We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chatham Auckland

70 - 76 Pitt Street | (near the corner of Karangahape Rd and Pitt St), Auckland, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Chatham Auckland
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

The Chatham Auckland was conveniently located for me needs, and I am glad that I stayed there. There were some issues with my booking initially, but these were eventually resolved. The staff members were not very friendly, but I didn't have to interact with them much, so that was fine. The rooms themselves were quite modern, larger than I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank BonoAussie
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
399 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Stayed at The Chatham Auckland. The guy on the front counter was the rudest staff person I have ever encountered at a hotel. The rood itself was great. Spacious. Clean. Modern furnishings. A nice view of the city lights in the distance. The location is also great - a short walk to restaurants. Good price.

Helpful?
Thank b121
Auckland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

An absolutely fabulous spacious apartment, seemed to have been newly refitted with everything you could need for a stay, even down to a washing machine! Beautifully clean, very well laid out and furnished. So much more than we expected and a perfect place to stay for a trip into town to visit the theatre or sky city.

Helpful?
Thank AucklandNicolaM
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is my go-to address for business trips in Auckland. I stayed there 3 times (10 weeks in total) For a lone traveler, this is actually much nicer than a hotel, as there's way more space and the ability to cook meals. I enjoyed the balconies with beautiful views Super central location with plenty of options nearby for food and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BatBerlin
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed here at the end of February prior to a cruise, and really liked the full facilities of the apartment/hotel in the room. Huge apartment room with two bedrooms, kitchen with, fridge, stove, etc... . I would definitely stay here again. The views vary dependant on your room location. I had a room on the 1st floor, so looked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JoeMCanada
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Okay, seriously, the family rooms are awesome. Full size fridge, oven, stove, dishwasher, full laundry (washer and dryer) in your room, multiple bedrooms and if you book on Last Minute it is cheaper than tenting at a holiday park or staying in a hostel (for a family of 5). The housekeeping staff and front desk staff are excellent. We had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Family_o_Five_13
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We booked a two bedroom apartment and after a month of travelling around Australia and New Zealand it felt like the closet we got to a home away from home. Having separate bedrooms from he living area was fantastic. It was the best value for money we had on the whole trip.

Helpful?
Thank Somia S
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I've stayed here 3 times now and haven't had any major issues. Rooms are clean, spacious, executive rooms have balconies. My only peev was they only have 1 key and with 2 couples sharing a double exec room we had to leave our keys in reception so the other couple were able to get back into our room when they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Will75
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

NOTE: The Chatham Auckland will close its doors on the 07 March 2013 and apartments will be available to lease long term. Make sure if you have booked past this date to ensure you make contact with them to arrange a refund! We stayed at the Chatham Auckland for 10 nights recently (February) and on arrival of the hotel we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Champagne4everyone
Staufer, Manager at The Chatham Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Franz and Team More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked a two bed roomed appartment which was very modern spacious with two toilets/ showers. Sky TV. On the seventh floor great views and limited noise from below. Next door is a Fire Station some noise when leaving for calls. But great central location shops in town centre 13 minutes walk, K Road 1 minute and Ponsenbey Rd 5... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott J
Staufer, Manager at The Chatham Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! I am glad to hear you stay with us was a great one. As you have mentioned we are in a central location in the CBD with the times you have mentioned very close to all popular locations. I look for to seeing you soon on your next stay. Regads Franz and Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland
0.1 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#30 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.7 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay