We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Surrey Hotel

465 Great North Road | Grey Lynn, Auckland 1021, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn West End)
Hotel amenities
The Surrey Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Auckland
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Jane255115 Wellington, New Zealand
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    21
    38
    39
    12
    7
See reviews for
46
30
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (117)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were booked across the road in the motel (which has had poor reviews) but were upgraded to a hotel room for the same price - a nice gesture. The room was clean and tidy, as was the bathroom. Disappointed to find no electric blankets on the beds, and the TV reception dire (and yes, we did report this at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed recently in a "deluxe" room. This room was far from deluxe, in fact we were intending to stay longer if we liked the accommodation but we checked out next day and got same rate at a luxurious hotel in the city centre. We would have checked out same night but it was late and we had come off a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwitvlr55, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I would be very interested to know what room you stayed in or even when you stayed. Your review is annonymous, no idea of when you stayed, how you booked or anything. Or in fact if you really did stay? And if you did stay why did you choose a hotel that is not central city,... More 

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

Stayed here last night with a large dog in tow. Emailed beforehand to ensure they were pet friendly as Google had led me to believe. The reply email was very helpful and they have a Guest & Pet booking package for a VERY reasonable price for what I consider to be central Auckland. Room was across the road, lovely and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kiwitvlr55, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Appreciate your review and glad the accommodation suited you. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks Denise More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Just had a great stay at The Surrey. This has got to be one of the best value hotels in Central Auckland. The location is perfect for an easy jump into the city, a relaxed walk up to the Ponsonby food and shopping mecca or an event at Eden Park. Both check in and check out where a breeze and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwitvlr55, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Guys, Thanks very much for your review! It was really good to see you had a nice time with us here at the Surrey. See you again soon. Denise More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Had to stay there as it was close to Family and for a game at Eden park .Was only hotel/Motel I could find that was easy walking distance to EP. Took us about 15 minutes walk to get there .Other good points was a supermarket just down the road . We stayed across the road .Across the road means the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, what a shame you couldn't have taken a couple of minutes to talk to me about it instead of sending through a review that is annonymous. Our website says quite clearly that the motel units (cheapest option) are located accross the road from the main hotel. If you have booked through a 3rd party website who... More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Being conveniently located to Zoo and MOTAT and not far from city centre was the main motivation for our stay there. We stayed in the part that is across the road from the main hotel and reception. This side at least looks tired and in need of some TLC. The stairs leading to the upper level are wobbly and falling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, what a shame you couldn't have taken a couple of minutes to talk to me about it instead of sending through a review that is annonymous. Our website says quite clearly that the motel units (cheapest option) are located accross the road from the main hotel. If you have booked through a 3rd party website who... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

No 1 - I was unaware (never saw mention anywhere) that this place was split in 2 by a road. A VERY busy road with a crossing far enough away that you tend to want to risk the hop over rather that go up the hill to it. All the good stuff was on the opposite side to us -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Julie Thanks for your review, apologies for taking so long to reply! So nice to have such lovely customers. We look forward to seeing you back here soon. Regards Denise More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We had another faultless stay at the Surrey Hotel. The kids insist on staying here while in Auckland, and although we could have stayed somewhere flashier, I doubt we would have had this value for money and comfort. The indoor pool is a hit with the kids, as was the bar/restaurant all conveniently located a stones throw from our room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, lots of families love our pool and the Surrey, almost as much as we love having nice people to stay!! Keep listening to the kids! Look forward to seeing you back again soon. Regards Denise. More 

Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

This place is convenient to Eden Park, Motat, and the Auckland Zoo. We stayed here as it isnt too far drive from ASB Showgrounds where we were attending an event. Well presented room with comfy beds and pillows, under bench fridge has seen better days but. Has an awesome indoor pool at a comfortable tepid temperature, however we were asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am sorry about the mis information regarding the pool times but because it is inside and we have lots of families staying the feedback was 10pm was too late. Look forward to seeing you again. Thanks Denise More 

Wellington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Stayed in a Studio room at The Surrey Hotel for two nights and its location is perfect; close to Auckland city but located in Grey Lynn so within a good walking distance of Ponsonby Rd and K Rd. Facilities are good; comfy beds and good pressure shower. Small kitchen ideal for non-cooking food prep. We didn't try the dinning room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay, next time have a dip in the pool, its heated to 29 degrees year round! Cheers Denise More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
2.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#20 of 63 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#27 of 63 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#5 of 63 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#35 of 63 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
1.6 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
2.4 mi away
Quest Parnell
Quest Parnell
#15 of 63 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay