We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 73 Auckland accommodations

Base Auckland Central Backpackers

4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   229 Queen St | Cnr Queen St. & Darby, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Base Auckland Central Backpackers to your Saves list
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Akira H Ballarat, Australia
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    73
    116
    70
    71
See reviews for
10
95
130
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (366)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (117)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (94)
All months
There are newer reviews for Base Auckland Central Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Frankly Speaking, I am happy to stay at this hostel, but the reason is not only rate! This hostel is much flexible such as 24 hours reception, gym facility, and comfortable lounge space etc, Thank you all!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hostel is located right on queen street which has lots to see and do. Our stay was average though what we heard from other tenants who were in and out of our room said the other hostels I'm Auckland are much cleaner compared to this one. We ended up buying our own dishes/scrubbers/soap because the kitchens are disgusting due... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is my first experience in a hostel, so take it as it goes. I've found welcoming staff, able to help me in my needs (and the first night coming from the airport without baggage i needed help), few rules, all reasonable, clean rooms and bathrooms. People working at the Globe pub in the basement are really funny. If you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night with a group of 3 girlfriends. On arrival which was before check in they let us leave our bags in there storage room which was handy did however smell and was very tiny. After waiting atleast 20 minutes to get to the counter for our room we had to pay a $20 key fee which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Had a few nights here , great location , great service. Not a hotel obviously but very comfortable Close to shops Always a room free Great promotions Friendly faces Clean rooms but very standard Bathroom facility's good Travel desk really helpful Downside , the music in reception is super loud at times.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I hate Base Hostels, all they want to do is take your money - they charge you for EVERYTHING, 20 dollars deposit for a towel?! Are you serious? Not a social hostel unless you go out of your way to talk to people. A lot of stuff was broken or out of order. As with most Base hostels, it felt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

would never stay here again !!!!! the moment we we got there it was a run around , our room had people in it ! the bathroom was a mess with only one toilet working ! looked like cleaning doesn't happen a regular bases ! like I say this place is run by a bunch of monkeys ! and to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Hostel is in a great location but we didn't like staying here as nothing worked...very frustrating! The lifts broke a lot & there were no stairs to take instead, no shower heads on the showers & temperature of showers went from scorching to freezing, our door to our room also didn't open & close properly, the washing machine swallowed our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014 via mobile

We had pre paid for 2 rooms about 5months previously...the first room we had was a spacious 6 bed dorm with windows...the second night we stayed we were given a 6 bed dorm, with no widows, and no room for our rucksacks! Then were told we would have to pay an upgrade fee to get a room with a window... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Virender S, Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the feedback. I am sorry you feel you were messed around during your stay here. We actually have two different kinds of 6 bed dorms. One is a standard 6 bed, which is what you had the first night, and the other is a budget dorm, which is what you stayed in on your second night. It... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

If you want to stay in Auckland down town Base is good. Reception open 24 hours rooms modest but so are prices. It is more aimed at the Younger traveler ,you can sleep in a dorm for around $25 or have your own room with small ensuite bathroom for around $130.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Virender S, Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review. Happy to hear that the 24 hour reception was of use to you, and you found it good value for money. Is there anything in particular we could have done or could change to improve your experience for next time? We’d love to hear from you, so please don’t hesitate to contact us. Hopefully you’ll... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Base Auckland Central Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Auckland Central Backpackers

Address: 229 Queen St | Cnr Queen St. & Darby, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Base Auckland Central Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Base Auckland Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Auckland Central Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Base Auckland Central Backpackers New Zealand

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay