We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
157 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ranked #31 of 63 Hotels in Auckland
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
KathrynChristensen63 Cambridge, New Zealand
Add Photo Write a Review

543 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    81
    233
    156
    51
    22
See reviews for
85
256
60
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (543)
  • Mar-May only
    (160)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (106)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (133)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (144)
All months
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Helpful location and off street parking when you have checked in. Helpful staff. Clean room. Just up the road from the Sky Tower and not far to Queen Street. Some nice restaurants and pubs nearby. Recommended for either business or leisure good size rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ciudad Mante, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is great because of its location. Very near to the bay, fish market, skycity, and also a mall and even new zealand post office. Very easy to find and remember. Accomodation is comfortable, though pretty basic. It does not have laundry facilities. Not a parking. But Since we travel here overseas we had no need of it. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane QLD
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location in the middle of Auckland. Minutes walk to Sky Tower Casino, shops, convenience stores and we even walked down to the Harbour. On check in staff didn't even give us directions to the room until they seen us walking around trying to find where we were to go. The bathroom was quite small. The bed joins in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this hotel in July, 2 double beds with a small kitchen. A very spacious room but a rather small bathroom. Good location because it was very close to the city central, a bus stop, many convenient stores nearby and a police station nearby. It was also close to the skytower. Problem was with the wifi, only limited to one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the worst place I've ever stayed. My advice is to avoid at all costs, but if you've already booked and you're staying during winter, make sure they give you a room with heating. We stayed on level 10 and the room was disgraceful. Dark, dank, dingy and absolutely FREEZING! Two small oil fin heaters was never going to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was located in the heart of city, walkable distance from skytower. Continental Breakfast. But major issue was with WI FI, It does not provide free wifi. Pleasant staff and Location of hotel makes it a decent selection.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a king studio room to arrive after midnight from an international flight to 2 single beds in the room. The beds were so small my legs hung over the end of them. In being light weighted sunk in the middle of the poor mattress so was a terrible night sleep. Approached reception to change rooms, advised fully booked and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
achhobson, Director of Sales at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this review

Dear Wondersuper Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your recent stayed. At Auckland City Hotel, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. We are in the midst of upgrading hotel facilities including those issues that you had mentioned. We value your feedback and committed to providing you with... More 

Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We picked this hotel due to its central location and the rooms depicted in their photographs. Firstly the location may have been central but the area was pretty average. Lots of people milling about out the front of the hotel at all hours and the noise level at night was terrible. I doubt the rooms were the same as the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
achhobson, Director of Sales at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this review

Dear Debandkevc, Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your recent stayed. At Auckland City Hotel, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. In order for us to identify the source problem, are you able to inform us the room number that you had stayed or alternatively if you... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is cheap. Super well located (5 mins walk from the sky tower). Cleaning is not 100% good but its ok. Staff is OK but definitively is not the "super friendly type". We had breakfast on the small cafe inside (was OK and friendly staff).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For travellers the world over, wi fi, is a fundamental. This hotel, while reasonably priced, offers only one hour of free wi fi - the remainder needs to be purchased. The hotel is in the lower to medium price range however I have stayed in cheaper which had more generous wi fi options. Our family of four had a three... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

242 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (139)
Viewed
Room/suite (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (33)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (86)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Exceutive Room (35)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (3)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Oaks
Auckland City Oaks
#30 of 63 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 stars 814 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 63 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland
0.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#27 of 63 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#36 of 63 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay