We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 76 Auckland hotels

Mercure Auckland

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mercure Auckland to your Saves list
Mercure Auckland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
46%
Ranked #39 of 76 hotels in Auckland
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
spotcha Auckland, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (1,635)
  • Photos (151)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (196)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

1,635 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    582
    574
    227
    122
See reviews for
258
682
217
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

first impressions : reception was clean, well presented and very fancy. Strolled up to the first floor while waiting to check in ( I needed the bathroom) found the conference facilities and bathrooms very clean and well appointed. Had been on a previous visit for Drinks at the bar on the top floor and was amazed by the view... Everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Brought this as a mystery 4-star hotel in central Auckland. Initial impression, foyer is modern, views from the restuarant cannot be beat, stunning window seat for breakfast but the room and corridors were so very old and dated. If it didnt have the top floor view for eating and central location, there's no way i could have kept the rating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albury, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is quite good. The room was comfortable, and the staff helpful. Breakfast was great but dinner was awful, and very over-priced. The hotel is in a very convenient location for shopping, buses, trains and ferries.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Hi Gay, I'm happy that you had a generally satisfying experience here at Mercure Auckland. I'm sorry that you were unhappy with the dinner. If you would like to give me a little more information about your dinner experience please don't hesitate to contact me at the email address below. Kind regards, Nigel Harford Assistant Manager h1721-dm02@accor.com More

Nsw Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

From the reception to all staff thank you for your generous welcome, you are an asset to the Accor Group. This well appointed Hotel was convenient to all our needs. We have highly recommended it to our family and friends, and do not hesitate recommending it to fellow travellers.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Hi Frederick, We're really working at lifting our service levels so it's great to receive such positive comments as yours. I've printed your review to share with all the team. I hope you'll be back to stay with us again soon. Kind regards, Nigel Harford Assistant Manager More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Had to make a quick overnight trip with 2 colleagues and we stayed here. The restaurant for dinner was great and that's all that is positive. This is a very tired old hotel. You get 30 minutes WiFi in reception of in the bar thereafter you have to pay NZ$6 per day. Rooms are 1980's, noisy. Doors banging, bed was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your brief stay Robert. I'm glad you enjoyed the restaurant dinner, our new chef has a new menu coming out soon so things should only get better up there. As far as the rooms go we accept that they are in need of a refurbishment and are waiting the final OK to get started. Watch... More

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I arrive late at nightm stayed for 3 nights. Room spacious, clean, good running water, tea facilities available with cookies in fridge and sodas, which is nice. Reception staff were very helpful, when I checked at out 4am in the morning, he offered to call a taxi for me for the aiport and it was only $35. I didnt know... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Hi Noelene, Thanks very much for your positive comments I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. I haven't tried the breakfast yet, obviously I'm going to have to. Most of the other Accor hotels in the city centre do their own excellent breakfasts but, as you said, we do offer chargeback for people staying at Ibis Styles and Quay West... More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location in the centre of town and near to the marina, had no trouble walking everywhere. Hotel is a bit tired, definitely needs some work, particularly in the bathrooms. Showerhead is very short - beware medium height to tall people! Staff were friendly and helpful. Laundry facilities available, laundry flooded while we were there but this was quickly rectified.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive comments Hollie J. I've been away from Auckland for a number of years and in that time they seem to have rebuilt Auckland around the Mercure. Practically everything you need is an easy walk away. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll come back to stay with us again soon. Kind regards, Nigel Harford... More

Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I agree with some of the comments that the hotel is getting tired and could do with some work and maybe we were lucky with our room.We were given a room on the top floor ( 12th ).The large double bed was comfortable and we slept well.The hotel is very centrally located.Does not have internet in the room.The reception were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments Pedro. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Mercure Auckland. As you and others have noted the hotel is in need of refurbishment and we are awaiting final sign off for that to go ahead. In the meantime we are focusing on the people side of the business and trying to lift... More

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in Room 508 23/8/14 which had a broken wall socket for the broadband cable - therefore no internet connection . Wifi only in Lobby and Bar - highly inconvenient for iPad users ! Starting from 7.28 am 24/8/14 - loud intrusive noises from piping systems in adjoining room or above room - sounded like a jack hammer breaking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mercure Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Auckland

Address: 8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Auckland 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, ACCOR, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mercure Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Accor Hotel Auckland
Mercure Auckland New Zealand

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (141)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Auckland with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#29 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking the picturesque Waitemata Harbour in the heart of Auckland city and located adjacent to Britomart transport centre, the hotel is an easy walk to the waterfront and the best shopping, restaurant and nightlife districts in Auckland. Mercure Hotel Auckland has conference facilities for up to 300 delegates, the Vertigo Restaurant and Bar located on the top floor offering magnificent views of the city and harbour as well as a gym and valet parking. All rooms come with broadband Internet access. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
189

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Auckland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer