We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sebel Quay West Auckland

#16 of 63 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Special Offer
UP TO 40% OFF
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    154
    51
    14
    6
See reviews for
123
159
14
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (408)
  • Mar-May only
    (130)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (77)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (126)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Sebel Quay West Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

When we arrived, we liked to drink and all the glass and cup in the cupboard was so stinky, like never wash or wash without soap. I reported to the front desk, then the house keeping tried to chuck it in the dishwasher. Dishwasher was broken, the kitchen equipment never dry as should be. The room is very outdated. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KeshOM1, Operations Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review

Dear loveinpeace Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your stay at The Sebel Quay West. We are disappointed to see that you did not have a great experience and we would like to apologies for this. We were taken aback by your feedback on cups and glasses being dirty as we always receive positive feedback on cleanliness. This has... More 

sydney australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We had a very pleasant 2 nights here. We had hoped for a view of the harbour but the hotel was very busy. We were very comfortable and the staff are very attentive. The fully self contained apartments are very well appointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KeshOM1, Operations Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review

Dear qaatalia We thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for recognising the staff for their service. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in near future. Sincerely Kesh Operations Manager More 

Ballina, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Great place to stay, nicely furbished rooms, very clean. Self contained apartments with everything you need for your stay. Located a short walk from Harbour precinct, restaurants, bars, cafes, shopping. Only criticism is no on site restaurant/bar/cafe.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review

Dear jenkoandjo Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay. In regards to our dining facilities, we have found most of the guests tend to cook in their rooms and there are lots of great restaurants within walking distance as well Thank you and we hope to welcome you again... More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here on two consecutive weekends due to our daughters' wedding. Our first weekend we stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the 18th floor. It was very tidy and spacious with great views of the viaduct and over to Ponsonby. It was quiet even though it is positioned on busy Albert St. And the location is awesome! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review

Dear togs73 Thank you for your positive feedback. It is great to learn that your family have thorougly enjoyed your stay on 2 seperate ocasions, especially on your daughter's wedding day. Once again, thank you again for your great review and please pass on our Big Congratulations to your daughter and a wonderful life ahead. Kind Regards Shawn Wei Senior... More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

Stayed 3 nights in a 2 bedroom corner unit. Location and views were awesome and deserve 5 stars...we even had a big balcony looking out toward the harbour. However while the room was large, everything was very outdated from the late 70s or early 80s. Needs renovation really bad. Also we almost missed our flight because the room safe malfunctioned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Jeff K Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. It is great to know that you have enjoyed the view and location The Sebel Quay West building was actually built in 1997. We are currently upgrading the soft furnishings and will continue to upgrade more I do sincerely apologize the inconvenience caused due to the safe problems. Once again,... More 

Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

Close to the harbour and can see sunrise every morning. Parking is bloody expensive (30 NZD per day compared to 16 at the next door. The room is ok though the matress is too soft. If you do not care about what I have said, it is really not a bad choice. One more positive point is the laundry room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review

Dear PP K Thank you for your review on trip advisor I am sorry to hear that you have found our parking price expensive. We are offering a very competitive price compared to other hotels which offer the same service in Auckland city I am glad to know you made full use of our laundry facilities in the room Thank... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Excellent location and views Staff very helpful, Simone very friendly and apologetic The bad stuff, which has been mentioned before! First room very battered and tired Smelt musty and holes in curtains No alternative room available until next day which then took half a day out of schedule This also had ripped curtains which they came and took down Gave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Tony L Thank you for review and raising your concern and let me once again apologize for the inconvenience caused due to issues mentioned The team acted quickly on both occasions due to the ripped curtains and I am sorry that this had occured twice. We offered the discounted parking for 3 nights upon check out as a warm... More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Situated a short stroll from the marina and ferries the Quay West suites have the perfect location in Auckland. I was surprised at how large the apartment was with a good sized main room with dining and lounge areas, plus two big bedrooms with large wardrobes. Our apartment looked out over the marina at night and had a brilliant view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Adam H Thank for your review and it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback such as yours Our room price is very much competitive in the apartment type of accormmodation here in Auckland city Thank you and hope to see you again in the near future Kind Regards Shawn Wei Senior Assistant Manager More 

Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

My partner had not been to Auckland before and we had only the night of our arrival and the following morning to look around. The QW was ideally placed, had convenient parking, the staff were most helpful and the room excellent. We will be back.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review

Dear tevitak2015 Thank you for your positive feedback and I will pass this onto the team as well Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon. Kind Regards Shawn Wei Senior Assistant Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

185 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (174)
Viewed
Room/suite (65)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from room (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay