We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 70 Auckland Central accommodations

Nomads Fat Camel Hostel

4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   38 Fort St, Auckland Central 1010, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Nomads Fat Camel Hostel to your Saves list
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    16
    27
    44
See reviews for
2
38
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed in fat camel for a number of months, i enjoyed my time there. It is in an ideal location to get around da city and very close to the transport centre. I got to know lots of really nice people. The staff were friendly and helpful and always around if you needed anyting. I Had plenty of fun... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hostel is on top of a club. This is a good thing or a bad thing depending on what you're after from your stay in Auckland. Staff are nice, location is great, but you're ripped off for things like wifi and towels. You get what you pay for - don't expect luxury!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Poor, quite expensive ( for its standard) hostel centrally located Pros: - location - free meal in the evening ( small portion could be upgraded to large with drink ) served in the bar downstairs Cons: - pure security in the rooms ( no storage place, no lockers) - Small, messy rooms ( also due to the fact that there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Auckland Central hotels

Roturua
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Rubbish wifi that's very expensive for a hostel designed for backpackers who are on a budget and impossible to sleep on a Friday or Saturday night until about 4am as it feels as if you're sitting right inside the club, that's how loud it is! Wouldn't stay again. However it's close by to most things and the rooms were clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

First of all I would like to point out that the cleaning needs to be improved, or maybe I was staying during 3 days period when the housekeeping did not really give a damn. Reception girl seemed to be more interested in what's happening in the small back office behind reception. But I guess she did the necessary minimum to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Son of Bohemia, Thanks for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us and we are stoked you found it acceptable for the night you stayed. The hostel has been 100% full over the last few months which can lead to things looking messier but I can assure you this is more dependant on the guests... More

Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I was recently staying at this hostel when my wallet was stolen with all of my identification. I was literally a nomad at this point. The staff was extremely nice and let me stay the first night rent free because they actually felt bad for me and understood my situation. The next day the manager showed me the video footage... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Nomadic Dan, Thanks for taking the time to place feedback and we are stoked you enjoyed your stay! It still bugs me that we couldn't track down your wallet but am glad you enjoyed your last couple of days in NZ with us! Enjoy the summer in Canada! More

Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The Hostel itself is nice and it is very central. But it is located on the party mile and if you don´t party till late in the night, you won´t be able to sleep. If you are there for making party, it´s perfect...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review

HI Linda, Thanks for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us and we are stoked you enjoyed the hostel and location. The Fat Camel is our budget hostel and can sometimes be a very social place. We also have our newer, more modern hostel Nomads Auckland located just down the road if you want to take... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Booked in here out of desperation, bad,bad, bad! Noisy, smelly, dirty, grim. Bites apparent from the beds. Next to a charming massage parlour which appeared to offer to potential of additional services. Street nightlife includes rough sleepers and the noise continues through to 6.00 am when the refuse collection arrives for the businesses nearby. Avoid at all cost. You have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Timmy and Alex, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay at Nomads Fat Camel and we are devastated it did not live up to your expectations. The hostel is located in the middle of the Fort St and Britomart area so can be a little bit noisy some nights of the week. The Fat... More

Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hostel for 3 nights and I have to say it was awful. First it smelled terrible the entire time and according to our room mates it was the better smelling floor. The kitchen was disgusting and the pots :O haha sick. Pretty sure there was bed bugs cause my friend was itchy the entire time. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Jessica, Thanks for taking the time to place feedback on your stay at the Fat Camel and we are disappointed it did not live up to your expectations. You are correct in advising people that if they want a newer, more modern property to stay at our property just down the street and this is precisely why we have... More

Cannonvale, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

My 3 friends and I booked a 4 bed dorm here. It was the tiniest room ever and should have been for 2 people only. There's absolutely NOTHING in the room except the bed and a locker. It's dingy. I've travelled all of Asia and oz and this is without doubt the worst hostel. I asked the lady at reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay and we are sorry it didn't live up to your expectations. I am guessing you were travelling with the reviewer above. I am sorry if you weren't given helpful advice about parking from our reception team member and I can only guess it was a new... More

Been to Nomads Fat Camel Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Fat Camel Hostel

Also Known As:
Nomads Fat Camel Hotel Auckland Central
Nomads Fat Camel Hotel
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel Auckland, New Zealand
Address: 38 Fort St, Auckland Central 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 70 Specialty lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nomads Fat Camel Hostel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nomads Fat Camel Hostel is perfectly located in the heart of Auckland, near to the Skytower and Viaduct Harbour. We have apartment style accommodation, with shared dorm rooms and private rooms, even a female only apartment. Security Swipe Card access 24 hours and 24 hour reception and internet access. Free Meal every night you stay, free activities in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Nomads Fat Camel Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.