We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 77 Auckland Central hotels

Kiwi International Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Queen Street, Auckland Central 1010, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Groups Only Megadeal !
Save Saved
You added Kiwi International Hotel to your Saves list
Kiwi International Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 12 more sites!
64%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
pricecube West Midlands
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    115
    72
    17
    7
See reviews for
32
72
76
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed at the Kiwi International for 11 days in early Feb 2014 and then one night before flying out of NZ at the end of March 2014. I was in Auckland to do some sightseeing and also to go to the NZ v India Test match at Eden Park. The Kiwi was absolutely spot on for enabling me to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Kiwi International served as a great place to lay my head after two days of seeing the Auckland sights. It's nothing special and looks a little tired, but it's cheap, cheerful and most importantly clean! Take your earplugs as noise travels easily within the building and from outside. A great place to stay if you're on a budget and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Auckland. More

Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The clue is in the title. I have stayed in army accommodation more salubrious than this hotel. Car parking was a nightmare. I am required by Trip Advisor to use a minimum of 200 characters for my review.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

A disappointing review, at the budget end of the hotel guests expectations in relation to what they are spending can vary widely. Yes - parking right in the centre of any large city is a nightmare. Consequently most of our guests are grateful to be able to park at their central city accommodation - but to get if free as... More

Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For a spotless clean hotel at budget prices with lovely, helpful, friendly and charming staff, I cannot recommend the Kiwi International Hotel highly enough. The hotel offers ever level of accommodation from single economy rooms to full en-suite with TV and all the works. The bar and restaurant are affordable and offer good value for money. The location is central... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review. We're pleased it suited your purposes and look forward to hosting you again. More

Lower Hutt, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our Girls Football Team stayed at Kiwi International while attending ACFC U17 Tournament. A Fantastic place to stay with a group! Staff very accommodating. Meals really nice and plenty to keep everyone satisfied! The packed lunches were made fresh each morning and ready to be picked up as we finished breakfast - even included home baking! While it is an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. We're glad you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to hosting you again sometime. More

Lincolnshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well, what can I say! Took this on the basis of reviews and ignored the potential that it was not a good budget hotel and a backpacker/hostel. First impressions were good, the room albeit a little small was overall tidy, clean and good condition for the en-suite double although the location wasn't ideal. I requested a 'quiet room' as part... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

We regret this guest did not have a satisfactory stay with us however we feel that aspects of their review are exaggerated. The reviewer, while noting a number of positive points, omitted to mention the late checkout arranged and free parking in a city where all hotel rooms were full. Their stay was during a large under 17s football tournament... More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The room was not very clean and we were staying on the first floor which was VERY noisy in the morning with a busy parking lot right outside the window. Also, the bathroom doesn't have a window, just shutters that don't completely shut, making the whole room very chilly and noisy. The only good thing was that room was quite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We're sorry your experience didn't match those of most of our guests. We are often complimented on our cleanliness and score highly when considering value for money. More

Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I recently spent a week at the Kiwi International Hotel and was pleased with it overall. Location: The hotel sits off a hill on Queen Street. And when I say hill, think the steepness of Seattle or San Fransisco streets (if you are familiar with those places) It was a trek to get back, but I do think my legs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review. Hopefully we can host you again sometime should you return to Auckland. More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The internet at this hotel was a joke . Reception took it upon themselves to blame me for my internet connection failing .. Like seriously !!! Not impressed .. In fact hotel very unprofessional & unfriendly .. The location was great however .. but will not be returning .. Georgia

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

It appears this reviewer's stay wasn't as good as they may have liked however as their main complaint was about something we give away for free (wi-fi internet) it's then clearly we're on the right track. As at today more than 91% of our TripAdvisor reviews are in the average, very good & excellent categories. More

Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Excellent location especially at the reasonable price. Quite basic - small rooms, a little run down, very thin walls!! But comfortable. And good, friendly staff. And free parking which seems pretty rare in the city centre in Auckland. 100MB of free wifi - again, not that common in NZ. I wouldn't want to stay for too long but for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review and we're pleased it suited your visit. We have recently increased the free internet for guests to 200Mb per day. More

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand
Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland Central 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
#22 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Major renovation 2010. Quiet yet centrally located and of a size to provide the facilities that modern travellers expect while retaining a sense of comfort & friendliness. We offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city - with free parking. Ideal for travellers and groups seeking quality, value and location. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance - Viaduct Basin, the central business district, theatres and the flamboyant nightclub area of 'K' Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiwi International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.