We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 71 Auckland accommodations

Nomads Fat Camel Hostel

4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   38 Fort St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Nomads Fat Camel Hostel to your Saves list
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
  • Overview
  • Reviews (124)
  • Photos (15)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    20
    31
    46
See reviews for
2
39
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Spent one night at "the camel". Really really nice. Very friendly staff, clean, quiet, and cheap. Awesome bar with lots of fun activities and a free feed. Really easy to get to and from airport. Will definitely be staying there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here for a week.. The first time I'd ever been away from home and travelling on my own. When I arrived reception were very friendly however they just gave me my key and told me where to go.. I was not shown around so had no idea where the laundry facilities were for example. Once in my room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks. Reception is super friendly and nice. There is also yummy snack meal every night. Location is good. What I didn't like about the place is the paper thin walls. You can hear the music downstairs every night and especially during the weekends. You can also hear people chatting outside at the common area. Basically you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Jo, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback and we are stoked you enjoyed your time at the Fat Camel and the complimentary snack meal in the evenings. As our budget hostel and being located in the heart of the lively, trendy Britomart area it can sometimes be a little bit noisy in the weekends with everyone... More

Birmingham
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Staff on check in were helpful and nice. The location here is great as literally all the bars are around you. The living conditions are not so great. We stayed in a double room since we were a couple. We had a shared bathroom / kitchen. To be honest there were clothes all over the place and the kitchen although... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review

Hi JayJay, Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay. Unfortunately we are unable to do anything regarding extra soundproofing as we do not own the building. The owners have plans to renovate the entire building which keep getting postponed so we have actually just started refreshing one apartment at a time. We have completed two so... More

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stayed here a couple of nights with some friends. The girl at reception was very nice and helpful and we had a free snack on the first evening of our stay. The location is great, basically in the city center, only a few minutes away from Queen St. The cleanliness and the general state of the apartment we stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Marta, Thanks for taking the time to place feedback and we are stoked you enjoyed the location, free snack meal and friendly staff. I can assure you the hostel is cleaned thoroughly once per day with 2 more shifts that cover the kitchens and bathrooms of the apartments. The building is quite old and we are waiting on a... More

auckland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Just came up for the rugby stayed 1 night. Awesome friendly staff and altho they were clearly busy check in was pretty quick. Good central location close to pubs and restaurants and train to eden park. Room was simple but clean and comfy. All good. Will stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review

Hi AJ, Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay at the Fat Camel and we are stoked you enjoyed your time with us! I am sure it was made even better by the All Blacks winning! See you next time! More

berkel enschot
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I have had a great time in this hostel over the last 5 weeks but I leave this central located place with some mixed feelings. People make the place, same for this hostel, were-ether your fellow travelers or the staff, both groups were amazing. The staff in this place makes a huge difference in feeling at home, Elise, Mitch, Gus,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Dirk, Thanks for leaving feedback on your stay at the Fat Camel and we are stoked you enjoyed your time with us and the staff you mentioned who are awesome! You are right in saying that it is the people and the good times that make a place and more of today's travellers should live by this motto! Happy... More

Pahiatua, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed here as we arrived late in Auckland. A big waste of money , as we got no sleep, the bar downstairs was noisy and kept us awake. Someone vomited in the corridor outside our room in the night and it wasn't cleaned up until after 10am. Fort street is not the place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review

Hi JJJ Holidays, Thanks you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay and we are devastated it did not live up to your expectations and by someone being sick outside your room. I can assure you the staff would have been more horrified by this than you were and it is definitely not a normal occurrence. Did... More

Leads UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed here only for two nights in Novemeber, in the girls only dorm because other beds were full. I did choose the windowless dorm so it was a given that the room would be a little stuffy. The hostel is set out like apartments, with 4 or 5 dorms sharing a kitchen and common room. All the girls were friendly,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Mickmickem, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us and we are disapointed it did not live up to all your expectations. I remember the time and apartment you refer to and agree some of the female guests that we staying at that time did like to spread out a little too much... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

The staff at this hostel were impeccable. Very helpful, friendly and easy to chat to. This place is definitely reflects the money you spend on it.... The beds were clean but uncomfortable. Loud club music playing until 4am. On a Sunday. Dirty rooms. This branch of hostel also has another hostel up the road, a bit more expensive. The hostel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Shannon B, Thanks for taking the time to place feedback on your stay at The Fat Camel and for your comments on our awesome staff! When mentioning our other, more modern property located just down the street we are merely stating the obvious that the Fat camel is our budget property and Nomads Auckland is our more modern property... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Nomads Fat Camel Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Fat Camel Hostel

Address: 38 Fort St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nomads Fat Camel Hostel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Nomads Fat Camel Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Fat Camel Hotel Auckland Central
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Nomads Fat Camel Hostel is perfectly located in the heart of Auckland, near to the Skytower and Viaduct Harbour. We have apartment style accommodation, with shared dorm rooms and private rooms, even a female only apartment. Security Swipe Card access 24 hours and 24 hour reception and internet access. Free Meal every night you stay, free activities in the bar. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
17

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer