We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YMCA Hostel

Corner Pitt Street and Greys Avenue, Auckland, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YMCA Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
YMCA Hostel
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    45
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
7
65
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (105)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

( 1 ) My room was next to the laundry which was put to use shortly after 6 am, the noise of the washing machine woke me up. ( 2 ) Nearly fell over in mens shower room on un-mark step in tile floor also on another ocassion I nearly slip over on wet slippery floor upon entering an shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Clean, and great staff. Best hostel I have stayed at. Rec room was nice to kill down time, Along with the movie nights that are held Sundays. My room was upgraded to a single for no reason. There is a 40$ key deposit you will get back, but it is still steep. Wifi is available at a good price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you think we are the Best Hostel you have ever stayed at, what a compliment for us, wow!!! Kind regards, Andre Vidoto More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At first glance the building looks like a big old institution. But it was a pleasant place with windows that let in a lot of light. I stayed here on two separate occasions in a single room and a dorm. Very clean and comfortable beds and well maintained hostel with female only floor and separate showers. Rooms have a fridge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Happy you enjoyed your stay and everything went well on your trip, very detailed and helpful feedback, thank you again. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I only stayed one night in this hostel. My room, the showers and the kitchen were very clean and tidy.Very small kitchen though but a very big dining room area.I would recommend this hostel,especially those who want a quiet and relaxed hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015 via mobile

We are in a triple room, was quite convenient. The room, showers and facilities were very clean and tidy. I was impressed how clean it was. If you would like a low fare experience, this is just perfect. Was a bit noisy and quite warm, as the windows were not made to fully open. However, wasn't a problem. Stayed there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed the facilities, found it to be clean and comfortable. Our team work hard to maintain high levels of Customer Service, Cleanliness and to offer a varied range of services, hope to see you here again. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto More 

Taichung, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

There were three of us staying four nights and found there are only two small kitchens located on different floors and the dinning room is separated from these two kitchens, which is very inconvenient for Backpackers like us especially those who need to cook big meals. It is also a pity that there is no free WiFi , which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Happy you find our accommodation to be clean and easy, I'm sorry about the inconvenience caused in relations to the kitchen, we are investigating a way to make it easier for our guests, but unfortunately will take few more weeks until the project is completed. Our wireless rates started from NZ$3.00 for 500MB... More 

Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

I was pleased with my room. Very clean and comfortable and handy to the toilets and showers. A fan, perhaps a ceiling fan, would be nice to get some air movement. The price is quite reasonable, especially compared to other accommodation in Auckland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your comments. Fantastic that you were happy with the room and customer service, in every room we provide a heater, desk, chair, wardrobe, mirror, pin board, mini bar, bed and bed lamps, by keeping the rooms cost low, we can also provide a low rate, in fact, we are a low cost - low fare... More 

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Stayed here for 10 nights, in 2 types of room: double and triple, both have basic equipment. Rooms are clean, well-organized and comfortable. Receptionists are excellently helpful, informative, and definitely friendly. Kitchen and dining room have all basic utensil you need for daily meals. Couldn't ask for any better first impression of New Zealand. The downside was that if someone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you found us to be worth your money, it is a pleasure to be your first good impression of New Zealand, make us proud and even more inspired to provide a "wow"service. We will investigated the issue with the internet, as it is normally working fine. Once again thank you... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Great service. All the staff were lovely and friendly, and really went out of their way to help out. Everything was clean and comfortable, nothing fancy but really great as a cheap place to stay that was close to town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Booked this in advance with 1 week to go and not much availability elsewhere. Turned out to be a great choice. Private room with shared bathrooms. Room is basic but clean. Bed is comfy and clean, fridge is useful. Shower room is really clean and do are the toilets. Location is excellent to walk 10-15 mins to Sky City for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are extremely happy we surprised you in a positive way, fantastic that you enjoyed your stay. glad everything was clean and our awesome staff were very friendly. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question