We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 77 Auckland hotels

Kiwi International Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Pay 2 Xmas Deal
Kiwi International Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kiwi International Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #27 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
deadmanstrain London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    143
    95
    19
    12
See reviews for
38
91
95
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (313)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (91)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (95)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Spend four nights here and it did the job. The staff were okay, chap with the moustache was really helpful and the room was clean and not too small (twin with private bathroom). Prone to being a bit noisy but the staff handle it well, however the structures like plumping etc make noises and hearing other people using the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innisfail, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 7 nights clean and tidy room with ensuite, friendly helpful staff. Is at the top end of Queens st. so only about a 10 minute walk to the harbour, bus and train stations, night clubs and and good food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for our great review. Thanks for your nice comments re staff - they appreciate that - and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything was just OK. Location is not as good as expected, for backpackers I would suggest to get better location. You can hear every single outside the room, even from the street. Room was clean, shower as well. But very basic and small.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. At our end of the hotel market people have varying expectations. It suits some and not others but our occupancy and re-booking levels are very high so the market seems to have worked it out in our favour. More 

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here in Nov 14 with my wife for one night. The weather was unseasonably cold, so make note of that, or if you are here in fall or winter. I wouldn't recommend the hotel if you are willing to spend an extra buck or two or search around on AirBnb. Location - Hotel is located within walking distance to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Yes we're at the budget end of the hotel market and we would agree that if you want the frills then pay more and stay elsewhere but if value for money in a top location is important then you'll likely choose us. More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location, at the top of Queen St, means you can easily walk around the CBD. Our room was a double ensuite on the first floor. It was clean and basic. A bit dark and no bedside lamps (which is a big thing for a voracious reader like myself!). As it's a cheaper hotel there were a few noisy groups... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We're pleased it suited your purposes well. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a simple hostel-style hotel that's centrally located; I would give it 2 stars for quality but 3-4 stars for value. Guests are noisy in the hallways and the rooms are tiny and old, but it's perfectly fine if you're on a budget. The Internet was fast and reliable and cheap. It works for my MacBook in the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive review. We agree with your assessment - we are at the budget end of the full service hotel market and most guests see it as really good value esp for central city. Wi-Fi is free for 200Mb per per person and is broadcast throughout the hotel. I-phones don't appear to have as good reception as most... More 

Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked an economy room with shared bathroom for 3 nights, and that was way too long to be in this hotel! Initially the price seemed very reasonable, but now looking back it still wasn't worth it for what we got in return. The room is a decent size but there are lots of stains on the floor and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

We're sorry this reviewer didn't have a good experience and have followed up with housekeeping who clean the economy wing bathrooms twice daily. There is 1 shower per 3 rooms so they should be a good standard of cleanliness. We also intend to replace the carpet in the 3 economy twin rooms as it is too light for hotel use... More 

Coffs Harbour
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

single room with bathroom , small but well maintained with table/chair, wardrobe, clean, towel changed daily, tea/coffee refreshed, windows open, free wifi, food is good in downstairs bar/cafe (which cooks a good kiwi burger). 5 mins walk to aotea square & cinemas, many cafes, bars, food outlets just out the door, bus to Auckland airport just across the road &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review. Always good to have a positive endorsement from a 'senior reviewer'. We look forward to hosting you again on a future Auckland visit. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff were friendly and the room fine. Overall experience was satisfactory. However if you're a stick-in-the-mud about room size (I stayed in a single room) I'd go for something else. I can't speak for the location as I didn't get a chance to roam Auckland city but it seemed very central.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive review. We're pleased it suited you well. We agree our single rooms are small but not many hotels cater to single travellers and I think we do this well at a good price. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had booked this hotel for a work conference as it was a reasonable price and the photos looked quite decent. Upon arrival could not believe the poor state of the building and were even more shocked when we entered our room which was, as stated by a previous reviewer, a HOSTEL room. Aside from being extremely small and dingy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

A malicious review by guests trying to extort a refund several weeks after the stay. Readers will note that this is the only review ever posted by this reviewer. We have a “no questions asked” refund policy if guests are not happy with their room, provided we are notified within 15 minutes of arrival (same policy as the 5 star... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Auckland

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay