We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Corner Pitt Street and Greys Avenue, Auckland, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added YMCA Hostel to your Saves list
YMCA Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
77%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Sarah Jane H Sydney, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (58)
  • Photos (60)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    26
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
5
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I arrived at 10:20am & receptionist John was friendly, polite & quick in his service as he could see I was very tired. After an brief intercom call to the 5th floor janitorial service to check room cleanliness & availability, I was in Room 516 within 10 min & that included the elevator ride. BOOK ONLINE IT'S EASY! SINGLE ROOM... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the most detailed in complete Feedback we ever received. When I was reading your feedback, I was imagining how long you must have taken to write such a beautiful guide for future customers, it is very accurate. We from YMCA Hostel can only say thank you, thank you for your time and thank... More

Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in room #219, a single room, with a clean format ... Unfortunately when I opened the door a sickly smell greeted me. The rooms one window was open to air the place, but it wasn't helping! I'm not exactly sure what the smell was? Possibly; sweat, stinky feet, body odour, something dying, or, an unsavory carpet cleaner? The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Happy you loved the value for money and our location. I apologise about the odor you had in your room, we had an internal miscommunication but the problem has been addressed and I'm very confident that it will not happen again. Glad you find our facilities to be modern and well maintained. Once... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I found a flyer on the bus from the airport advertising this hostel and after weighing my options i went for this one. I spent 2 nights here, in a single room on the second floor for $38 (USD) a night. The room was basic, but clean, it came with a bed, closet, desk and minifridge. The bathrooms and shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Glad you have chosen YMCA as your accommodation provider, it is very rewarding to see you find us to be Clean and Affordable supporting your basic needs. Unfortunately the outside noise is out of our control, however we do provide a Security Guard who is responsible to control the noise level after hours.... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights for a work visit. Usually we stay in serviced apartment such as the Quadrant or Quest but in order to keep costs down on this trip, I offered to try the YMCA Hostel. I wouldn't hestitate to stay again. I had a single room on the 5th floor. The room was basic but spotless and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are happy you enjoyed our service, cleanliness and facilities, just want to let you know that we do sell a Bath Kit, Shaving Kit and Tea Kit, all for a very reasonable price. Once again thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto More

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in many backpackers but am always anxious about staying in a new one. The lady at the front desk was welcoming and very friendly, offered me a discounted rate for a single room which I accepted. The room was wonderful, good size for a one bed room. Bathrooms and showers were the nicest I've experienced in a backpackers.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Yours Comments are extremely rewarding to our team, everyone in YMCA Hostel follow the Autonomy, Mastery and Purpose model where we create leader and not followers, our customer experience is based in companies such Google, Zappos and Apple. We will be very happy to have you back, Kind regards, Andre Vidoto More

Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I staid in YMCA for nearly a whole year. Location: My choice was due to the great locations, so closed to Kroad (clubs and bar), so closed to the free red bus, so closed to fresh fruit, veg, meat Asian market, banks, few minutes to Hobson st, 5 mins walking down to the main square... Was one of the best... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your detailed feedback. We Appreciate very much you recognise our Services and Location, it pays off the hard work that the team has put in. In regards the constructive feedback towards Office Staff, we will investigate further and improve in the best possible way. Due to constraints in funds we have been upgrading the facilities... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

stayed at Room 326 from may 10th to may 17th 2014. Very nice place, good facilities, free local phone call, free sim card, phones on every floor enjoyed my stay. Nice japanese lady at reception checked me in and checked me out and very helpful. All other staff also very nice. I later found out one website called easy to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed the service provided by our Reception team, especially Romi. Glad you like the facilities too and we are honoured to host a YMCA employee from Malaysia. The rates you were in have a 37% discount from the rack rates, our weekly rate is consistent throughout the year and... More

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed at the YMCA for one week. It was better than great. I work in Takapuna when I come to Auckalnd so the location was excellent and the gym is right next door. The place is always clean despite the amount of people traffic and I am fussy about cleanliness. I never had to wait for a washing machine... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy with your comments, glad you enjoyed our staff, rooms and facilities, we all work very hard to make YMCA Hostel the best Hostel in Auckland. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto More

Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

I spent a few months in the hostel as a long term resident and it worked well for me overall. What stood out the most was the great service, especially from Maria (the receptionist) who was very friendly and helpful the whole time I was there!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your few months of stay, our team is professional and ethic and I could not expect anything else from Maria. We are glad you overcome several obstacles in New Zealand and we wish a very best for your travel and work plans. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto More

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed there for two weeks and enjoyed my stay at the YMCA. The bathroom and showers was perfectly clean and quite new...okay, the shower was designed for small people, big people (2m) need to crouch to get the head wet, but not a real issue. The room is large enough, the furnishing quite old, but clean. You have your... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and I'm sorry for the inconvenience caused with the shower heights. Our rooms are all equipped with 90cm Mattresses which provides a more comfortable sleep, all the furniture has been recently changed. Thanks for praising our amazing staff, Pizza nights happen once a month, however we... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage YMCA Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to YMCA Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA Hostel

Address: Corner Pitt Street and Greys Avenue, Auckland, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YMCA Hostel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your YMCA Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca Hotel Auckland Central
YMCA Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Kitchenette
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
YMCA Hostel is part of an International Non-Profit Organisation, which strives for positive impact on community.We provide clean and comfortable rooms at affordable prices. Housekeepers perform Daily Vacuuming and Weekly Linen Service. Vacuum is hired from Reception for personal use.YMCA also offers Laundry Facilities with Soap, Very cheap Wireless Internet Plans, Public Lounge with Sky Satellite TV, Pool Table, Internet Kiosks, Dining Room with TV, Kitchenette with Cutlery and Kitchen essentials hired at Reception, Telephone Booth with Call Forwarding to take incoming calls and Public Parking from 6pm ~ 7am on Weekdays and All Day Weekends.We are not only great for backpackers and travellers but also ideal long-term accommodation for students and those working in the CBD. We even offer accommodation for groups.You’re just…- 2 minutes walk from Karangahape Road, Auckland’s multi cultural suburb and clubbing district.- 5 minutes walk from Queen Street, the CBD with fantastic shopping.- 10 minutes walk from Ponsonby, Auckland’s trendiest inner city suburb full of bars restaurants and cafes.- 15 minutes walk from Auckland University and AUT, some of New Zealand’s premier education and training institutions.- Next to New World Free Shuttle Stop and very close to Dressmart Free Shuttle Stop. You’ll also find yourself near the Waitemata harbour, beautiful Auckland beaches, parks and gardens and the bus station, railway station and ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
110

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer