We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 71 Auckland accommodations

The Chatham Auckland

70 - 76 Pitt Street | (near the corner of Karangahape Rd and Pitt St), Auckland, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Chatham Auckland to your Saves list
The Chatham Auckland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
81%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013
AucklandNicolaM Auckland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (97)
  • Photos (29)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (33)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    44
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
27
25
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

An absolutely fabulous spacious apartment, seemed to have been newly refitted with everything you could need for a stay, even down to a washing machine! Beautifully clean, very well laid out and furnished. So much more than we expected and a perfect place to stay for a trip into town to visit the theatre or sky city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is my go-to address for business trips in Auckland. I stayed there 3 times (10 weeks in total) For a lone traveler, this is actually much nicer than a hotel, as there's way more space and the ability to cook meals. I enjoyed the balconies with beautiful views Super central location with plenty of options nearby for food and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, Ontario
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed here at the end of February prior to a cruise, and really liked the full facilities of the apartment/hotel in the room. Huge apartment room with two bedrooms, kitchen with, fridge, stove, etc... . I would definitely stay here again. The views vary dependant on your room location. I had a room on the 1st floor, so looked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Spacious room with apartment-style amenities, including laundry washer and dryer. My biggest worry was the fire station right outside the balcony and the sound of alarms and engines all night long. But it turned out not to be a problem, as the bedroom seemed to be well-insulated against the noise. Terrific value overall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Okay, seriously, the family rooms are awesome. Full size fridge, oven, stove, dishwasher, full laundry (washer and dryer) in your room, multiple bedrooms and if you book on Last Minute it is cheaper than tenting at a holiday park or staying in a hostel (for a family of 5). The housekeeping staff and front desk staff are excellent. We had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We booked a two bedroom apartment and after a month of travelling around Australia and New Zealand it felt like the closet we got to a home away from home. Having separate bedrooms from he living area was fantastic. It was the best value for money we had on the whole trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I've stayed here 3 times now and haven't had any major issues. Rooms are clean, spacious, executive rooms have balconies. My only peev was they only have 1 key and with 2 couples sharing a double exec room we had to leave our keys in reception so the other couple were able to get back into our room when they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

NOTE: The Chatham Auckland will close its doors on the 07 March 2013 and apartments will be available to lease long term. Make sure if you have booked past this date to ensure you make contact with them to arrange a refund! We stayed at the Chatham Auckland for 10 nights recently (February) and on arrival of the hotel we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Staufer, Manager at The Chatham Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Franz and Team More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked a two bed roomed appartment which was very modern spacious with two toilets/ showers. Sky TV. On the seventh floor great views and limited noise from below. Next door is a Fire Station some noise when leaving for calls. But great central location shops in town centre 13 minutes walk, K Road 1 minute and Ponsenbey Rd 5... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Staufer, Manager at The Chatham Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! I am glad to hear you stay with us was a great one. As you have mentioned we are in a central location in the CBD with the times you have mentioned very close to all popular locations. I look for to seeing you soon on your next stay. Regads Franz and Team More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in October 2012. Was given a top floor room with great views of K Road. Kitchen and bathroom full size and having a bedroom separate to the lounge area was great. Internet connection worked quickly. Hotel is only a block away from the bus stop for the airport bus. While I only stayed one night I could happily... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Staufer, Manager at The Chatham Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We do pride ourselves with our great room "home facilitites" so that you have everything that you would need when you stay with us. We are close to shops, transport and restaurants. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chatham Auckland. Regards Franz and Team More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Chatham Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Chatham Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatham Auckland

Address: 70 - 76 Pitt Street | (near the corner of Karangahape Rd and Pitt St), Auckland, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Chatham Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
The Chatham Auckland New Zealand

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Number of rooms
46

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer