We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 73 Auckland accommodations

Silver Fern Backpackers

234 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Silver Fern Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Fern Backpackers to your Saves list
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Jennywinters
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    18
    9
    13
See reviews for
2
8
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (65)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I never write reviews but this place was so shockingly bad that I feel the need to warn others. I have so many complaints about this place I don't know where to begin. If you think I’m making it up, just read the other reviews on this site that aren’t written by the staff themselves trying to cover it up.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Though this hostel is situated in city center, that is really the only good thing I can say about it (and really, the location isn't that great). Reception are unhelpful at best, make no effort to make you feel welcome, and give you the bare minimum in information. The place lacks a friendly environment/atmosphere like most other hostels I've been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here over the weekend, the bedrooms were spacious and clean. Even though the hostel was busy the receptionists were very helpful and gave good tips for things to do in Auckland. The lounges were great as we were able to drink our own beers, unlike Nomads and Base which charge you inflated prices at their bars. The BBQ... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014 via mobile

Between me and my partner we have stayed in a lot of different hostels and I can by far say this was the worst for service and cleanliness. The staff were all rude and useless especially the owner/manager. The rooms all smelt unbelievably awful and the bathrooms were covered in mould. The internet never works you would be lucky to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StaffSilverfern, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Fern Backpackers, responded to this review

Our bathrooms are very clean, some guests may be smelly, if you choose to be in a dorm you have to accept that, same if people snore. Wifi can get over loaded if everyone is on it. We are changing to Fibre Optics and we will be the first hostel in Auckland with it. More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

They are thieves, charged us for extra nights even though we only stayed for one, and left first thing in the morning. They told us where to leave the key ($50 deposit) if we left before reception was open, we did all of that with our credit card details included for the key refund, they must not have checked the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StaffSilverfern, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Fern Backpackers, responded to this review

You lied in your review, you took the key with you and never informed anyone you were leaving, left your sheets on the bed and other rubbish which made the beds look occupied. You then came back to the hostel 3 days later and left the room key. You were seen on CCTV. Next time be honest, and phone the... More

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

I've stayed at several other backpackers around NZ and this definitely wasn't the best. Location wise it is an uphill walk from the Nakedbus bus stop and a bit of a walk from Queens Street (which seems to be the main area with the shops/eating places). It seems to be located in a pretty quiet area of the city centre,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StaffSilverfern, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Fern Backpackers, responded to this review

We are only a 4 minute walk from Intercity which most backpackers use, naked bus is at the bottom of town which is further away. Most guests are happy with our security arrangements, we have the best cctv , all bedroom doors lock automatically, we keep guests and our own valuables behind the counter, and it is best to be... More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

We are two backpackers who travel around the whole country and for this reason we have been in many different accommodations. This hostel is most probably the worst we were staying at! While entering the floor and rooms we noticed a pentrating disgusting smell of something rotted, maybe the moldy carpet. This annoying smell haunted us for the whole staying.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
StaffSilverfern, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Fern Backpackers, responded to this review

No one else has complained about any smells, you did choose the budget twin which states no opening window. But you were very sick when you arrived, and the other guests found you both to be very strange. If you want peace and quiet you shouldn't be staying in a city centre. We have good sound proof walls but this... More

Hong Kong, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Stayed in a 12-bed dorm for a night. Limited free wifi is provided, quite noisy at night as it is just on the main car road, basic shared bathroom and toilet, 10 minutes walk to the city centre, but is hard walk if with heavy luggage as the roads are sloppy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StaffSilverfern, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Fern Backpackers, responded to this review

You only paid $18 , can't expect too much for that since you stayed in a 12 bed dorm and got free Wi-Fi. The majority of guests are very satisfied for what they get. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

This is a really nice hostel with a good sense of style. The hostel was more like a luxury hotel with comfortable lounges and large clean bathrooms. The manager was helpful and gave us good information which helped us buy a car at the weekend market. The bedrooms was spacious and had a flat screen TV , opening windows which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StaffSilverfern, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Fern Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Our staff try very hard to make everyone's experience here a success. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hostel is amazing with great staff and guests. The hostel is situated close to the CBD but you don't get the noise like you do at the other city hostels like on Fort St, or Derby St. The hostel has a modern look with good furnishings and fantastic kitchen complete with a 60's Diner. Plenty of things to occupy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StaffSilverfern, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Fern Backpackers, responded to this review

Super Thanks for your remarks. We are Auckland I-Sites most recommended hostel. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Silver Fern Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Backpackers

Address: 234 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Silver Fern Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay