We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chalet Chevron Bed And Breakfast Hotel

14 Brighton Road, Parnell, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Chalet Chevron Bed And Breakfast Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    22
    16
    6
    9
    4
See reviews for
10
16
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (57)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We could not get our usual accomodation so needed to think outside the square! Looked up bed and breakfast and decided to give it ago with open minds:) The location of the property is great easy access to Parnell, Newmarket, Auckland City and bus stops to take you around Auckland. The B&B itself is tired, thats okay. The bit I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

This B&B is in a good location, easy to get to the bus and in a nice neighborhood, but is overpriced. We got a room for 3 people, with a single and a double bed, but then he charged us an additional $65 for the 3rd person. The room was small and dusty with thin, wrinkled worn carpeting. The towels,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

I would recommend this B&B for three reasons: 1. The location cannot be beaten, Parnell is lovely and such an easy commute to the city center on the inner link. When you go back to the B&B in the evening you almost feel like you're going home rather then to a hotel. 2. The breakfast is delicious, by far the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Good location, friendly and helpful hosts but we had an issue with the cleanliness of the room. The amount of built-up dust indicated this room had not seen a duster in a long time, and the faded mildew-stained curtains distracted from the excellent views of the bay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014 via mobile

Pros: close to Parnell village, and restaurants, walking distance to cigale market, a few rooms have good view Cons: bring your own towel if you don't like ancient stiff ones with holes, cockroaches in bathroom

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

I stayed with Kelly and Barb for about a month. They made me feel very welcome and at home, and I would often relax with them in the lounge in the evenings, but could some and go in privacy as well. My room was small, and not modern at all, but still good value for money. Some access to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Could not get into a hotel close for a business course by so booked in here for three days. Great service, helpful people, good food, quiet neighborhood, clean rooms, good views, what more could i say!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is emphatically NOT a Bed and Breakfast (although they have both beds and breakfast, it is just not right to go into it expecting a B&B). This is not a hotel. This is best described as a clean hostel with private rooms. I have stayed in my share of hostels in New Zealand, so I know whereof I speak.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KellyandBarb, Owner at Chalet Chevron Bed And Breakfast Hotel, responded to this review

Whilst we encourage all our Guests to leave feedback comments, we do ask that they make them balanced and accurate. In your case however, M. from Massachusetts, the phrase “economic with the truth" comes to mind. We can assure you and all our Guests that we operate on a B&B basis and NOT as a hostel. As many of our... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great location in a quiet Parnell street and Barb and Kelly were very good hosts, with lots of suggestions for places to go in Auckland. This is definitely more of a B&B than a hotel and the prices are quite high compared to other places we stayed in NZ. The rooms are also very small so we certainly appreciated the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Whangarei Heads, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Horrible place to stay. Booked a family room, there was no door between the rooms. The sink was tiny and outside the bathroom which was also tiny. For the price of 300 we expected far better. Decor old and tired. Mould on curtains and on bread at breakfast time. Would not recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KellyandBarb, Owner at Chalet Chevron Bed And Breakfast Hotel, responded to this review

Trudi, thank you for your comments. We are saddened that you did not feel the need to raise your concerns directly with us prior to your departure. We are more concerned however that your review lacks both balance and accuracy. As discussed with you when you made the booking, the layout of our Family Room is ideal for those parents... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#21 of 63 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#5 of 63 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mollies
Mollies
#1 of 63 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay