We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rydges Auckland

4.5 of 5 59 Federal Street, Cnr Kingston Street | Central City, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rydges Auckland
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    469
    158
    61
    17
See reviews for
128
444
93
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1014)
  • Mar-May only
    (253)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (219)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (244)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (298)
All months
There are newer reviews for Rydges Auckland
See the most recent reviews
mossvale
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

good drive from the airport valet parking was friendly as was the check inn-check out did book a deluxe king harbour view but couldn't open the door as it was stuck and there was no more available disappointed so upgraded to a one bedroom suite room 911 which was lovely& roomy very modern bathroom was nice the only bad thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Rydges Auckland, I do hope we were able to give you the best start to your holiday and you have had a great trip so far. I do apologise for the door lock beimg broken to your original room but i am pleased that you were impressed with... More 

Naracoorte, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here overnight with a friend and was most impressed. I arrived early but was allowed to check in early which was very helpful. The reception were very helpful in providing information for things to do. The room was spacious and the bed was delightfully comfortable. Overall a very good stay and I will return

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review

Hello, I am so pleased you had a great stay with us at Rydges Auckland and we were able to check you in early so you and your friend could enjoy your stay in town straight away. I do hope we can welcome you both back to the hotel very soon. With best regards, Quenton Donald More 

Auckland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Were lucky enough to pick up a "grab one" voucher and utilise it over Auckland Anniversary Weekend. I had stayed at Rydges many times for work purposes so was looking forward to being there as a "visitor". I was surprised therefore when we arrived at our allocated time of 2pm (which I had even checked the day before) and was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dartford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We only spent one night here, it was our first day in New Zealand after a long flight from LA. It is just a short walk down to the waterfront which was nice. In conclusion very pleased with our hotel. The room was very spacious with a fantastic view of the harbor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your review on Rydges Auckland, I am so pleased you found the hotel to be up to your standard and you enjoyed your room and fantastic view. I hope we helped in starting your New Zealand adventure on a great note. With best wishes, Quenton Donald More 

Mexico
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stayed here recently for work. The hotel is perfectly adequate and well located, but the staff - on the night shift at least - were terrible! There seemed to be no more than three non English speaking staff running the hotel after about 10pm. Don't expect your calls to reception answered and note that there is NO room service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Rydges Auckland, it is very much appreciated and be assured taken very seriously. I am quite concerned about you not being able to receive room service at night during your stay as we do have a late night room service menu which mainly caters to the late... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Rooms are ample and location is great however the house keeping and desk staff turned out to be quite average/ did bare minimum. We stayed for 3 x nights and house keeping standard/ general room cleanliness was quite poor. I also lost an item on a previous stay and made inquiries re. same with check in staff who only made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you so much for your honest review on Rydges Auckland, your review has been very beneficial for the hotel as you have detailed a short-coming that we can work on and improve dramatically to ensure this cannot be negatively reviewed on again in the future. You are right about the fantastic porters, they certainly bring great personality... More 

Sydney
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We arrived at midnight into AKL and arrived in the rain to the hotel near 1am, where we were met by great staff who confirmed the details of our package and quickly checked us in and helped us get our (many!) bags to our rooms. We had an upgrade voucher but no joy in using it due to the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review

Hi, Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review on Rydges Auckland, it is with these reviews that we can learn from any short comings and better anything we are doing well. Secondly I would like to apologise for the treatment you received on checkout, this is not the standard Rydges Auckland is... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Got a GrabOne voucher for Rydges Auckland so stayed there for a Saturday night in January. Hotel is right in city centre so location was perfect, the room seemed clean and staff were really nice. However, I woke up on the Sunday morning covered in red bumps over my legs, arms and belly. I thought it was an allergic reaction... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kawau Island
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Spent two nights at Rydges as part of a city break, good location in central Auckland, nice room, beds were very comfortable, valet service a real bonus, staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Superb breakfast in dining room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your great review on Rydges Auckland, I hope you had a fantastic time in Auckland during your city break and found many fun and relaxing activities to do. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon for another well deserved break. Best regards, Quenton Donald More 

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I choose this hotel for its very good value paying 2 for 3 deal and for its location, which is very convenient for me to get to places. Arrived on a late flight and check in was smooth with a friendly reception, was given a room with a disabled toilet and the room was changed immediately upon request. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your very in-depth review on Rydges Auckland, I do hope you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to utilise our great location by getting out and about in the city. Rydges Auckland does have a large array of amenities for our guests and I am glad you found them to be satisfactory to your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Address: 59 Federal Street, Cnr Kingston Street | Central City, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#19 Luxury Hotel in Auckland

200 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (196)
Viewed
Room/suite (62)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay