We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amora Hotel Auckland

4.0 of 5 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Amora Hotel Auckland
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    161
    124
    62
    32
See reviews for
51
206
31
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (465)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (102)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (105)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (155)
All months
Ahmedabad, India
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars NEW

it is in the city center so most of the restaurants are in walking distance, so also the casino. Rooms are good , they serve decent breakfast . Reception staff is friendly. Lovely small balcony attached to each room. enjoyed the stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at the Amora hotel for 6 nights in February. The hotel looks welcoming from the outside and the young lad that checked us in was also great, welcoming and friendly. A particular mention to Elizabeth who, after we asked for directions to Mt Smart Stadium to see a concert, gave us a bus timetable and typed instructions on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Save your money for some other hotel in Auckland. The first room I checked into had stains all over the sheets and bedspread--I couldn't tell if they'd been washed at all. The second room was mildly cleaner. The "air conditioning" is a portable unit with a hose to the outside. Another guest was complaining about his as I was checking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I stayed at Amora Hotel to go to the Sole Mio concert at the zoo. I had booked this hotel because I had stayed here before and they offered 2 queen beds, however on this visit we only got single beds. The beds were however quite comfortable. The air conditioning is a joke with a stand alone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well how should i start and to which point. After 5 nights at this establishment i have to say that i am not impressed and when i return to NZ in 4 weeks i most definitely will not be staying with the Amora Hotel Chain again. Upon arriving in the early evening i was greeted by a somewhat rude man.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nothing special and a refurbishment would enhance. Reception friendly enough but could do better. Restaurant average - staff down beat. Location is quiet in tree lined street - get a room overlooking park.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived and checked in smoothly - then to carpark, very tight to turn down ramps and obviously seen a few hits - then up to room. We had booked for four - Couple and two teenagers. Two double beds greeted us, downstairs at reception I was told that was all they had - I felt they honestly couldn't care any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 3 nights in late January. Room was well equipped with cooking and washing facilities however air conditioning was a very loud portable unit which didn't cool the room. Some staff were more helpful than others but overall service was OK. Buffet breakfast was reasonable with no changes over the 3 day stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear– Jenni H Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read encouraging comments about our well equipped rooms with the kitchenettes and washer dryers which are standard in all our rooms. However I was disappointed to read about the challenges with the air-conditioning unit and have addressed this with... More 

New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked the hotel at the last minute as I needed to do some work and I knew there was no WiFi at my holiday destination so I booked a mystery deal for one night. On arrival the receptionist had a rather lack lustre personality although check in was quite quick and efficient. I took the option for the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear by DibblesNZ Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read encouraging comments about our Wi-Fi offering and the turkey dinner. However, I am truly disappointed to read about the housekeeping and maintenance issues that you mentioned and have addressed this with my team. DibblesNZ, I do thank you... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 nights in January and to be honest I was trying to work out a reason to leave early. We had ordered a trundler bed when we had booked 2 months prior but was told they didn't have any until I got angry and asked where the heck my 6 year old was meant to sleep that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Kelly S Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. I am truly disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. We aim to provide a quality experience at Amora Hotel Auckland and we have clearly failed to meet your expectations. Kelly S, I do thank you for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (96)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay