We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 73 Auckland accommodations

Barclay Suites Auckland

4.5 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   70 - 74 Albert Street | 100 meters from Queen St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Barclay Suites Auckland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barclay Suites Auckland to your Saves list
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Richard E Christchurch, New Zealand
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    45
    21
    9
    1
See reviews for
17
51
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (118)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The apartment was clean and comfortable with a lovely view of the bridge. The kitchen and bathroom had everything we needed. The reception staff, especially one gentleman was very helpful, he recommended good places to eat after one horrible meal out. I would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my third stay at Barclay. We stayed on the fifth floor facing Albert St, which is very noisy with the windows open. Because of the high buildings opposite the only sun we got was the reflection from the windows across the road. We had a few issues, but once these were sorted out it was fine. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Conveniently located in the city center, overlooking the bay. Room is very well equipped , refrigerator, oven, dishwasher and even washer / drier. Only thing which we less liked is the carpet - not the best for people suffering from allergies. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we had five nights at the barclay suites and were really happy with our suite - could open the french doors for fresh air out to views over the harbour and famous sky tower and got to watch the fireworks over the water which was really neat. very clean and all the utensils pots and pans etc were good quality... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were over for a conference and had 12 rooms at Barclay. We all had great views (the sky tower is amazing at night!) and loved watching the sun set before heading out for dinner. The little touches made it - where can I get some of the shampoo and body lotion? Divine! We will be back I will be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed here for one night on October 26th. This hotel is smack-dab in the middle of the city, within walking distance to Sky City and other great areas such as the Viaduct Harbour. We had a one bedroom apartment on the top floor with great views of the city. The room itself was clean, well-presented and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tasmania, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A small busy city hotel. People constantly checking in and out. Had an apartment on the 23rd. floor.Fabulous view. The furniture was tired. The chest of bedroom drawers had the veneer peeling off. The bed was not too bad but the pillows were awful. The carpet was stained but was otherwise reasonably clean. Small corner shower in the bathroom. Upgraded... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First- if you're a family wanting a large multi-bedroom self-contained apartment then the room size and layout might suit you. However, as a business traveler I would not stay here again - missing key business amenities (no breakfast, no room service, no black out curtains and internet $15 for 24 hours and didn't work when in the bedroom!). It says... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review RK8Coops It was disappointing to read your stay with us didn’t meet your expectations. We take great pride in offering a fantastic accommodation service in Auckland and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the issues you have mentioned – please contact me at franzs@barclaysuites.co.nz Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from... More

Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great spot in the city, 2 minute walk up to Sky City after a recommendation from the Concierge we tried several cafes in the vicinity of the hotel and really happy as we like our strong coffee and they were off the beaten track. Apartment had heaps of space, two very comfortable sofas, flat screen tv with sky and views... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review corporate81 We were pleased to read you enjoyed your experience here at Barclay Suites. The team at Barclay Suites take pride in providing an excellent experience for all guests through excellent customer service. Our Suites are completely self-contained, many with commanding views over Auckland Harbour and the central city. As we are situated between... More

traveltothestars
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were pleasantly surprised with the views from both our lounge and bedroom - was great to have a balcony and it felt like the Sky Tower had been placed perfectly just for us to view from the balcony! Great service

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review traveltothestars We were pleased to read you enjoyed your experience here at Barclay Suites. The team at Barclay Suites take pride in providing an excellent experience for all guests through excellent customer service. Our Suites are completely self-contained, many with commanding views over Auckland Harbour and the central city. As we are situated between... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Barclay Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Suites Auckland

Address: 70 - 74 Albert Street | 100 meters from Queen St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barclay Suites Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Barclay Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Barclay Suites Auckland New Zealand

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
1:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay