We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 76 Auckland hotels

The Surrey Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   465 Great North Road | Grey Lynn, Auckland 1021, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn West End)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Surrey Hotel to your Saves list
The Surrey Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
50%
Ranked #35 of 76 Hotels in Auckland
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
CCMani Avarua, Cook Islands
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    27
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
34
20
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Avarua, Cook Islands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Quite old and traditonal looking stayed here for 3 nights for work had a 2 day conference here. Rooms are ok but for the amount you pay its not bad at all. If you looking for something affordable this is a great place to stay. There is a restaurant in house which make pretty decent meals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We enjoyed our recent stay at The Surrey. The location was great for us as we were heading to the football at Eden Park. We didn't realise how close it was until we walked to the Park, just 15mins away. It was also easy to explore downtown Auckland with buses stopping right outside every 5 mins or so, cheaper than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, glad to hear you enjoyed staying at The Surrey. We look forward to welcoming you back here again soon. More

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

our room was nice the beds were very hard and the noise from the road was terrible on the other hand the room was very clean and tidy the staff were very friendly the Cat was so cute lying on the from desk waiting to greet people the swimming pool was just strange being inside in the middle of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, I do understand that some people prefer the motels over the road where as some like to be in the main hotel. The hotel is certainly further away from the Main Road. GM - the cat, is now 12 years old and has spent her life here at The Surrey, you will often find her lying... More

Nottingham
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed in the Surrey's two-bedroom unit for three nights recently and found it to be very clean, tidy and well-equipped. The pool was very small but sufficient for the kids to enjoy and I made use of the small but well-equipped gym. What really stood out was the staff - very helpful, friendly and efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we appreciate you making the effort to write this review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Surrey. More

Melbourne
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed with my sister who was in a wheelchair. The room was up a slight ramp and there is a lift to get past the stairs from reception. The bathroom area was fine, with sloping "wetroom" floor so no difficulty in showering. The bathroom looked quite new. The rest of the room was a little tired - it is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we do have a couple of rooms that are accessible. We look forward to welcoming you back again. More

Kerikeri, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I needed to book a one night stay in Auckland so that I could take my dog to the Vet Specialists and also drop my mum off at the airport. I searched for pet friendly hotels and found The Surrey. I'm really glad I did. I knew from the booking that we would be across the road from the main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwitvlr55, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are one of the few hotels in Auckland who are pet friendly and in our experience the people who travel with their pets are extremely respectful and a pleasure to have in the hotel! Bring Bob back any time! Thanks. More

Blenheim, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed in a "family" unit by the pool. It was small, damp, dirty and badly needed to be done up or bulldozed. This room was not family friendly and I felt misled by the pictures. There was no lounge in our unit. The pool was ok and the staff were friendly but the water in the spa looked very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwitvlr55, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. If you look at the pictures once more and read the description you will see there is not a lounge area in these rooms. What a shame you didn't speak to us during your stay, it is very difficult to try and re trace your room etc from an anonymous review. We do take our business... More

Kaitaia, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were somewhat disappointed when we found that our room was across the road from the hotel complex itself. As we wanted a hotel with a restaurant for our evening meal & breakfast, we found that we had to brave the traffic on a busy road. If we knew of this prior to booking, we would have booked elsewhere. As... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwitvlr55, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and I am very sorry to hear the blanket was not clean. Unfortunately we try very hard to keep our cleaning standards at a very high level and on this occasion it would appear that has not been the case. The room you booked says quite clearly on the website it is situated accross the road.... More

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed here the night before we floes home.... We had the worse nights sleep we'd had since leaving the UK. The bed was really uncomfortable & it was really noisy. The hotel is on a main road and traffic just didn't stop regardless of the time of day. Kept us awake most of the night. We booked this hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwitvlr55, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feed back. I was surprised at your review.... the pool is heated to 29 degrees C? and not big enough for 2 children???......After reading that I found it difficult to take the rest of your review seriously! More

Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We needed a reasonable two nighter in Auckland, and this was selected by my wife. The room was clean and tidy, but the walls seemed very thin as we were kept awake by a neigh outing guest snoring, and others somewhere else talking until late. Wifi is available, but only 1 hr (continuous) is free with a requested log in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwitvlr55, Guest Relations Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feed back. Next time you want to stay let us know you are a light sleeper and we will find you a room in the main hotel that is nice and quiet. Wifi varies in all hotels but if you do your homework I think you will find that The Surrey Hotel is one of the cheapest! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Surrey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Surrey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey Hotel

Address: 465 Great North Road | Grey Lynn, Auckland 1021, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn West End)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surrey Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Surrey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Auckland
Auckland Quality Inn
The Surrey Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Auckland with
any amenities