We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bambu Backpackers

75 - 77 Aberdeen St | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6003, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bambu Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bambu Backpackers
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    3
    6
    3
    22
See reviews for
Families
0
7
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (39)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

The hostel is not as horrible as what the others say. We are a couple and the price was the cheapest we found for a double bed. Yes there is some bugs sometimes on the wall but like every hostel, nothing scary or disgusting. The hostel is not new so you can see it in the shower but it doesn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melanie S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate it and are very glad you enjoyed your stay. It is so nice to hear from someone that has a realistic experience from a backpackers hostel. We are striving every day to make our hostel better and better and really value your positive feedback. More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

If you like living amongst filth this is the place for you. It is the only place I have been that I have hoped out of the shower and still felt dirty. If you enjoy cockroaches bedbugs and dry vomit from the night before bambu has it all. I booked for two nights and didn't manage to sleep 1 night.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Melanie S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

I am disappointed to hear these comments. Our rooms, bathrooms and kitchen are cleaned every day, but unfortunately due to the nature of some of our patrons we cannot always guarantee utmost cleanliness at all times. Our entire premises has very recently been treated for pests and bed bugs but if there is still an issue there, it will definately... More 

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Bam'bu unfortunately has some bad reviews from last year, but from my understanding it had a management change before the new year and has since improved - a lot. I won't lie, it's not the quietest or the tidiest of hostels but it is a good one. The people that come here are fantastic and more than make up for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melanie S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Being the new owners of this hostel we are working really hard to improve our business and really appreciate the feedback. More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hostel is a desaster. Really dirty. Rooms are disgusting and only toxicoman are staying there. Had the worth time of my life there! I weist my money and I have been stolen there. Don't go there. Plus there aren't responsible to check anything so you can't even complain when people are smoking in your room

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We have been the new owners since Sep 2014 and have made many improvements to our business. We hope that you will stay with us again and change your opinion of our hostel. More 

Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

i stayed here for just one night. when you enter the hostel, it has a vibe to it. there is a pool table, a tv and lots of semi dressed, mostly english travellers drinking their bottles of beer bought at the bottle shop across the street. when i went to the counter to book in, there was a guest already... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melanie S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We have been the new owners since Sep 2014 and have made many improvements to our business. We hope that you will stay with us again and change your opinion of our hostel. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Great location, near to trains and the centre and all local bars etc If you need food, go into the shopping centre as there is a big super market, we made the mistake of paying crazy prices in a local corner shop before realising this was here! When we got to the hostel, the receptionist couldn't find our room but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melanie S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We have been the new owners since Sep 2014 and have made many improvements to our business. We hope that you will stay with us again and change your opinion of our hostel. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Great location, near to trains and the centre and all local bars etc If you need food, go into the shopping centre as there is a big super market, we made the mistake of paying crazy prices in a local corner shop before realising this was here! When we got to the hostel, the receptionist couldn't find our room but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

It is an ok hostel if you want to get smashed every night and if you are sleeping on a top bunk in the dorm it is next to impossible to get up because everyone's things are in the way and space is very limited. bed linen is dirty and the music is very loud. If you think 30 dollars... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We have been the new owners since Sep 2014 and have made many improvements to our business. We hope that you will stay with us again and change your opinion of our hostel. More 

Geraldton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed there a week. Me and my 2 party friends had enough. The place is dangerous, smelly, noisy, dirty... Bathrooms are a shame, kitchen is scarry but worst, there is no night management and people are drinking or smoking in the kitchen at night. Stealing is more than welcome there, it helps to buy weed. We are french, but this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We have been the new owners since Sep 2014 and have made many improvements to our business. We hope that you will stay with us again and change your opinion of our hostel. More 

Annecy-le-Vieux, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Bambu is in Perth a great hostel. You definitly go there if you want to PARTY because there are minimum 3 bars just around this hostel (so thanks for the noise when you really want to sleep) and sometimes there is a party in the hostel itself so you go there if you are alone and want to meet new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay