We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 76 Auckland hotels

Quay West Suites Auckland

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Quay West Suites Auckland to your Saves list
Quay West Suites Auckland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
82%
Ranked #18 of 76 hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
PETER T Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (338)
  • Photos (183)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (105)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    120
    47
    9
    6
See reviews for
100
135
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Location on Albert Street and Customs Quay in the CBD is essential if you wish to WALK around Auckland. It is 5 minutes from the Ferry Terminal, 10 minutes from the Viaduct Basin (of Americas Cup fame), 5 minutes from Britomart Train Station and Bus Terminals. The AIRPORT bus runs from the Ferry Building. This is a part Residential-part... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ShawnWAM, Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Peter T Thank you for the knowledgeable information you provided on the tripadvisor and I am sure it will give lots of our guests some valuable insights of our property :) In regards to the food service, we have found that lots of our guests tend to cook in their own room and as you mentioned, there are also... More

China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a disaster from start to finish... arrived at the hotel late at night, no help with luggage or anything to get to the room. Got to the room it was not very nice, bathroom very small and general maintenance of room was not good, as the attached pics show. We contacted our booking agent the next day to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ShawnWAM, Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Leigh3051 Thank your for sharing your concern and I am sorry to hear that your expectations were not met during your stay and please accept my sincerest apology We have carefully read your comments from the beginning to the end and let me assure you that all the problems mentioned in the comments have been fixed. The air con... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night. Apartment was spacious and comfortable. Great view from balcony (22nd floor) but... Bar/ restaurant not open and no mini bar Could do with double glazing as Saturday Night street noise is quite loud. I think the hotel must be due for a refit as parts are very tired. However I would still stay here again as the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ShawnWAM, Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Carl S Thank you for your feedback and I am glad to know that you enjoyed the harbour view on our high floor room I will let our Maintanence know about your street noise concern and see what they can do Quay West Suites is in a prime location with lots great restaurants and bars around us, also our... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Brilliant place to stay, gigantic rooms. We were on the 5th floor, with the garden and pool on the same floor. Garden needs to fix the rotunda, but otherwise was a great area. The indoor pool was excellent, loved the greek style to it. Only disappointment was the exorbitant $28 parking per night - bit steep yeah? Otherwise, perfect place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ShawnWAM, Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Dear BMColeman Thank you for sharing your experience and it is great to receive such wonderful comments In regards to the Rotunda in our garden, it was damaged due to the extreme weather and it is being fixed by our contractor at the moment For the parking fees, we offer the most competitive rate of $26 per night. Once again,... More

Stratford upon Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a one bed apartment with sofa bed, perfect for kids but maybe not for adults , though the bed in the main room was lovely. The apartment had everything you need and you could easily cook a meal there. The private balcony was lovely overlooking the harbour. The pool, Jacuzzi and sauna were a welcome addition after some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ShawnWAM, Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Ali-Henrik It is great to know that you stayed in one of amazing one bedroom apartments and had such a lovely stay. Thank you again and we will welcome you back in the near future Kind Regards Shawn Wei Assistant Manager More

Adelaide
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment on the 16th floor which had lovely views of Auckland CBD and of the harbour. They were nice spacious suites with 1 queen size bed and 2 single beds. The kitchen was a good size with basic needs included. The laundry appliances were all good quality. We did have some problems with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ShawnWAM, Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Dear cjjadelaide Thanks for your comments and it is great to receive such a great comment The in room internet has become free for all our Le Club members and it has also doubled its speed. And the membership is free to join and you will receive lots of great benefits along the way Thank you again Kind Regards Shawn... More

Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
103 hotel reviews
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed a few nights on business on the 18th floor and had a good experience. Nice girl at check in was very accommodating as room wasn't available but helped me to find another. 18th floor apartment was very quiet and had great views (as all apartments do) over the harbour. Comfy bed, nice bathroom and kitchenette - sofa bed if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShawnWAM, Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Dear StuckinBangers It is great to receive positive feedback and also we offer very competitive price in this particular market Thank you and hope to see you again Kind Regards Shawn Wei Assistant Manager More

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I've stayed here quite a few times and its been good. The rooms are apartment style and are large! with balconies. Two bedroom apartments are spacious and some have wrap around balconies with a nice view of the harbour. Location is great, with a short walk to Queen Street and the Viaduct. Like most people I think that the rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShawnWAM, Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Dear kattymae26 Thanks for your feedback It is great to know you have enjoyed the prime location of the hotel and its room size and the view Room upgrade is certainly in our agenda in the near future Thank you again for the positive comments Kind Regards Shawn Wei Assistant Manager More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We had a 2 night stay in a 2 bedroom apartment and can't fault this place. The service straight from check in was brilliant. We were lucky enough to have an apartment on the 23rd floor and the views were amazing! The apartment was spacious and well equipped. Everything in the CBD is in walking distance, including the Britomart, harbour/viaduct... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShawnWAM, Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Dear lucylincoln86 It is fantastic to know that you have really enjoyed your stay and it was wonderful It is always great to receive positive feedback and I will share this with the team Thank you again Kind Regards Shawn Wei Assistant Manager More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Sadly 2 bedroom apartments are hard to find in central Auckland. The staff were very helpful, however it is just old and tired and really needs money spent on it, Wifi kept dropping out and if possible I wont stay there again. The furniture is old fashioned and I am surprised it is an accor member hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShawnWAM, Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Maddie M Thanks for your feedback First of all, it is great to know that our staff was being helpful Secondly, we are talking to our partners in regards to the room upgrade. Lastly, the hotel has already rolled out the faster wifi in our guests rooms since early July and it is free to all our Le Club... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Quay West Suites Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Quay West Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Auckland

Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quay West Suites Auckland 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Quay West Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
Quay West Suites Auckland New Zealand

183 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (171)
Viewed
View from room (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (57)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland #16 Romantic Hotel in Auckland #17 Luxury Hotel in Auckland #21 Business Hotel in Auckland
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
57

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer