We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 77 Auckland Central hotels

The Surrey Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   465 Great North Road | Grey Lynn, Auckland Central 1021, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn West End)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Surrey Hotel to your Saves list
The Surrey Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
50%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
bobadoodle Kerikeri, New Zealand
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    24
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
30
20
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked 6 nights bcs their site said "modern" "great for longer stays" They don't even provide drawers to put your clothes in and we dared not use the cooking facilities so ended up eating out a lot. Old and scroaty, horrible 30+ yr old decor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I needed to book a one night stay in Auckland so that I could take my dog to the Vet Specialists and also drop my mum off at the airport. I searched for pet friendly hotels and found The Surrey. I'm really glad I did. I knew from the booking that we would be across the road from the main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwitvlr55, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are one of the few hotels in Auckland who are pet friendly and in our experience the people who travel with their pets are extremely respectful and a pleasure to have in the hotel! Bring Bob back any time! Thanks. More

Blenheim, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed in a "family" unit by the pool. It was small, damp, dirty and badly needed to be done up or bulldozed. This room was not family friendly and I felt misled by the pictures. There was no lounge in our unit. The pool was ok and the staff were friendly but the water in the spa looked very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwitvlr55, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. If you look at the pictures once more and read the description you will see there is not a lounge area in these rooms. What a shame you didn't speak to us during your stay, it is very difficult to try and re trace your room etc from an anonymous review. We do take our business... More

Kaitaia, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were somewhat disappointed when we found that our room was across the road from the hotel complex itself. As we wanted a hotel with a restaurant for our evening meal & breakfast, we found that we had to brave the traffic on a busy road. If we knew of this prior to booking, we would have booked elsewhere. As... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwitvlr55, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and I am very sorry to hear the blanket was not clean. Unfortunately we try very hard to keep our cleaning standards at a very high level and on this occasion it would appear that has not been the case. The room you booked says quite clearly on the website it is situated accross the road.... More

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed here the night before we floes home.... We had the worse nights sleep we'd had since leaving the UK. The bed was really uncomfortable & it was really noisy. The hotel is on a main road and traffic just didn't stop regardless of the time of day. Kept us awake most of the night. We booked this hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwitvlr55, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feed back. I was surprised at your review.... the pool is heated to 29 degrees C? and not big enough for 2 children???......After reading that I found it difficult to take the rest of your review seriously! More

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We needed a reasonable two nighter in Auckland, and this was selected by my wife. The room was clean and tidy, but the walls seemed very thin as we were kept awake by a neigh outing guest snoring, and others somewhere else talking until late. Wifi is available, but only 1 hr (continuous) is free with a requested log in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwitvlr55, Guest Relations Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feed back. Next time you want to stay let us know you are a light sleeper and we will find you a room in the main hotel that is nice and quiet. Wifi varies in all hotels but if you do your homework I think you will find that The Surrey Hotel is one of the cheapest! More

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Staff were very friendly and always willing to assist when the need arise. Decor wasn't quite to my liking but location was the key for us. The bed was great which meant sleeping was a breeze, pull out beds in lounge equally comfortable. Room was kept clean during our stay and restocked with fresh towels, tea and coffee each day.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwitvlr55, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. From your description you were in one of our garden units. We hope to get these refurbished this winter so the next time you are here hopefully you will enjoy the new decor! More

Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Very friendly and helpful front staff. Clean and tidy room, very comfy beds with good and quiet air conditioning. Bathroom was little small but neat and clean. Was there on thursday and friday upstairs across the road, have absolutely no complaining about noise level,(and I'm not used to city noise) slept very well. Very fair price at $ NZ 135.00... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwitvlr55, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, always good to know that people have an enjoyable time! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Surrey!! More

Vancouver Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

As mentioned in other reviews, there is a bit of wear and tear in the rooms, but it is so much nicer than modern "plasticized" hotel rooms. Real furniture like a well-loved old home. It was great to have the kitchenette, and to be so convenient to the bus route which got us down-town to the ferries in about 20... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwitvlr55, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed staying here with us at the Surrey Hotel. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

On a two night visit to Auckland for Motat, Zoo, and cricket at Eden Park the Surrey was a fair priced option (booked through Expedia) nicely located in Grey Lynn, giving us easy access to these and other central venues. We obtained a two bedroom family room with simple kitchenette facilities. The beds were fine, bathroom neat and the kitchen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiwitvlr55, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Dubjays, Thanks for your feed back. Next time you come to Auckland and want a family room contact us directly and we will book you a family room over the other side of the road and away from the traffic noise. Check them out on our Web site! More

Been to The Surrey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey Hotel

Also Known As:
Quality Inn Auckland
Auckland Quality Inn
The Surrey Hotel Auckland, New Zealand
Address: 465 Great North Road | Grey Lynn, Auckland Central 1021, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn West End)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surrey Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surrey Hotel comprises of a hotel and motel complex offering a wide range of accommodation options for the budget conscious corporate or leisure traveler. The hotel complex houses The Surrey Pub, indoor pool, spa and gym. The unique English theme with it's charming decor, antiques and memorabilia as well as the informal kiwi style hospitality make for an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your The Surrey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Surrey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.