After complaining about this we found out that 'heating is not advertised'! and that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewtonLodge, Manager at Newton Lodge, responded to this review

An overstated story. Where is the lizard you mentioned? I remember that you threatened to give bad review in order to get an invalid refund. Now you have done it. Well done. More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Newton Lodge for 2 nights, mainly because it had free wifi. The place is modern, clean and well kept, but had we not been out and about for most of our stay, I think we would have been a little annoyed. The kitchen has 3 refrigerators which are all jam-packed and there's grocery bags all over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarzana, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I have been here in March, for 3 weeks. The hostel is quite good, is clean and cheap and if you stay 7 nights you just pay for 6. You also have free wifi and some tea/coffe, sugar and salt included. The position is ok, near K'rd and Queen St, you have to walk 5 minutes to get where all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

You can tell a lot about hostels by their showers - and these were private, clean and comfy! Newton Lodge is not bursting with character, but it's comfortable, accommodating, clean and great value - not to mention in the middle of town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genoa, Italy
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

i arrived in this hostel at the end of august and now that is november i`m still living here! it's a great place, cheap, clean, new furniture, nice kitchen and living room, perfect toilets and showers, always clean and with hot water! staff are friendly, you can check in late. the best and unusual thing is FREE WIFI!!! i really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Great small hostel just of the K' road. Dorm rooms are spacious and immaculately clean, as is the rest of the hostel. Kitchen is big and well equipped and the bathrooms are plentiful. There is also free wifi. Owners are lovely. This is the only place I will ever stay in Auckland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage Newton Lodge?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Newton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Lodge

Address: 27 Cross Street | Newton, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Newton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

6 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay