We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 77 Auckland Central hotels

Kiwi International Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Queen Street, Auckland Central 1010, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Groups Only Megadeal !
Save Saved
You added Kiwi International Hotel to your Saves list
Kiwi International Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
64%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
suephilbin Hamilton, New Zealand
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    115
    71
    16
    7
See reviews for
32
72
73
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For a spotless clean hotel at budget prices with lovely, helpful, friendly and charming staff, I cannot recommend the Kiwi International Hotel highly enough. The hotel offers ever level of accommodation from single economy rooms to full en-suite with TV and all the works. The bar and restaurant are affordable and offer good value for money. The location is central... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review. We're pleased it suited your purposes and look forward to hosting you again. More

Lower Hutt, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our Girls Football Team stayed at Kiwi International while attending ACFC U17 Tournament. A Fantastic place to stay with a group! Staff very accommodating. Meals really nice and plenty to keep everyone satisfied! The packed lunches were made fresh each morning and ready to be picked up as we finished breakfast - even included home baking! While it is an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. We're glad you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to hosting you again sometime. More

Lincolnshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well, what can I say! Took this on the basis of reviews and ignored the potential that it was not a good budget hotel and a backpacker/hostel. First impressions were good, the room albeit a little small was overall tidy, clean and good condition for the en-suite double although the location wasn't ideal. I requested a 'quiet room' as part... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

We regret this guest did not have a satisfactory stay with us however we feel that aspects of their review are exaggerated. The reviewer, while noting a number of positive points, omitted to mention the late checkout arranged and free parking in a city where all hotel rooms were full. Their stay was during a large under 17s football tournament... More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was not very clean and we were staying on the first floor which was VERY noisy in the morning with a busy parking lot right outside the window. Also, the bathroom doesn't have a window, just shutters that don't completely shut, making the whole room very chilly and noisy. The only good thing was that room was quite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We're sorry your experience didn't match those of most of our guests. We are often complimented on our cleanliness and score highly when considering value for money. More

Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I recently spent a week at the Kiwi International Hotel and was pleased with it overall. Location: The hotel sits off a hill on Queen Street. And when I say hill, think the steepness of Seattle or San Fransisco streets (if you are familiar with those places) It was a trek to get back, but I do think my legs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review. Hopefully we can host you again sometime should you return to Auckland. More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The internet at this hotel was a joke . Reception took it upon themselves to blame me for my internet connection failing .. Like seriously !!! Not impressed .. In fact hotel very unprofessional & unfriendly .. The location was great however .. but will not be returning .. Georgia

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

It appears this reviewer's stay wasn't as good as they may have liked however as their main complaint was about something we give away for free (wi-fi internet) it's then clearly we're on the right track. As at today more than 91% of our TripAdvisor reviews are in the average, very good & excellent categories. More

Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Excellent location especially at the reasonable price. Quite basic - small rooms, a little run down, very thin walls!! But comfortable. And good, friendly staff. And free parking which seems pretty rare in the city centre in Auckland. 100MB of free wifi - again, not that common in NZ. I wouldn't want to stay for too long but for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review and we're pleased it suited your visit. We have recently increased the free internet for guests to 200Mb per day. More

Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Our stay was a brief (1-night) transition between an overnight flight from the states and an early morning departure for Queenstown. For this type of stay, it was just right. Great location and very reasonable price, clean if very simple rooms. Convenient for transit – just across from the airport bus stop and for us, the first stop into town... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

A great review - many thanks - which sums up our hotel perfectly. What more could be added except perhaps the free parking if you have a car. And yes we agree that the rooms are small but reflected in the value price for the ideal location. More

Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. I was caught off guard when I first check in and noticed that the room does not have aircon but luckily the weather was cold. I also borrowed a fan from the housekeeping as it was a a little stuffy in the noon. There was no free wifi in the room (wrongly advertised in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the generally positive review. It's unfortunate that your device didn't receive the free wi-fi we give every guest. It can be problematic at times when overloaded but generally even my 'dinosaur' Blackberry receives from everywhere in the hotel. We are not air-conditioned. Most prefer it that way provided there are opening windows (which there are) and there are... More

Johannesburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

It has plenty of power points -yes, but i`m talking about where you plug your appliances in. Apart from this small plus, -we were lured here by the AA advertising travel guide book as to where to stay in New zealand. The cover photo of the hotel was pleasant-the desciption-enticing. The price was wonderful (59 to 79 dollars) and even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

We think this review is unfair. We have remained for some time No.1 in TripAdvisors "Best Value" category for Central Auckland hotels for a reason. Clearly an old version of the AA Guide was used as our pricing is always correct if you have the current edition. We will check the carpet and have it repaired if what the reviewer... More

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand
Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland Central 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
#21 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#21 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Major renovation 2010. Quiet yet centrally located and of a size to provide the facilities that modern travellers expect while retaining a sense of comfort & friendliness. We offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city - with free parking. Ideal for travellers and groups seeking quality, value and location. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance - Viaduct Basin, the central business district, theatres and the flamboyant nightclub area of 'K' Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, HotelsClick, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiwi International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.