We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 77 Auckland hotels

Kiwi International Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Kiwi International Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kiwi International Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #28 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
ThePackedBag Sydney, Australia
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    149
    103
    20
    12
See reviews for
41
95
100
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (329)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (91)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (111)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
823 reviews 823 reviews
236 hotel reviews
333 helpful votes 333 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I chose this hotel because it was on the airport bus route and the funds were running low. It's more hostel than hotel, but for only one night it was fine. The room was tiny but the ensuite bathroom was nicer and larger than expected! The only electrical socket was in the opposite corner to the tiny desk and kettle,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and it's good to hear it generally suited your purposes. We now provide unlimited wi-fi. Sorry the bed didn't suit you - a real personal thing. Some love 'em some don't. We've bought these very same beds for friends and my son uses one - we'll never please everyone. More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I suppose the name is misleading but decent for the price. Close to everything in town that you can walk to go out for dinner and do some sight seeing. Rooms were clean but the hotel itself is noisy due to so many young people staying there -no offence to them. Not sure that we would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We're pleased you found it good value. If there is a concert on in Auckland we do get a lot of young people staying for that night and can at times be a bit inconsiderate but generally our guests cover a wide spread of ages and nationalities - like minded travellers that want a good location... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here twice whilst passing through Auckland. Reason for picking this place is that it was cheaper than most hostels and in good location. For what it is, it is still pretty overpriced. Beds are comfy, shared bathrooms are clean. All pretty basic. Man on desk let us into room at 5am for $10 extra of I remember rightly. Food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. This reviewer stayed in one of our economy rooms (as compared with our standard ensuites) which are basic but still have in the room a writing desk & chair, a mirror & vanity basin, tea & coffee making facilities, free in room wi-fi and free parking although spaces are limited. Undoubtedly the best value private hotel... More 

Clive, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights in a single room with shared bathroom. Staff was friendly and helpful, gave free wifi codes. The room itself was nothing amazing but it had all that was needed. Bed was pretty average and pillows very hard and uncomfortable. The walls were quite thin and the doors were EXTREMELY loud, they have to be slammed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your generally good review. Beds & pillows - a personal thing. Some love ours, others hate 'em with most guests somewhere in between. We'll check out the other aspects as any noise can be annoying. More 

Masterton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
11 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here just before Christmas for a concert. Positives: very clean (I am OCD clean and even I thought was great), good location (close to town centre and bus stops right outside door) and was a pretty good price. Negatives: room was average, literally a bed and a chair, very noisy all night from other rooms and outside, no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We agree the lift is an older one and slow but it's safe and only needs to service the 2 floors above ground level. I find it quicker and healthier to use the stairs! More 

Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in a single room with ensuite at Kiwi International for just a night when I was in Auckland. The room had all the basics. Got what I needed. The hotel itself isn't really new but the rooms and beds were clean. My room had tea/coffee supplies and an elecrtical kettle. (No fridge though which was fine). The bathroom was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive and comprehensive review. We're sure other intending travellers will find it most useful. More 

Jyvaskyla, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night in December. It was nice surprise, when arriving after 24h of flights, to find out that our room was ready before designated time. The location proved to be a good one, with Auckland Downtown within walking distance (about 20mins). The beds were comfortable but the noise from the hallway kept us awake for some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and pleased that overall it was an enjoyable experience for you. Re our free wi-fi - we have now removed limits to use although access codes are still required from reception. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Decent location. Parking availability was terrible as I had to park in the hotel driveway on one of the nights. The room was clean in general but it had a dirty feel as compared to any place I have stayed before, worldwide. Wifi was a joke - the ticket and password system was terrible as there was not enough bandwidth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

So in summary... decent location; free off street parking (but not the spot you wanted); clean room; some issues with the free wi-fi and accom refunded where requested. Note that when booking through 3rd party websites refunds need to be done through the same website so will always involve some trouble - these hassles are avoided when guests book directly. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are on a tight budget, but want somewhere to stay in central Auckland that is basic and economical, then this is a realistic option. Not flashy or modern, just the basics in your room. An older style complex with a nifty old lift. On this trip on my own I took a sinlge economy room, so that is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We agree that noisy doors in the economy wing can be unsettling. We'll look into this and try to fit slow closers on the smoke stop doors. We look forward to hosting you again sometime. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perfectly located in Central Auckland right beside the airport bus stop. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was extremely clean. This is a budget type hotel so don't expect *****. In saying that it is very good value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and pleased to hear it was... “Perfect for my needs” Thanks for mentioning the staff - they always appreciate that. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay