We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
30 Ponsonby Terrace | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Special Offer
New Guest Special
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Add Photo Write a Review

378 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    297
    55
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
30
193
42
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (378)
  • Mar-May only
    (114)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (131)
All months
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here 3 times already and would stay again and again! You can relax, but at the same time is very close to Ponsonby cafes and restaurants, and an easy bus ride to the CBD. The best for me was the breakfast!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I really enjoyed my stay at the Great Ponsonby Arthotel. Richard was a great host and prepared a delicious breakfast. Much more relaxed than staying in a hotel, with comfortable sitting room and garden (not that I used it). Also close to lots of restaurants and take-aways, and easy to get the bus into the centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

Stayed here with a group of friends (7 couples in total) as a reunion as we had all lived at the same time in the UAE a few years back. The Great Ponsonby Art Hotel was an amazing place to stay and catch up with friends. It was like we were all in a large home, being able to use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kampala
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015 via mobile

one night mid week. Absolutely lovely little haven. Generous rooms. Generous facilities. Generous hosts. What a neat place to stay. Close to great eateries in a wonderful old part of the city. Quiet. Totally recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally J, Manager at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your very positive experience and response - much appreciated. Richard More 

Horsham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

This was our last stop before heading off to Auckland Airport for our journey home early next morning. We drove up from Whangamata on the Coromandel peninsula so arrived by 12.30pm. Although we arrived before check in we were told our room was available and were shown to one of the "courtyard" rooms. The bathroom did not look particularly clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally J, Manager at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

This one of those tricky reviews among a sea of complementary comments that needs a response and clarification in the interest of balance. As the reviewer said, they arrived early and were allowed immediate access to their room; and were in fact upgraded to a large, beautifully appointed Palm Garden studio which offered more space and privacy. There is a... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

What a brilliant hotel! Comfortable, super clean, friendly, perfectly located down a very quiet street right in the centre of Ponsonby. Richard is a brilliant host. He made us feel really welcome and at home. The breakfast was delicious (make sure you try the homemade banana bread and the eggs benedict).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally J, Manager at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

Thank you. The staff team appreciates that you have taken time to recognise our constant effort to provide a great stay for our guests. More 

Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

I could talk about the great location of the Great Ponsonby Arthotel - how it is within walking distance of so many wonderful shops, cafes, restaurants and even some night life; and how it is just off the strip in a quiet neighbourhood with birds singing. I could talk about the beautiful heritage home with beautiful pieces of art inspired... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

very impressed with everything, beautiful house, great service , lovely room with awesome breakfast will definitely be returning next time im' in Auckland.and will happily recommend to friends going to Auckland

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

We were dropped off by Uncle the driver who was very nice. He gave my husband some tips on driving in New Zealand as we had never driven on the left side before. The room was very comfy. We had our own kitchenette with a hot water kettle and most importantly coffee. We were greeted later by Sally who sat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Freedom, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

We arrived early,our driver let us our courtyard room. The place was dismal and the worse for wear,the bathroom was a utter disapointment,dirty shower curtain hanging off,old towels and in need of a upgrade. We had travelled for 36 hours and were very tired ,a member of the staff did appear later in the day to show us around .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sally J, Manager at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry that you did not have a good experience and this is of concern when our business is to make guests as comfortable and as satisfied as possible; which we seem to manage almost 100% of the time; according to our Qualmark rating and other responses on Trip... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (110)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#5 of 63 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.4 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 63 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 63 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 2,498 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland
1.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 63 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay