We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kiwi International Hotel

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Kiwi International Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Auckland
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
katiesmitt
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    174
    119
    22
    16
See reviews for
48
112
113
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (380)
  • Mar-May only
    (109)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (90)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (128)
All months
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here a week ago with my sister.. so two ladies travelling together.Hmm what can i say about this hotel.. firstly it is very hard to find with only a sign on the footpath. We drove past it several times before we saw the sign.The actual hotel is set back down a lane way and has very limited free parking.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've stayed at this hotel 3 times, most recently came up for a concert. There are some fantastic aspects of this hotel, and some that could use some work. Firstly the location is really handy and convenient, just a minutes walk from the cbd. Secondly, the staff are really friendly. The young lady who checked me in was bubbly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New Orleans, LA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I arrived early a.m. at the Kiwi International, but, unfortunately, my room wasn't ready. I got coffee, internet access and directions to some of the local areas for me to visit while I waited for my room to be ready. The room was an excellent price. $50 for a room with single bed, private shower, and mini frig was good.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berwick St John
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
93 hotel reviews
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Yet again I am cursing the fact that TA don't have a rating between Average and Very Good. This hotel is definitely better than average based on its location, price and friendly service. My friend booked us a twin room and when we arrived she asked for a nice view and 'not overlooking the car park'. The very helpful receptionist... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comprehensive review which we're sure other travellers will find helpful. We think it's a fair assessment. Yes - checkout is generally earlier in New Zealand but if guests talk nicely to reception staff they'll usually extend for another hour. More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well as they say you get what you pay for , to be fair it was ok' accommodation but needs a little smarten up in places but as you don't' pay much well'' what can you expect but this person wont' be returning

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are at the budget end of the hotel market and it works well for most but we accept that if you want something a little fancier then better to pay more. Now that winter is on us we will be going through the hotel to smarten up where required. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quick Review: Good location, Cheap, Good Staff, Room Dated and Tatty, Full Review: As a completely honest review this hotel was fine, I would have no issue recommending it. Staff where friendly and provided everything I asked for. The room was a tad dated and tatty with an old bathroom, but for the price it was fine and well cleaned.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and general recommendation. We pleased it suited you and accept that it's not perfect but hopefully represent value for money. Now that it's winter and a little quieter we're going through the property and tidying up wherever we can. More 

Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We looked at this Hotel online and liked what we saw but really what a disappointment! We paid in cash and had to pay a bond which was subject to the room being left in the condition it was given to us, we didn't see any of the rooms they have online, our room had NO kitchen sink so we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

We offer a variety of rooms and our website is clear as to what the different room categories have. There are only a few are of the apartment style with cooking facilities. It's a hotel. It sounds like you needed a motel. That is a different style of accommodation generally found in the suburbs that incorporate a kirchenette. We can't... More 

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
528 reviews 528 reviews
147 hotel reviews
379 helpful votes 379 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

You get what u pay for.So don't expect much from this hotel. The rooms are like prison cells in Alcatraz but the good thing is that it is just infront of the airport city shuttle bus and very accessible to other parts of the city. Baths and toilets are shared and there is no aircon in rooms so dont even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

"You get what u pay for" - we agree with the reviewer. This reviewer stayed in one of our Economy rooms where bathroom facilities are shared and yes - they are small (although I've never been to Alcatraz so can't compare), as is the tariff. For travelers on a budget they are brilliant and very popular. Most of our rooms... More 

Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

How to do the polity of the hotel through the cleaning woman....I never met in my travels such a bad service in cleaning the room. I was there for 2 nights and no one came to clean the room. More than this, the cleaning woman asked me if I needed to come, as if it had to do. I think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

This review is contradictory and in general doesn't make sense. "no one came to clean my room" - then the next sentence is about his conversation with the cleaner?? Every room is serviced every day. There are always maps at reception. Not only do we have tour brochures we have a manned travel & tour desk by a very experienced... More 

Northland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I gave this hotel a 5 start rating simply because they say they are 3 star and what you get is exactly that...but more! We stayed 2 nights in April and were very pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of the room , location of the hotel and ...FREE CAR PARKING at a hotel in Auckland city! Indeed there are only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. It's a fair assessment which will be helpful to other travelers. We're really only at the 2½ star level but I don't think TripAdvisor ratings do halves so they list us at 3. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities