We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 76 Auckland hotels

Mercure Auckland

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mercure Auckland to your Saves list
Mercure Auckland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
47%
Ranked #40 of 76 hotels in Auckland
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
BrianTaupo Taupo
  • Overview
  • Reviews (1,604)
  • Photos (131)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (188)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

1,604 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    578
    559
    219
    116
See reviews for
254
666
214
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We checked into the hotel to a room with filthy windows you couldn't really see out of, ripped wall paper the light was hanging out of the roof and there was plaster tape holding the door together, however we were moved to a slightly better room but to find cigarette ash all behind the curtains! Upon check out after paying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Centrally located in the heart of the city. On the doorstep to cafés, restaurants, bars and the like. Near bus, train and water transport. Location is ideal. The hotel itself is very tired. The rooms and bathrooms need a makeover but the bed was comfortable with good linen. Amenities were sparse to be descriptive. Basically good for a nights sleep... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear LTP-BCC Thank you for your recent posting on Tripadvisor for The Mercure Auckland hotel. I acknowledge and accept your comments relating to a possible makeover of the room, we have started the initial 'groundwork' on a refurbishment programme for our room product. I am delighted you found both the team friendly and the location of the hotel very handy... More

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is obviously the poor relation of the Accor group. The hotel is very dated, the rooms are small and poorly appointed. I was somewhat surprised at the lack of cleanliness of my room. I wonder if housekeeping staff had ever vacuumed around the edges of the room, or cleaned the airspace between the two layers of windows. Paint... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Rex S Thank you for your detailed feedback on your recent stay at The Mercure Auckland Hotel. I am sorry you feel we did not/do not represent the Accor group in a 'positive light during your stay with us'. Your feedback will certainly assist the team and I in both improving those areas mentioned, as well as building on... More

Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you are on a strict budget and want somewhere in the centre of town then this is the property for you. It is very basic and I think the cheap price tag attracts all sorts. We were pretty sure the elevator smelt of vomit in the morning. On the plus side you are close to britomart and the lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear JessamineWalker Thank you for your detailed feedback relating to The Mercure Auckland hotel. Your comments are valuable in order for us to improve in the areas where we can as noted in your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed certain elements of your stay with us. Thank you again. Kind Regards Lee Parker Operations Manager - Rooms More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was checked into this hotel for a conference event. Room was small and shabby and unclean. Paint chips off all edges and corners, bathroom tiles chipped and dirty, uneven cheap cabinetwork, carpet so flat and worn that if you wore smooth-soled shoes you'd slip... Did I mention the dirt? Dust so thick on all edges and ledges and a disgusting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear FlyingTiger 2014 Thank you for your recent posting on Tripadvisor relating to The Mercure Auckland Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the overall stay you had and the way you felt we handled the situation. I feel you are owed a more direct and personaly apology & explanation, If I may ask you to contact me directly on... More

Wanganui
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is well located, we were contacted by Accor with a very good two day stay deal (incl breakfast), it also included valet parking at $25 night, unfortunately when we arrived the front desk refused the valet parking and wanted to charge us $40 night ($80 total), i explained and was refused the offer, it wasn't until i insisted... More

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Heemi 10 Thank you for your feedback relating to The Mercure Auckland Hotel. I am sorry you found parking to be a difficulty at our Hotel and am pleased you enjoyed your stay overall with us. Kind Regards Lee Parker Operations Manager - Rooms More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mercure Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Auckland

Address: 8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Auckland 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mercure Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Accor Hotel Auckland
Mercure Auckland New Zealand

131 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (121)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#30 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking the picturesque Waitemata Harbour in the heart of Auckland city and located adjacent to Britomart transport centre, the hotel is an easy walk to the waterfront and the best shopping, restaurant and nightlife districts in Auckland. Mercure Hotel Auckland has conference facilities for up to 300 delegates, the Vertigo Restaurant and Bar located on the top floor offering magnificent views of the city and harbour as well as a gym and valet parking. All rooms come with broadband Internet access. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
189

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer