We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YMCA Hostel

4.0 of 5 Corner Pitt Street and Greys Avenue, Auckland, New Zealand
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YMCA Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
YMCA Hostel
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    44
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
1
7
62
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (101)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars NEW

I only stayed one night in this hostel. My room, the showers and the kitchen were very clean and tidy.Very small kitchen though but a very big dining room area.I would recommend this hostel,especially those who want a quiet and relaxed hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are in a triple room, was quite convenient. The room, showers and facilities were very clean and tidy. I was impressed how clean it was. If you would like a low fare experience, this is just perfect. Was a bit noisy and quite warm, as the windows were not made to fully open. However, wasn't a problem. Stayed there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed the facilities, found it to be clean and comfortable. Our team work hard to maintain high levels of Customer Service, Cleanliness and to offer a varied range of services, hope to see you here again. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto More 

Taichung, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There were three of us staying four nights and found there are only two small kitchens located on different floors and the dinning room is separated from these two kitchens, which is very inconvenient for Backpackers like us especially those who need to cook big meals. It is also a pity that there is no free WiFi , which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Happy you find our accommodation to be clean and easy, I'm sorry about the inconvenience caused in relations to the kitchen, we are investigating a way to make it easier for our guests, but unfortunately will take few more weeks until the project is completed. Our wireless rates started from NZ$3.00 for 500MB... More 

Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was pleased with my room. Very clean and comfortable and handy to the toilets and showers. A fan, perhaps a ceiling fan, would be nice to get some air movement. The price is quite reasonable, especially compared to other accommodation in Auckland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your comments. Fantastic that you were happy with the room and customer service, in every room we provide a heater, desk, chair, wardrobe, mirror, pin board, mini bar, bed and bed lamps, by keeping the rooms cost low, we can also provide a low rate, in fact, we are a low cost - low fare... More 

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 10 nights, in 2 types of room: double and triple, both have basic equipment. Rooms are clean, well-organized and comfortable. Receptionists are excellently helpful, informative, and definitely friendly. Kitchen and dining room have all basic utensil you need for daily meals. Couldn't ask for any better first impression of New Zealand. The downside was that if someone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you found us to be worth your money, it is a pleasure to be your first good impression of New Zealand, make us proud and even more inspired to provide a "wow"service. We will investigated the issue with the internet, as it is normally working fine. Once again thank you... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great service. All the staff were lovely and friendly, and really went out of their way to help out. Everything was clean and comfortable, nothing fancy but really great as a cheap place to stay that was close to town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked this in advance with 1 week to go and not much availability elsewhere. Turned out to be a great choice. Private room with shared bathrooms. Room is basic but clean. Bed is comfy and clean, fridge is useful. Shower room is really clean and do are the toilets. Location is excellent to walk 10-15 mins to Sky City for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are extremely happy we surprised you in a positive way, fantastic that you enjoyed your stay. glad everything was clean and our awesome staff were very friendly. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

stayed in YMCA Hostel twice during my trip, when I first arrived my check-in was processed quickly and I could go to the room earlier than expected, room is basic, but clean, would suggest some artwork on the walls. Common toilet and showers are superbly clean, Kitchen is small, but clean, they also have a garden in a big Lounge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and had a good time, impressed with your detailed review about our events and Fitness Centre. Hope you have had an awesome time in New Zealand and enjoy your endless summer. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto More 

Clive, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Staff were friendly, but my request for an upper floor facing Greys Ave was ignored. The room itself had all the basics, but it was EXTREMELY hot especially through the night, even with the window open which made it very noisy. There was obviously no air conditioning. The bed had bars on the end which made it even harder to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Nice to hear that our staff were friendly during your stay in YMCA Hostel, I'm extremely sorry about your online request, I will follow up the case and make sure important details like that are not forgotten. In regards the heat we do provide fans at the reception, again sorry if it was... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Staff were very helpful and friendly. There is not a real kitchen with stove and oven but a small room with a hot plate burner and toaster oven. The single room is very small, with no TV but sufficient if you just need a place to sleep and store your stuff. The rooms can be stuffy during the day but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Happy to hear you find our staff to be Friendly and Helpful, we are sorry about the kitchens, however, a project is underway aiming to maximise space and enhance cooking quality, fans are available to hire at the reception. We advise guest to check their arrival Fact Sheet as we provide more than... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to YMCA Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA Hostel

Address: Corner Pitt Street and Greys Avenue, Auckland, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YMCA Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your YMCA Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca Hotel Auckland Central
YMCA Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay