We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quest on Hobson

127 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Quest on Hobson
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, NSW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hot. The hotel lobby and access corridors on the upper levels were roasting 24/7 as if the heat was stuck on. The heat permeates into the rooms... the air conditioner in my room was set to 16C but the room never got below about 25... they were kind enough to move me to a new room but even the new... More 

Helpful?
Thank GfromNewtown
New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a two night stay in a studio apartment. This place is unbearably hot, when we complained to reception, they just said it was the weather, but it wasn't - there was actual hot air coming out of the air con vents in all of the corridors (except in the reception area ...hmmm!). So much so, that on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mauriceb17
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

To save about $40 I and a colleague were put at the Quest. It was just an overnighter on business. The entry was sleazy, my room very tired, poorly appointed and tattered. The view was a wall. Wifi was free but upon paying the bill my colleague's room was at commercial rate and mine at leisure rate. About $15/night. That... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

for the price - it is decent acommodation. Good sized rooms /clean /great stuff etc But the whole building gets super hot. And air conditioning in the room does not work properly at all. The air coming out of it was not cold. I have made a complaint and stuff changed my room/ gave me a fan but it really... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Yoonji P
Tuart Hill
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Firstly, we requested a twin room and were given a double. We were told this would be sorted out 'first thing tomorrow morning' but when we returned to our room in the afternoon, it still hadn't been serviced. We were given free wifi to make up for not getting a twin room the first night. It would have cost $15... More 

Helpful?
Thank may876
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at Quest on Hobson for 25 days, last December 2015. I was there on a Business trip and was working for Auckland council. The location of Quest on Hobson made it very convenient for me. The blissful and comfortable stay helped me to relax after a stressful day. The man who made my stay remarkable and memorable is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lokeshrajak
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Rough neighbourhood with street people everywhere, terrible parking, filthy dirty, couch and carpet disgusting, blocked sink, tv no go and view into neighbourhood flats. Walked out pics on website completely out of date!

Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya S
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am, sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience on check-in, I also apologise that we could not be up to the standard you imagined and hence decided not to stay. The things you have listed some are within our control and some not, Rough neighbourhood, I dont believe anywhere in Auckland CBD is... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

Very tired inside the hotel needs a refresh. It's unfortunate location with the city homeless mission across the road means there are always many homeless hanging around the area which may raise some safety issues for female travellers. Rooms are comfortable with kitchenette and washing machine which is handy.some street parking is available but hotel parking is $30 per day.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you found the interiors were tired, based on few feedbacks regarding the floor you were on, we are working on refreshing the interiors of the lobby to give it a fresh new look Other than that we are delighted to hear that... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

Very unhappy with service here. We rang weeks prior and a woman named Jacqui told us we could park at their carpark - 24 hours for $30. So we delayed checking in until 5.30pm, as we weren't leaving Auckland until 5pm the next day. On arrival we were told by the manager we could only park overnight, until 10am. Totally... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 255115Travelbug
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review

Good afternoon 255115Travelbug I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with the exception of the car-park charge. I have investigated this with Jacqui, who has been working here for 4-years and advised you clearly that the car-park could be accessed any time 24-hrs a day and 365 days a year and not once in once out. I... More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

Location was good - we were able to walk to Quest on Hobson, with luggage, from Princes Wharf where we disembarked from our cruise ship. SkyCity complex is just a stone's throw away, the shops of Queen St are just down the slope along Wellesley St and the SkyBus airport shuttle pick-up bus stop is just a short walk along... More 

Helpful?
Thank LtPJK
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and look forward to accommodating you again in the near future. Warm Regards Harsh Khanna Director More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 stars 1,232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 stars 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay