We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amora Hotel Auckland

Hotel website
100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Amora Hotel Auckland
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

601 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Williamstown, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

2 night stay. Part of a tour group. Although the meal organised for a group function was good the review is really based on the room. The aircon was a standalone unit, the type that could be bought at Bunnings as a do it yourself. Air feed to unit was a plastic tube affixed to an opening in a glass... More 

Helpful?
Thank alan c
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear alan c Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Amora Hotel Auckland. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the group dinner. However, I was truly disappointed to read about the challenges you experienced during your recent stay with us. We are currently in the process of looking for alternative Air-conditioning solutions and... More 

Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I rarely write reviews, but this hotel demands it. The strange portable a/c unit in our room never got the temperature below 26 C. There is no air conditioning in the hallways. And the internet system was the WORST EVER. $10 a day requiring multiple sign-in's using a 15 digit password which changed daily. All over New Zealand during our... More 

Helpful?
Thank DobeWatson
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear DobeWatson Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Amora Hotel Auckland. I was truly disappointed to read about the challenges you experienced during your recent stay with us. We are currently in the process of looking for alternative Air-conditioning solutions and upgrades. DobeWatson, I do thank you for taking the time to write this... More 

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Besides the accommodation being more than up to standard the staff were extra helpful with any little problems. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Hope to be visiting them again in October 2018 when it is my 65 birthday to celebrate with my brother who lives in Auckland.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank estherabizdris
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear estherabizdris Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Amora Hotel Auckland. We are delighted to read your encouraging comments about our friendly staff and spacious rooms. Positive feedback from our guests truly serves as an inspiration to the team. Thank you again for your 5 star rating. My team and I look forward to... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice hotel pity about the staff upon arrival not very pleasant and friendly would put be me off staying again, food was nice, room was comfortable, while using the shower the screen was broken which flooded the bathroom.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marcie N
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Marcie N Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Amora Hotel Auckland. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed our convenient central location and tasty food. However, I was disappointed to read the rest of your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. Marcie... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fairly good location although at the top of a long slow hill. Had most facilities necessary but we found the staff unfriendly and unhelpful. WiFi was not free which seemed amazing and penny pinching for NZs largest city. Breakfast was awful and we felt as though our every move was being watched. The room was OK but we stayed in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen J
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Karen J Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Amora Hotel Auckland. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed our convenient central location. However, I was disappointed to read the rest of your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. Karen J, I do... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Extremely underwhelming - room unclean: Very disappointed with the room: stained sheets and towels, frayed carpet, broken cabinetry, paint chips on walls, broken skirting boards..... Just generally unkempt. Bathroom was rubbish: broken and water damaged tiles and a pathetic shower/bath with an inadequate seal that flooded the floor. Most ridiculous air conditioning unit: as loud as a lawn mower and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alex S
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Alex S Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Amora Hotel Auckland. I do apologise that you had an unpleasant stay with us recently and can assure you that this is not our normal standard. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused by this. Thank you again for your feedback and we sincerely... More 

Auckland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I just stayed at the Amora for 1 night for a company conference. The conference room we were in had inadequate.to no air conditioning which made it very difficult to concentrate on business due to being too hot. It seemed like one of the lifts wasn't working so we either waited a very long time or resorted to using the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Michelle J Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Amora Hotel Auckland. I was truly disappointed to read about the challenges you experienced during your recent stay with us. We are currently in the process of looking for alternative Air-conditioning solutions and upgrades. Michelle J, I do thank you for taking the time to... More 

Havelock North, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great quite central location at the top of Queen St. Perfect if your stay involves going to the Aotea Centre, Town Hall, or the Civic Theatre. It's then just a short stroll to the Art Gallery and great shops & cafés in Lorne and High St, and before you know it you're in down town Auckland. Just rest your legs... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dylans41
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear dylans41 Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Amora Hotel Auckland. We are delighted to read your encouraging comments about our friendly staff, convenient central location and spacious rooms. Positive feedback from our guests truly serves as an inspiration to the team. Thank you again for your 5 star rating. My team and I... More 

beaudesert
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was clean and well appointed .Meyers park very good for your granddaughter to play in. Pool was refreshing even in mid summer. Heated pool relieved the coolness of main pool.Meals in the restaurant very well presented and adequate for a tourist in the daily visiting of attractions .door stop not well placed in bathroom. One tends to kick it... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank grahaml256
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear grahaml256 Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Amora Hotel Auckland. We are delighted to read your encouraging comments about our tasty food and lovely refreshing pool. Positive feedback from our guests truly serves as an inspiration to the team. Thank you again for your positive rating. My team and I sincerely hope to... More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel stay was pretty good. Chose the hotel specifically for it's in room jacuzzi/spas and that didn't disappoint (although could've come with some instructions for jacuzzi in the in-room booklet as to exactly what each button does apart from the one that turns it on). Room was clean and tidy with adequate facilities. Staff were courteous. There were a bunch... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Greg T
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Greg T Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Amora Hotel Auckland. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the Jacuzzi in the room booked. However, I was disappointed to read the rest of your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. Greg T,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (124)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#23 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 stars 647 reviews
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#22 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay