We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ponsonby Backpackers

2 Franklin Road | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ponsonby Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ponsonby Backpackers
Ponsonby Backpackers
Ponsonby Backpackers
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    53
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
45
64
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (165)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The rooms are functional and the hostel is well placed at the top of Franklin Rd and the buzzy Ponsonby Road. The shared bathrooms can get busy. The staff are lovely and helpful. Thoroughly recommended for backpackers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed in several hostels in the USA, and this was my first experience at a New Zealand hostel. I traveled with my boyfriend, and this was his first stay at a backpackers place. We were both really disappointed with our stay here. We arrived at around 5am following a 28 hour flight, so naturally we were exhausted. We hung... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for making time to leave a review. Im really sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay and id like to respond to your comments. Firstly we did not put you in the wrong room type, you had booked a twin room through the booking agent, a twin is either 2 single beds or a bunk bed. If you... More 

Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ponsonby is a small friendly backpackers that's more like a big house. It's clean and tidy with carpet that makes you feel at home. For me coming from the UK and travelling a while I always appreciate a good thick carpet! Kitchen is the most organised and clean I've ever seen, and being that the hostel is very small there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for making time to leave us a review. Its great you enjoyed your stay with us, Thanks for pointing out the mattress, this was replaced immediately after you left, so next visit you will be sleeping like a baby :) As for the arrogant staff member, he has been with us for a number of years and he is... More 

Montreal
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Having been to many hostels, here are the pros and cons of this one: Pros: nice backyard, cozy tv room, friendly service, good location, not a party hostel. Cons: not as clean as it needs to be. Toilet upstairs smelled of urine each time I walked in. Bathroom floor not clean (I stayed a few days and noticed). Really tight... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Brenda, Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our back yard, cozy living room, friendly staff, location and chilled out vibe. However, we are disappointed to hear that there were some things that you were not too happy with. We pride our hostel on it's cleanliness and our cleaning... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I loved PB. The atmosphere was friendly and welcoming - it's - Smaller backpackers than others so easy to meet people. In comparison to another BP I stayed in, this felt totally comfortable. The room I had was a private double, warm, comfortable and quiet. The kitchen is small but is well equipped and easy to use. The chill out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Bryony, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our welcoming and friendly atmosphere and had a comfortable stay! It's also great to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Our bathrooms are rather petit, though we keep them spotlessly clean and as you say there's always... More 

Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Pros: The dorms are very clean and the staff are pleasant and helpful. It is good value for money and is right next to the bus stop for going to the city. Cons: I found the toilet to be a little bit smelly and the shower rooms could have been bigger. Our dorm was right across from the kitchen and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi George, Thanks for your review. It's great to hear that you found our rooms to be very clean and our staff to be friendly and helpful as well as the hostel being good value for money. We are sorry to hear that there were some negative points to your stay. Our bathrooms are cleaned every single day to enjoy... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

I stayed here on my first night travelling to New Zealand alone and it was perfect. The staff and everyone I met staying here were friendly, the place was clean, homely and not too big so it was easy to meet people, not too far to walk to the city centre and plenty of bars, restaurants, cafe's and a supermarket... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Chris, Thanks for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and found the hostel to be clean, homely and small. We are lucky to be located in a great suburb- Ponsonby is great for bars and eateries :-) We... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We only stayed at PB for one night, so I can't say too much about the state of the kitchen, the bathrooms or the dorms because I didn't spend a lot of time there. Whenever we happened to pass through the kitchen, it was clean. It's not the biggest kitchen, so it might get uncomfortable when several people are trying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us. Our kitchen is cleaned regularly through the day to ensure it's kept in tip top condition and is a reasonable size for the number of guests we have. We are glad you liked the... More 

Bielefeld, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Ponsonby is a nice hostel in the heart of ponsonby in Auckland. The dorms are simple and clean. The kitchenis for everyone's use and it has got everything you need. The supermarket is just around the corner and it is only a 15-20 minute walk downtown. The staff is very nice and helpful with every inquiry yo0u have. I can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be friendly and our rooms clean. We are lucky to be in a really awesome part of Auckland- Ponsonby :-) Hope to see you next time you are in Auckland! Thanks-The PB Team More 

Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Where to even start.. I've been at PB for about 7 weeks now (can't be bothered to look for a flat and have no desire to leve this place either) and I have nothing but the best to say about it. It literally felt like home within the first few days of being here. The staff are amazing, they're not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for making time to leave us a review, We enjoyed having you stay with us and have a epic trip around NZ. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ponsonby Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponsonby Backpackers

Address: 2 Franklin Road | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Ponsonby Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponsonby Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Ponsonby Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
1:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay