We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Auckland

#14 of 63 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1030, New Zealand
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Add Photo Write a Review

1,076 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    383
    520
    129
    31
    13
See reviews for
172
362
86
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1076)
  • Mar-May only
    (308)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (216)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (241)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (311)
All months
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A short business of 3 days in Auckland makes sure I won't return to this hotel. I hold Ambassador Gold membership that should entitles you to room upgrade and preferential check in. Neither one was granted to me even if I paid for a club room as well. "Club Room" must have a different meaning here as it was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that our staff provided a good service but I am disappointed to hear that you did not have a good experience with us. I would like to have the opportunity to discuss your experience further with you. If you could contact me on Lindsay.watts@ihg.com, I can address your... More 

Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed in the Crowne Plaza Auckland several times this year. The rooms I stayed were spacious and comfortable. The bed was always comfortable. There are many wall sockets behind the desk. So you can connect all your devices. If you get a room in the higher floors, you can have a nice view of Auckland. There is a flat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay in one of our guest rooms and you were restored each day after a good night sleep in our comfortable beds. We are frequently complimented on our central location and it’s great to read that you were able to make the most... More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a great stay of two nights here. Was good to have a concierge take charge of our baggage and put it in our room whilst we parked the car. We are priority club members so had use of the club lounge, didnt realise about the happy hour type use of the lounge though, our fault. All staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Asia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

As Platinum member, we got upgraded to a Club Floor room on the 27th floor, but it seemed the same size as a regular superior room that we stayed in the first night on the 19th floor.  The difference maybe a few inches longer room size, complimentary Kiwi blue bottled water, and the bathroom had a toothbrush and a disposable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a very comfortable, friendly hotel. It within a few minutes walk of main city streets, the harbour front with lovely restaurants and excellent public transport. We were in the club rooms which offers a comfortable lounge where complimentary breakfasts and drinks are served in the evening. It has a lovely view of the harbour and we have met... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
138 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had a pleasant stay for business with a friendly staff and good rooms. Had a rough time with their wireless for business however-- it's capped at 200MB and then throttled, which isn't much for business work. Walkable to tons of things, including Sky Tower and good bars/restaurants. Robert the GM was super-attentive to the problem though and immediately swooped in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NEW ZEALAND
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had a family weekend at this hotel, we have stayed here numerous times. It is in a great location, very close to all major attractions in central Auckland. Very clean, lovely comfortable bed, however, it is looking very tired and dated. Supermarket style check in and check out, concierge pushed the trolley with our bags into the lift with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed all the great attractions all within close proximity to our hotel. It’s also nice to hear that you were well rested after a staying in our comfortable beds. Please accept our apologies for the service you received during check-in and on your way to your... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed here in 2007 and went back in Sept 2012. The place is good and I will go back again: but the obvious wear and tear since 2007 was quite evident. The place looked a bit tired. Don't get me wrong - the place is actually quite clean and neat - but can do with a make over! However,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you experienced great customer service and would come stay with us again. I enjoyed sharing your feedback with the kitchen team who have done an outstanding job on the menu. We do take all feedback seriously and will discuss your comments internally to see what areas we... More 

Cincinnati
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Hotel is across the street from the Casino and One block from queen street and a 10 minute walk to the ferry and the viaduct entertainment area. The Rooms are very nice and most have very good views. It is always flawlessly clean. I have spent over 35 nights here over the past 10 years and it is always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I hosted a business conference at this hotel. The meeting facilities are as expected and the delegate package food was fine (it is difficult to cater for groups with fresh/exciting cuisine). The accomodation is clean and tidy. The bathrooms are a bit dated. The internet is pricey, and we were unable to negotiate this down even though we booked a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was happy to read that you had a productive and successful conference and our guest rooms were clean and tidy. We take all feedback seriously and will discuss your points further in-house to see where we can make on-going improvements. I would love to have the opportunity to personally welcome... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

373 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (267)
Viewed
View from room (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (72)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (106)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (12)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 63 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,590 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 63 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 2,493 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 63 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 stars 1,225 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#7 of 63 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay