We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
31 Wellesley St, Auckland Central 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Topfloor Backpackers)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Attic Backpackers to your Saves list
Attic Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
93%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Klown1988 Worcestershire
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I came to New Zealand to look for work and after rocking up on Attic's doorstep without prior booking they were fortunately able to accommodate me, for which I consider myself very lucky. The hostel facilities are very clean and tidy and the staff are always friendly and helpful. Rooms are reasonable size with comfortable beds and duvets. The Kitchen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave your awesome feedback! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us :-) We do offer a free 3 hour wifi on checkin which we feel is a good bonus as most hostels don't even offer this and the prices there-after are fairly reasonable. We are always looking on ways... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Cleanliness, location, safety and friendliness of staff/other guests is what's most important to me when picking a hostel and Attic Backpackers aced all categories in my opinion. Stayed here for a couple nights upon arriving to Auckland. Staff was friendly, the place was clean and rooms were spacious. Never had to wait for a shower or bathroom and they even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Katie! Thanks for taking the time to leave your impressive feedback :-) It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us! Please make sure that you come and visit us again should you return to Auckland. Enjoy your travels, Cheers-The Attic Team More

Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loved staying at this hostel. Felt like home. :) Stayed here for about 10 days. Always kept clean and tidy. Helpful staff. Only downside of it was the wifi wasn't working properly and logging in and out was a pain! But overall it's great and would recommend to anyone! :) Thanks guys.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Becci, Thanks for your review! It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and found the hostel to be kept clean and tidy, we try our best! :-) Sorry to hear that you had troubles with the wifi, we are getting this fixed and we hope it didn't affect your stay too much! Hope... More

Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Worst hostel experience ever! 31th of march I had a flight from Santiago to Auckland, arrived at the airport at 6 in the morning, met a german couple, who had a reservation for the Attic. As I had no hostel booked yet I decided to join them and went with them to the Attic. First, the reception wasn´t opened, according... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Jorg, We are very disappointed to see that you have taken to tripadvisor to leave us a bad review after; 1. You did not even stay with us. 2. Were asked to leave when you trespassed into the building our of hours. 3. Have totally fabricated the truth in regards to what actually happened. The couple that you in... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this hostel whilst I was in Auckland, when I first arrived one of the staff members was extremely helpful and friendly. I would praise him in person if I could! Very comfortable beds, clean, well kept, modern and social. The kitchen was very stylish, well equipped, it had a piano which is always a bonus! The lounge was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Alex, Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our comfy beds, cleanliness of the hostel and general ambiance. :-) We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed having use of the piano during your stay, though to be honest we did receive a few complaints from guests that... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The guys that work in this hostel are amazing!!! We showed up in the busiest weekend of the year and unlike every other hostel that we tried these guys did everything they could to help us! Even though there wasn't any room to stay with them they booked us a bus up to bay of Islands, booked us accommodation and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Ladies! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us! We were more than happy to help you both out in your sticky situation and hope you had a great time in the bay of islands! Please do visit us again next time you are coming to Auckland, just give us a call or email before hand... More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for over 2.5 months, its fairly new so modern, clean and spacious. Kitchen has plenty of kitchenwear for you to use and free tea/coffee. Rooms are spacious so always floor space and places to chill, also lockers for anything you feel the need to secure. Terrace is sociable and the living room is great for watching films or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much! It's also great to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our hostel and the free tea and coffee as well as the use of free hairdryer and hair straighteners! :-) Thanks for your advice, we ordered... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hostel was not only in a great location it was clean and helpful as well. Staff were happy to help with any questions we had and I never seen the kitchen dirty. Female and male showers were great and the twin room we booked was clean and cosy. Would recommend to anyone looking accommodation in auckland.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi ''Tourist by night'' :-) Thanks for taking the time to leave your lovely comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed the convenient location and friendliness of our hostel. We do check our kitchen every hour to make sure it's kept spick and span, so it's great to hear that you always found it to be clean! :-) We... More

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very good location and slightly cheaper than mainstream places such as Base. The walls are a little thin and our window didn't close properly so listening to the noises from outside was frustrating. Reception staff mostly helpful and friendly. kitchen area is just too small to cope with groups of people, there is one microwave, few work surfaces and you'll... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Johnny, Thanks for your comments. It's good to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hostel and our helpful and friendly staff. We are sorry to hear that you had problems with your window, it would have been helpful if you'd let us know during your stay and we could've got the problem fixed straight away, we will... More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The problem with finding something as great as a nice hostel in a place like Auckland is that a part of you doesn't want to tell anyone about it! I originally stayed at base (pretty poor!!) then was gone for a few days and was just passing through for one short night and was desperate for somewhere nicer and not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments! It's great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Upon check in, we offer all of our guests a tour of the hostel so that you can feel at home and know where everything is, this is important for us :-) We check our kitchen and... More

Been to Attic Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attic Backpackers

Also Known As:
Attic Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand
Address: 31 Wellesley St, Auckland Central 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Topfloor Backpackers)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 70 Specialty lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Attic is a fresh and vibrant, newly refurbished top floor backpackers situated in the heart of the city centre, on Wellesley Street, just steps from the iconic Auckland Skytower and the hustle and bustle of Queen Street. Sleeping a maximum of 100 guests, we are a smaller inner city hostel than most, offering guests a central location and budget accommodation with a difference. Ride our traditional, 'old school' service lift to the top floor, which opens straight out on to The Attic. Enjoy a tour of our place upon check in, no impersonal pointing to your room and off you go, we want you to feel at home with us. Some of our larger dorms feature dividers so that even our most budget options are still as comfortable as a smaller dorm, attention to detail is important here at The Attic. Incredibly friendly and helpful, we go the extra mile to make your stay with us that little bit more special. Our guests comfort is the most important thing for us and we pride ourselves on creating a chilled, helpful and caring hostel environment in Auckland city centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Attic Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Attic Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.