We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 58 Auckland Central B&Bs / inns

Great Ponsonby Arthotel

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30 Ponsonby Terrace | Ponsonby, Auckland Central 1011, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Great Ponsonby Arthotel to your Saves list
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com AMOMA.com
and 1 more site!
94%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Cowgirl10_10 Kerrville, Texas
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    246
    43
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
157
33
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first stop in New Zealand. It really set the bar high for future B & B's on our trip. The breakfasts were varied, cooked to order, and very tasty. I loved Gerry's omelets with blue cheese! Gerry and Ann were consummate hosts, helping with sightseeing plans. They even drove us to a couple of areas when it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sally J, Manager at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

Kia ora Cowgirl, Thank you for your positive review. Gerry’s omelette is often a hit with our guests, we’re very glad you enjoyed it. We pride ourselves on our location, and it’s great that you were able to make the most of it. Cheers, The crew at the Great Ponsonby Arthotel More

Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is so exciting when you find a place to stay that fits your needs perfectly. My daughter and I stayed there along with my dog for one night. I needed to be at the airport early Saturday morning to collect my husband. It is a challenge to find somewhere that will allow dogs to stay with you. We were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sally J, Manager at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

Kia ora WhangareiSioux, Thank you for your kind words. We enjoy being able to accommodate our guests’ furry friends, and love the fact that we have such easy access to one of Ponsonby’s fantastic parks. Please come back sometime soon. Cheers, The crew at the Great Ponsonby Arthotel More

Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a wonderful stay at the Great Ponsonby Arthotel. Gerry, Sally and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Gerry gave me directions to the interesting historical places in the neighbourhood and showed me a nice walk to get to the waterfront. The Red Room, where I stayed, was spacious and airy, well-equipped too, so it was possible to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sally J, Manager at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

Kia ora thanh_van2014 Thank you for your positive comments. Breakfast is one of our favourite times of the day, as we enjoy finding out more about the interesting lives of our guests. We’re glad that you enjoyed our walking recommendations. Please come back and visit us soon. Cheers The crew at the Great Ponsonby Arthotel More

Margaret River Region, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We started our New Zealand experience in the Arthotel B&B with Sally and Gerry. It was great to stay in an old style building in one of Auckland's traditonal areas. Ponsonby is well located outside the centre of the city but it's easy to get anywhere as the B&B is near to the circular bus route which is quite frequent.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

Kia ora Lesley, Thank you very much for such a great review. We do love that our location is so central, it makes it easy for our guests, and us too. Our breakfasts are our pride and joy, and we’re glad that we were able to share it with you. Please come back sometime. Cheers, The crew at the Great... More

Akron, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a terrific and friendly place to stay. . The B and B is located in Ponsonby - a vibrant neighborhood of old houses and lots of cafes and right on the inner bus line. The location of the hotel is ideal, just a quiet street off to the main Ponsonby road and a convenient walk to Auckland City... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

Kia ora Nithin, Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed having you stay with us, it was great to hear about what you do in the US. We loved that you were able to stay with us again before your flight, please come back for a visit sometime soon. Cheers, The crew at the Great Ponsonby Arthotel More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a terrific and friendly place to stay. The owners are very helpful and outgoing. The B and B is located in Ponsonby - a vibrant neighborhood of old houses and lots of cafes and right on the inner bus line. The walk down to the city along the harbor is wonderful. The cooked breakfasts are really good too.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

Kia ora Sandy, Thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you were able to make the most of our vibrant neighbourhood. Our driver, Uncle, is indeed a lovely man, and one of our favourite people here at the Great Ponsonby. Please come back and visit us soon. Cheers, The crew at the Great Ponsonby Arthotel More

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We, my partner, teenage daughter and I stayed three nights during the weekend of the Rugby League 9's, Eminem concert etc and loved it! Sally, Gerry and staff are so friendly, helpful, and the service was excellent. Our rooms were spacious, clean, warm, very comfortable and the breakfasts were great in terms of quality and variety. The location of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

Kia ora Steve, Shona and Nekea, Thank you for your positive review. You certainly stayed during our busiest week! We hope you enjoyed our hot chocolates and eggs benedicts each morning, and that you had a good time watching the league. We hope to see you again at next year’s league tournament, give us a ring and we’ll see what... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed here on the first and last night of our new zealand tour. From the hotel name we had expected great things. The décor may artistic to some, to us it was a mish mash of colours and styles which appeared garish. Service was fine but the quality of the breakfast was very disappointing. Choice of cereals, fruit and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

Kia ora Douglas, Thank you for your comments, we always appreciate guest feedback so we can continue to improve and deliver the highest possible standards. We do acknowledge that you may have not found our artwork to your taste, as the delights of art will always be different for each person. However, we do enjoy the artwork around our property,... More

northern California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great place to stay. Rooms nicely done, very comfortable. Excellent breakfasts with indoor or outdoor seating. I was worried it would be too far out of Auckland City Center but it was very easy to get into the city or down to the ferry terminal using the green bus line for NZ$2. Just a block from the B&B to walk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

Kia ora Nancy and Mike, Thank you so much for such a positive review. We are so pleased to hear that you loved our breakfasts, rooms and location. Please come back soon, we would love to have you stay with us again. Cheers, The crew at The Great Ponsonby Arthotel More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

No doubt the service and staff are outstandingly helpful and welcoming, but the title "Arthotel" is somewhat missleading. We stayed in the granny flat which features a color scheme that I would call interesting. I was seeking to get away from the polished 5* boring hotels, but I don't think the interior was quite what I expected. If you charge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

Kia ora Christoph, Thank you for your feedback, we always appreciate hearing about our guest’s thoughts (good or bad) so we can continue to improve and offer the best possible experience. Our bright and abstract colour scheme is our way of departing from the concrete, refined hotel room offered at more commercial places. We aim on brightening our guests trips,... More

Been to Great Ponsonby Arthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Also Known As:
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Hotel Auckland Central
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Hotel
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Auckland, New Zealand
Address: 30 Ponsonby Terrace | Ponsonby, Auckland Central 1011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Ponsonby Arthotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in a quiet, heritage, 1890's villa in the middle of cosmopolitan Auckland, just 2 minutes stroll to Ponsonby's vibrant cafes, restaurants and galleries. Fifteen minutes by eco bus, five minutes by taxi to the waterfront or a 30 minute amble through Ponsonby's interesting streets. Close to Eden Park, the Zoo and all main attractions. Qualmark 4 star+ and Enviro Gold. Breakfasts are legendary. They are cooked to order, not just left in your fridge the night before. This is a place to have fun & meet other guests.Free, unlimited wifi throughout hotel, ipod docks, all sky channels in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Great Ponsonby Arthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Ponsonby Arthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.