We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amora Hotel Auckland

100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Amora Hotel Auckland
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

505 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    93
    171
    143
    66
    32
See reviews for
54
220
37
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (505)
  • Mar-May only
    (132)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (113)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (105)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (155)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stay at the Amora Hotel each year and I am always delighted with the room and its appointments. The location of the hotel is perfect and the staff are always keen to please and to help with any questions you may have..

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear bofclark Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Amora Hotel Auckland. We are delighted to read your encouraging comments about our convenient central location, comfortable spacious rooms and friendly staff. Positive comments from our guests truly serve as an inspiration to our staff. bofclark, please remember for the best accommodation deals and pricing be... More 

New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night in July. Well presented, good bedding and comfortable bed. Clean and modern facilities. Fabulous view and easy access in central Auckland. Central to restaurants and entertainment. Will stay again without hesitation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

DearJulz1691 Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Amora Hotel Auckland. We are delighted to read your encouraging comments about our convenient central location, clean modern facilities and our value driven pricing. Positive comments from our guests truly serve as an inspiration to our staff. Julz1691, please remember for the best accommodation deals and pricing... More 

Katikati, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean and quiet rooms in this centrally located high rise hotel. A short stroll to many restaurants, shops Town Hall venues for concerts, etc... Reasonably priced for Central Auckland. Only drawback is the free Wifi. You only get 1 hour PER STAY..!!! (even for several days) which has to be used IN ONE SESSION...!!! Not brilliant by today's standards...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear JohnPaul1950 Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Amora Hotel Auckland. We are delighted to read your encouraging comments about our convenient central location and our value driven pricing. I would also like to thank you for your excellent suggestion about amending our one hour of free Wi-Fi per stay to one hour free... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

We loved this place. Spent two nights here for an anniversary. King spa room. Price is deceiving as you expect less than what you get. About 5-10 minutes walk to mid city Auckland. Loved how the spa opened straight out into the bedroom but could still be closed off if preferred. Room service available. Laundry in room. Restaurant downstairs. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Luckywhitu Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Amora Hotel Auckland. As you experienced, we often get excellent feedback about our lovely Deluxe Spa rooms with views over tree filled Myers Park. Positive comments from our guests truly serve as an inspiration to our staff. Luckywhitu, please remember for the best accommodation deals and... More 

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

We had two nights in the Amora hotel. We had a room on the 9th floor with a nice view of the Skype Tower. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom had a nice big bath, the kitchen has a washer/dryer, microwave, and even a cooktop. There is a lounge table and also a desk. There is 1 hour of free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear CaroAidan Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Amora Hotel Auckland. We are delighted to read your encouraging comments about our spacious comfortable rooms, Wi-Fi offering and our convenient central location. Positive comments from our guests truly serve as an inspiration to our staff. Thank you once again for your 5 star TripAdvisor rating... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

2 night stop over before the northern explorer train home to Wellington. The rooms were clean but with no soul in them. From the balcony you got a great view of some state houses and the noise that Auckland is famous for. The gym down stairs was lacking in head height room as when your on the treadmill and your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Lsas26 Thank you for taking the time to share your recent trip to Auckland City staying at Amora Hotel Auckland. I do thank you for taking the time to write this feedback and we will take this on board with an aim to improving our product and service. Thank you again for your feedback and we sincerely hope you... More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
745 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 541 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

I stayed here in December 2014 on a 'Mystery Hotel' deal for a very reasonable $128pn. I had kast stayed at the Duxton (it's firmer name) in about 2007. There doesn't appear to have been a lot of money spent on it since then as it is looking a little tired, however it is still clean and comfortable. The best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Albywon Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Amora Hotel Auckland. We are delighted to read your positive comments about our convenient central location and our value for money offering. I will ensure that your feedback is shared with the entire team. Albywon, please remember for the best accommodation deals and pricing, visit our... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

Hotel was beautiful, our room was spacious, 2 free hours of wifi were great!! Staff in the lobby not very helpful we asked them for things to do and only thing they could think of was city tower. Not very knowledgeable about city. Did not know airport shuttle pick up times, where to rent a car or how to call... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Jaime V Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Amora Hotel Auckland. We are delighted to read encouraging comments about our spacious comfortable rooms. We regularly get feedback from guests about how spacious they find our rooms and how useful they find the kitchenettes in all our rooms. However I was disappointed to read... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

I stayed for three weeks, so booked a suite and did my own catering. Large comfortable and quiet rooms, two balconies with lovely views over the park. Slightly lacking in personality with no artwork for example and the colour scheme was a bit drab, but that is me being picky. The kitchen area was adequate, but very little provided in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear 746patricia Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Amora Hotel Auckland. We are delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay with us recently and enjoyed the convenient public transport that is on offer in Auckland. However I was disappointed to read about the challenges at the pool area, as we do keep... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

138 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (111)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 63 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 63 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.2 mi away
Auckland City Oaks
Auckland City Oaks
#29 of 63 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay