We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 76 Auckland hotels

Scenic Hotel Auckland

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Queen Street, Auckland 1141, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Scenic Hotel Auckland to your Saves list
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
76%
Ranked #22 of 76 hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
YorkStWanderers Wellington, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (379)
  • Photos (84)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (2)
  • Room tips (95)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    188
    71
    19
    8
See reviews for
42
176
39
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

has event centers within walking distance..AUT just around the corner..talk about convenient..the staff have 1 motto "no problem " and friendly which helps..the room was okay but needs modernizing..lighting needs work there are lamps but your couldn't separate main lights so both the kitchen and living room was on which was very bright..no light under the kitchen cupboards didn't help... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were lucky to get a room on short notice due to the All Blacks game that night. Our room was very small and didn't offer a view of much but the wall of the next building and the shower head was very unpleasant as it hosed out inteaed of sprayed. Overall it was quite cosy and very clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I apologise for the shower they are generally very good. The room you stayed in is called a Lightwell type, they do not have a city view but are very popular because they are $20 per night less than standard rooms. They are called Lightwell rooms on our online booking engine. Kind regards Ken More

Rotorua
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stay at this hotel quite often. Really convenient on Queen Street and excellent value for money. Rooms are a good size and good condition. Check in & out efficient and friendly. There is a good variety for breakfast. Will certainly stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your generous comments and taking the trouble to post a review. Kind regards Ken More

Papamoa, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great room for price and very friendly reception team that exceeded my expectation. I will certainly look to stay at the hotel again. I was traveling alone this trip and only wanted a small room. Will look at it again next time wanting to be in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing, our Lightwell rooms are really good value and very comfortable if you do not require a view. Thank you for choosing our hotel. Kind regards Ken More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had to move room as air conditioning not working at all and the next room we were allocated was just as bad. I woke in the middle of the night with the worst headache (felt it was too late to request yet another room change!) We felt hot and uncomfortable the next morning and still with a headache as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to comment. I'm unsure why you did not switch off the air con if it was too hot but anyway I apologise that you had a problem with it. We have an expensive comprehensive maintenance contract so it's disappointing for us to have you experience this issue. Kind regards Ken More

Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my second stay at this hotel, I have to say the service by the staff and Scenic have been awesome, I actually checked in earlier than expected and they were nice enough to let me check in to my hotel room in the morning even though check in is usually 2pm, not to mention getting upgraded! The rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Your comments are very much appreciated, thank you. kind regards Ken More

auckland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed last saturday night for just the one night, Hotel was great, nice friendly helpful staff, valet parking - great package price (shoppers package) inc breakfast and valet parking overnight. Room was nice and spacious, a few things looked a little tired - some furniture and damaged basin in bathroom but everything worked well, and im only being picky... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments please accept my apology that you were disturbed by noise, this should not happen and I have reported it to the local authority, there are strict rules about noise disturbances after 10pm. Kind regards Ken More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our stay at scenic Auckland was only for one night but in that single night we experienced the friendliest customer service. Great value with the shoppers delight special and a delicious buffet breakfast in the morning! The only downside was that we had planned a night out at the viaduct and had to make the lengthy walk down queestreet. But... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you, so pleased you enjoy your stay. As well as the airport bus stopping right outside our door there is a very frequent bus service to the waterfront. Kind regards Ken More

New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

At downtown location with easy accessing to airport bus at front entrance, good spaceous room and clean very helpful team service if you asked for. A great valued of quality room for business or family stayed in city.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review. kind regards Ken More

Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely old art deco hotel with classic architecture and mod cons. The people are lovely, providing fantastic service. The room was comfortable with everything you would need. I had such a great deal with a complimentary bottle of wine, $80 food voucher and free valet parking... not sure how they make a profit! Would stay again :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment, really pleased you enjoyed our package. Kind regards Ken More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Scenic Hotel Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland 1141, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
1:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Auckland with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#7 Best Value Hotel in Auckland #12 Business Hotel in Auckland #21 Luxury Hotel in Auckland #22 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Number of rooms
100

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Scenic Hotel Auckland and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Scenic Hotel Auckland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer