We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 76 Auckland hotels

Auckland Rose Park Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92-102 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Parnell)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Auckland Rose Park Hotel to your Saves list
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
48%
Ranked #41 of 76 hotels in Auckland
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014
muddles69 Whangarei, New Zealand
  • Reviews (158)
  • Photos (42)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (36)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    52
    53
    20
    21
See reviews for
43
55
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chch
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place has double standards, day time staff excellent, night time duty manager is unable to provied service unless you pay the extra money, you would wonder if Auckland rose park hotel is a hotel, or a motel? Very disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ramon J, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Angela, Thank you for your honest feedback. The next time you are staying with us I would be more than happy to discuss the points you have raised and ensure there is no repetition. Kind regards, Ramon James - Rooms Division Manager More

Whangarei, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed there with my daughters - two nights with breakfast. Rooms were clean and tidy. Breakfast was pretty good - nice location close to the Museum, Vector, Kelly Tarltons. Would definitely stay again for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ramon J, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon muddles69, Thank you for your honest feedback. Our location is certainly a key asset to our success. The attractions you mentioned are very popular with our guests and team. See you again soon, Kind regards, Ramon James - Rooms Division Manager More

Victoria, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Not a bad hotel for a quick sleep but I wouldn't make it a destination. Rooms are adequate but dated decor. No A/C so you have to keep the windows open which are quite large and probably a security issue being on the ground floor. Average motel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ramon J, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Mike T, Thank you for your feedback. The windows on our ground floor are required to be shut as it is a security issue as you mentioned. Due to the closeness of the footpath and road area the best option was to eliminate as many opportunities for theft as we could. Thanks again for your feedback. Kind regards,... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Service by staff is very welcoming & professional. Rooms were clean & tidy Beds are shocking, mattress very flimsy & super small. The worst part about this hotel and probably the most important is privacy, this hotel doesn't rank in this area to me. you can here the entire conversation of the guests in the next room, we had guests... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ramon J, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Jit70499, Thank you for your honest feedback. Our service is certainly a key asset and something we are very proud of. Our beds are relatively new and with everyone having differing views of comfort levels this is often an area of contention. I am disappointed to read your comments in regards to our privacy levels and this will... More

Auckland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We had occasion to stay at the Auckland Rose Park Hotel for 1 night recently and it is definitely on our recommended Hotel list for Auckland. The accommodations are reasonably spacious for the moderate tariff, and, for us, it was wonderful to look out onto the beautiful Parnell Rose Gardens. The restaurant is good and the mini bars in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ramon J, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Richard L, Thank you for your recent feedback. Our rooms and spacious and the view is spectacular on a nice clear morning. Thanks again for your honest feedback and we will see you again soon. Kind regards, Ramon James - Rooms Division Manager More

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The restaurant and bar service was excellent, the food plentiful, well presented and very nice, the reception staff were great but the room was disappointing. Upon entering the first thing that one noticed was the tears in the net curtains and we were surprised that a " double - double" was in fact exactly right - two double beds and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ramon J, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Kasper454, Thank you for your honest feedback, We certainly pride ourselves on our service, location, food and cleanliness. Let me assure you that the comments you have raised in regards to the ventilation, comfort of the beds and heating instructions have been dealt with with the appropriate departmental managers to avoid repetition. Please contact me on ramon.james@aucklandroseparkhotel.co.nz should... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

I needed a place to stay while my husband was in Auckland hospital awaiting a lung transplant. The photos on the website in no way reflect the terrible state of the rooms. I felt as though I was in a jail cell. When I talked to the owners about my husband they accused me of lying! As I didn't feel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ramon J, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon bmcduncan, Thank you for your feedback. I am certainly very disappointed reading your feedback and have asked our team members for a full explanation as this does not portray our company values our how we wish to be percieved. I would like to have the opportunity to rectify this matter with you, would you please contact myself on... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This hotel is in a good location. Thats where the positive stuff ends. The 'recently refurbished room' on the website is false advertising. There is nothing recent. Even the dirt had been there a long time. Filthy black grime in the corners, greasy windows and dusty beds. Bring your own cups, teaspoons and tea bags. There's nothing extra for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ramon J, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon smoke105, Thank you for your honest feedback. Our location is certainly an advantage in which we are very lucky. We are working hard on the cleaning standards in all our rooms and have this week professionally washed each and every window the hotel. I would like to be able to change your perception of us, if you are... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Auckland Rose Park Hotel while I was in the area on business. The hotel is definitely in the budget category (although for 2 South Africans, it was over-priced by comparison to what you would find in South Africa). The Parnell Rose Gardens are across the road, and make a pleasant walk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ramon J, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thirtygirl, Thank you for your recent feedback. Our location, service and cleaning are certainly areas that we are proud of and further enhance what we are trying to achieve as a hotel. Our bathrooms are currently being inspected for deep cleaning. Our breakfast, room and WIFI prices are comparative amongst our competitors and this is currently under review.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Auckland Rose Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Auckland Rose Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Rose Park Hotel

Address: 92-102 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Parnell)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auckland Rose Park Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Auckland Rose Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rose Park Hotel New Zealand

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (14)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Colonial-style Hotel situated opposite Rose Gardens, 5 minutes from Parnell Village. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
107

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer