We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
30 Ponsonby Terrace | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    54
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
30
192
41
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (374)
  • Mar-May only
    (114)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (131)
All months
Horsham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our last stop before heading off to Auckland Airport for our journey home early next morning. We drove up from Whangamata on the Coromandel peninsula so arrived by 12.30pm. Although we arrived before check in we were told our room was available and were shown to one of the "courtyard" rooms. The bathroom did not look particularly clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What a brilliant hotel! Comfortable, super clean, friendly, perfectly located down a very quiet street right in the centre of Ponsonby. Richard is a brilliant host. He made us feel really welcome and at home. The breakfast was delicious (make sure you try the homemade banana bread and the eggs benedict).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I could talk about the great location of the Great Ponsonby Arthotel - how it is within walking distance of so many wonderful shops, cafes, restaurants and even some night life; and how it is just off the strip in a quiet neighbourhood with birds singing. I could talk about the beautiful heritage home with beautiful pieces of art inspired... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

very impressed with everything, beautiful house, great service , lovely room with awesome breakfast will definitely be returning next time im' in Auckland.and will happily recommend to friends going to Auckland

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were dropped off by Uncle the driver who was very nice. He gave my husband some tips on driving in New Zealand as we had never driven on the left side before. The room was very comfy. We had our own kitchenette with a hot water kettle and most importantly coffee. We were greeted later by Sally who sat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Freedom, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

We arrived early,our driver let us our courtyard room. The place was dismal and the worse for wear,the bathroom was a utter disapointment,dirty shower curtain hanging off,old towels and in need of a upgrade. We had travelled for 36 hours and were very tired ,a member of the staff did appear later in the day to show us around .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sally J, Manager at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry that you did not have a good experience and this is of concern when our business is to make guests as comfortable and as satisfied as possible; which we seem to manage almost 100% of the time; according to our Qualmark rating and other responses on Trip... More 

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Many thanks for a great stay ! Ideal location for access to the centre and also for local restaurants etc. Friendly and helpful staff with good local knowledge, we would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hamburg, NY
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

We stayed here for one night after long flight from the U.S. The room was charming and accented with interesting art and decorative features. The breakfast was delicious and more than ample. Highly recommend a stay here for long term or overnight.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

We stayed here twice - a week apart and we loved it both times. The hosts were friendly, knowledgeable and great fun to laugh with. The first time we were in a studio room, which was quiet and well provisioned. The decor was fun and quirky. Although the bathroom was small, the shower was great. The second time we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

We stayed here for several days before a cruise from Auckland. It was very convenient to get to the CBD and attractions! Frequent bus service one block away on popular street with many restaurants and shops. Loved the location. Our room was in the front but secluded from street by a circular driveway and trees and quiet. Every room seemed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (110)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities