We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Corner Pitt Street and Greys Avenue, Auckland, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added YMCA Hostel to your Saves list
YMCA Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
80%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Pakerson Caxias Do Sul, RS
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    30
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
42
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caxias Do Sul, RS
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

For those who are visiting Auckland, mainly backpackers, Ymca is a very good option. Located near the CBD you can reach the Sky Tower in minutes and be pleased by an awesome view from the warf. The hostel is clean and very calm. Awesome to rest after a day full of experiences!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at hostel one week. I've good experience with it, becouse Staff is polite and helpful, ever clean toilets and bathroom and good quality- price ratio. If I will stay another time in Auckland, I want come here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay, glad our team provided a good and friendly service, we will look forward to see you here again. Kind rergards, Andre Vidoto More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Good place with attentive staff, confortable rooms and clean common areas. Near to everything and with events to the guests as movie night and pool table competitions. Clean bathrooms and clean kitchen. They provide clean towels and sheats every week.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Happy you enjoyed our events and social activities, we provide, at least 2 events per week. Our service and staff are one the best in Auckland, hope to see you here again. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto More

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

shoot some pools a game of Ping pong is not bad free food Friday night Sunday movie I stayed 2nd Fl for 5 weeks. really clean and kitchen was clean Not so many channels for television so boring sometimes

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed our social activities and found common areas and rooms to be very clean, we provide 2 Televisions, 1 Television with only the free channels in our dining room and another TV with SKY, (over 100 channels), in our lounge room. Once again, thank you for your... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The cleanest toilets/bathroom ever, considering that this is a hostel; in a very good position; staff friendly and helpful; kitchen is a bit small but you don't need to spend a lifetime in there. I don't ike hostels usually, but I would come back there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your comments. We are very happpy you enjoyed your stay our services and the common facilities. Glad you would stay again. Once again thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, André Vidoto. More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I arrived at 10:20am & receptionist John was friendly, polite & quick in his service as he could see I was very tired. After an brief intercom call to the 5th floor janitorial service to check room cleanliness & availability, I was in Room 516 within 10 min & that included the elevator ride. BOOK ONLINE IT'S EASY! SINGLE ROOM... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the most detailed in complete Feedback we ever received. When I was reading your feedback, I was imagining how long you must have taken to write such a beautiful guide for future customers, it is very accurate. We from YMCA Hostel can only say thank you, thank you for your time and thank... More

Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed in room #219, a single room, with a clean format ... Unfortunately when I opened the door a sickly smell greeted me. The rooms one window was open to air the place, but it wasn't helping! I'm not exactly sure what the smell was? Possibly; sweat, stinky feet, body odour, something dying, or, an unsavory carpet cleaner? The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Happy you loved the value for money and our location. I apologise about the odor you had in your room, we had an internal miscommunication but the problem has been addressed and I'm very confident that it will not happen again. Glad you find our facilities to be modern and well maintained. Once... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I found a flyer on the bus from the airport advertising this hostel and after weighing my options i went for this one. I spent 2 nights here, in a single room on the second floor for $38 (USD) a night. The room was basic, but clean, it came with a bed, closet, desk and minifridge. The bathrooms and shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Glad you have chosen YMCA as your accommodation provider, it is very rewarding to see you find us to be Clean and Affordable supporting your basic needs. Unfortunately the outside noise is out of our control, however we do provide a Security Guard who is responsible to control the noise level after hours.... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights for a work visit. Usually we stay in serviced apartment such as the Quadrant or Quest but in order to keep costs down on this trip, I offered to try the YMCA Hostel. I wouldn't hestitate to stay again. I had a single room on the 5th floor. The room was basic but spotless and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are happy you enjoyed our service, cleanliness and facilities, just want to let you know that we do sell a Bath Kit, Shaving Kit and Tea Kit, all for a very reasonable price. Once again thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto More

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in many backpackers but am always anxious about staying in a new one. The lady at the front desk was welcoming and very friendly, offered me a discounted rate for a single room which I accepted. The room was wonderful, good size for a one bed room. Bathrooms and showers were the nicest I've experienced in a backpackers.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Yours Comments are extremely rewarding to our team, everyone in YMCA Hostel follow the Autonomy, Mastery and Purpose model where we create leader and not followers, our customer experience is based in companies such Google, Zappos and Apple. We will be very happy to have you back, Kind regards, Andre Vidoto More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage YMCA Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to YMCA Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA Hostel

Address: Corner Pitt Street and Greys Avenue, Auckland, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YMCA Hostel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Venere so you can book your YMCA Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca Hotel Auckland Central
YMCA Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Auckland with
any amenities