We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
30 Ponsonby Terrace | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    52
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
29
189
39
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (368)
  • Mar-May only
    (108)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (131)
All months
Freedom, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived early,our driver let us our courtyard room. The place was dismal and the worse for wear,the bathroom was a utter disapointment,dirty shower curtain hanging off,old towels and in need of a upgrade. We had travelled for 36 hours and were very tired ,a member of the staff did appear later in the day to show us around .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sally J, Manager at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry that you did not have a good experience and this is of concern when our business is to make guests as comfortable and as satisfied as possible; which we seem to manage almost 100% of the time; according to our Qualmark rating and other responses on Trip... More 

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for a great stay ! Ideal location for access to the centre and also for local restaurants etc. Friendly and helpful staff with good local knowledge, we would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamburg, NY
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night after long flight from the U.S. The room was charming and accented with interesting art and decorative features. The breakfast was delicious and more than ample. Highly recommend a stay here for long term or overnight.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here twice - a week apart and we loved it both times. The hosts were friendly, knowledgeable and great fun to laugh with. The first time we were in a studio room, which was quiet and well provisioned. The decor was fun and quirky. Although the bathroom was small, the shower was great. The second time we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for several days before a cruise from Auckland. It was very convenient to get to the CBD and attractions! Frequent bus service one block away on popular street with many restaurants and shops. Loved the location. Our room was in the front but secluded from street by a circular driveway and trees and quiet. Every room seemed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We had a very nice, colourful room with great art, and loved hearing the birds. The breakfasts are delicious - fresh and plentiful. I highly recommend the banana bread. Very nice to sit out on the deck to have breakfast. The bed was comfortable and we slept well as its very quiet. A couple of suggestions: the shower curtain needs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

The hotel arranged for Uncle to meet us at the airport and this was an excellent start to our stay, thanks to his advice and friendliness. He made sure we got into to the hotel where we were met by Max, who gave us a beer and a cup of tea as well as providing some really useful guidance and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

My wife and I arrived at the GPA in the morning after a 12 day cruise so we were ready to regain our land legs and see Auckland for the first time. We were warmly greeted by a staff member at the front door of the main house who showed us to the living room where other guests (all from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

A great boutique upper crust hotel in an uppercrust neighbourhood , Ponsonby road, Auckland. The rooms were like entering an art house. a splash of colour everywhere. The bathroom and bedroom were a little small and lacked adequate counter space. But that was made up by its overall appointment ,and that they were housed in a cottage and not a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

I booked in at the Great Ponsonby, but turned up a month early. They were flat out, people arriving and departing, and an idiot there with no booking , looking shattered , and avoiding looking at my partner. Sally and Gerard to the rescue. They gave us beers, sat us down, then rang around and found us a fabulous place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (108)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question