We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 76 Auckland hotels

Kiwi International Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Groups Only Megadeal !
Save Saved
You added Kiwi International Hotel to your Saves list
Kiwi International Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
63%
Ranked #25 of 76 hotels in Auckland
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Sue C Wellington, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (270)
  • Photos (92)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (46)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    126
    80
    17
    8
See reviews for
34
80
80
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed 4 nights at Kiwi International Hotel at Auckland. 1 Economy Room, Shared Bathroom (Free Highspeed Internet, Free Parking). We were so worried that we might need fight for parking spaces at the hotel. Actually during our stay in this school holiday in July, we never struggled to find a parking lot. It is very close to auckland art... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review. It seems everything worked well for you. We look forward to hosting you again on your next Auckland visit. More

Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Not the best place I've stayed and found it particularly small with a toddler and our baggage. The bed seemed comfortable enough but the shower was horrible. I couldn't find a water temperature that was bearable. It was either literally boiling water or too cold. The lower I tried to adjust the temperature the weaker the pressure became. The hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for you review. We'll check out the shower in that room as generally our pressures and adjustments are fine with no complaints. Guests should always seek assistance with reception if they have a problem. We're always ready to help but we' re not mind readers. More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I Stayed here in may for 5 days. I was in a basic single with shared facilities. You get for what you pay for here. its basic but great for the budget traveller. I arrived late on a friday night and they still had room for my car. Free parking is a bonus in auckland city centre. Didnt have any... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We're pleased the room suited you especially for a 5 day stay. This guest stayed in one of our Economy Rooms. Most however are standard ensuites. More

Hamilton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good for the price. Clean, tidy and excellent location. This is not a high end hotel and this is why you don't pay a high end price. We booked last minute over the phone. Staff were friendly and helpful. The first room we were provided with had the wrong bedding configuration for what we had booked however this was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Auckland. More

London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The first thing to be careful about is that parking here is very limited! We were told that we would have free parking here but when we arrived we were greeted by the sign 'Car park full', which sent us into a panic! I went up to the front desk and he said we should park in a local car... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Not entirely accurate. Rooms are provided with soap, shampoo, tea & coffee and wifi internet - all free of course. Parking is also free, as is baggage storage and credit card payment (most hotels charge extra for this now). Even SIM cards for NZ mobiles are free. So - all round great value and location. More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I must say that althought hotel wasn't really to good standard but certainly staff were well trained, friendly & helpful. Hotel can be enjoyed by everyone. Food was great. Resealably clean room. Srounded by various resturents, bar, takeaways.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your generally positive review. We are probably the best standard hotel in our market segment backed by the consistent TripAdvisor No. 1 placing in the "Best Value" category for Central Auckland Hotels. More

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night at the Kiwi International. It was 7degC overnight in Auckland, and the heater was broken. When asking for a heater in the middle of the night, the front desk said there was little they could do. Then after insisting they came with a tiny electric heater and started to argue that the curtains should be closed better... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

"A night from hell" Yes - it certainly was for our staff member who was fearful for his safety having been confronted by this ultra aggressive guest that screamed and shouted at other guest also. This individual has been trespassed from our property and is fortunate not to have spent the remainder of his night in a police cell. More

Ballarat, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean, tidy, and at a walking distance of some attractions, such as sky tower and waterfront, as well as to central bus transfer station. Good value for taxi to airport. Close to good cafes and restaurants. Very good price. Arrive early if you go by car. We didn't, so we had to use a close by paid parking. It wasn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, that you found it good value and the location suited. Parking is always a challenge especially right in the city. We can usually accommodate most when there is an even spread of international and domestic guests. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was only staying here for a night and needed a cheap room in a good location. Served its purpose, nice friendly staff and adequate facilities. I would advise guests to arrive early as it would be very inconvenient if you got here and the car park was full - you would have to park and pay down the road.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the +ve review. We're pleased you found it good value. This reviewer stayed in one of our Economy rooms which are quite basic but as he commented are the best value hotel room in Auckland. Most of our rooms are standard Ensuites with a good range of services in them and not much more. As a matter of... More

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed for just one night. We were given a En suite Family Unit (sleeps 4) even though there was just two of us. The room is clean, comfortable & has a little modern touch to it. There is an open bar and restaurant available to guests. However, the wait staff is a little rude (no manners) but its no biggie... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review - pleased that you found it good value and that it suited you. We don't understand your room tip as we have 2 elevators?? More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Kiwi International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Budget Places, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Major renovation 2010. Quiet yet centrally located and of a size to provide the facilities that modern travellers expect while retaining a sense of comfort & friendliness. We offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city - with free parking. Ideal for travellers and groups seeking quality, value and location. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance - Viaduct Basin, the central business district, theatres and the flamboyant nightclub area of 'K' Road. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
122

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer