We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 74 Auckland accommodations

Silver Fern Backpackers

234 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Silver Fern Backpackers
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Silver Fern Backpackers to your Saves list
39%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
dezarray Singapore, Singapore
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    16
    9
    12
See reviews for
2
8
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (61)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very dishonest English manager Place is dirty Internet was rubbish Please don't stay here or you will regret your beginning of your holiday English manager over charges people and very rude One of those people and place you should stay away from BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Between me and my partner we have stayed in a lot of different hostels and I can by far say this was the worst for service and cleanliness. The staff were all rude and useless especially the owner/manager. The rooms all smelt unbelievably awful and the bathrooms were covered in mould. The internet never works you would be lucky to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StaffSilverfern, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Fern Backpackers, responded to this review

Our bathrooms are very clean, some guests may be smelly, if you choose to be in a dorm you have to accept that, same if people snore. Wifi can get over loaded if everyone is on it. We are changing to Fibre Optics and we will be the first hostel in Auckland with it. More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

They are thieves, charged us for extra nights even though we only stayed for one, and left first thing in the morning. They told us where to leave the key ($50 deposit) if we left before reception was open, we did all of that with our credit card details included for the key refund, they must not have checked the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StaffSilverfern, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Fern Backpackers, responded to this review

You lied in your review, you took the key with you and never informed anyone you were leaving, left your sheets on the bed and other rubbish which made the beds look occupied. You then came back to the hostel 3 days later and left the room key. You were seen on CCTV. Next time be honest, and phone the... More

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed at several other backpackers around NZ and this definitely wasn't the best. Location wise it is an uphill walk from the Nakedbus bus stop and a bit of a walk from Queens Street (which seems to be the main area with the shops/eating places). It seems to be located in a pretty quiet area of the city centre,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StaffSilverfern, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Fern Backpackers, responded to this review

We are only a 4 minute walk from Intercity which most backpackers use, naked bus is at the bottom of town which is further away. Most guests are happy with our security arrangements, we have the best cctv , all bedroom doors lock automatically, we keep guests and our own valuables behind the counter, and it is best to be... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are two backpackers who travel around the whole country and for this reason we have been in many different accommodations. This hostel is most probably the worst we were staying at! While entering the floor and rooms we noticed a pentrating disgusting smell of something rotted, maybe the moldy carpet. This annoying smell haunted us for the whole staying.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StaffSilverfern, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Fern Backpackers, responded to this review

No one else has complained about any smells, you did choose the budget twin which states no opening window. But you were very sick when you arrived, and the other guests found you both to be very strange. If you want peace and quiet you shouldn't be staying in a city centre. We have good sound proof walls but this... More

Hong Kong, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed in a 12-bed dorm for a night. Limited free wifi is provided, quite noisy at night as it is just on the main car road, basic shared bathroom and toilet, 10 minutes walk to the city centre, but is hard walk if with heavy luggage as the roads are sloppy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StaffSilverfern, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Fern Backpackers, responded to this review

You only paid $18 , can't expect too much for that since you stayed in a 12 bed dorm and got free Wi-Fi. The majority of guests are very satisfied for what they get. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

This is a really nice hostel with a good sense of style. The hostel was more like a luxury hotel with comfortable lounges and large clean bathrooms. The manager was helpful and gave us good information which helped us buy a car at the weekend market. The bedrooms was spacious and had a flat screen TV , opening windows which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StaffSilverfern, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Fern Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Our staff try very hard to make everyone's experience here a success. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hostel is amazing with great staff and guests. The hostel is situated close to the CBD but you don't get the noise like you do at the other city hostels like on Fort St, or Derby St. The hostel has a modern look with good furnishings and fantastic kitchen complete with a 60's Diner. Plenty of things to occupy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StaffSilverfern, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Fern Backpackers, responded to this review

Super Thanks for your remarks. We are Auckland I-Sites most recommended hostel. More

Auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The hostel is what all good hostels should aim for. The manager and staff were very welcoming and efficient. The bathrooms and common rooms were very well maintained and clean. I had a single room and it was spacious with shelving and 32 inch TV. Everything in the room was clean. The location is near bus stops so an easy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StaffSilverfern, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Fern Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for staying, we enjoy providing a safe and secure hostel in central Auckland with great facilities for guests such as your self. More

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed in the 10 bed dorm so for the cheap price we paid this hostel was great. We had no problems here. Beds were comfortable. Bathrooms clean. Good facilities. The staff were helpful. Not much more you can ask for at $23 per night. Will stay again when in Auckland.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StaffSilverfern, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Fern Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the response, we try to keep prices down and are offer great weekly rates. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Silver Fern Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Backpackers

Address: 234 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Silver Fern Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay