We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hay Street Traveller's Inn

266-268 Hay Street, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hay Street Traveller\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
220 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

We initially booked to stay for a few days but due to its proximity to free Red Cat bus, walking distance to the shopping and eating precinct, we extended our stay till 2 weeks to complete our unfinished business. We are very familiar with Perth having lived in the city for 7 years prior to this visit. Accommodation in Perth... More 

Helpful?
Thank Naiza A
Keelung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015 via mobile

First, no idea why TripAdvisor lists this under hotels, it's a hostel. Second, the rooms can be good or average. Sleeping was fine, sitting at the pool and drink a coffee and chat with others is pretty relaxing. The first 2 nights I stayed 2nd floor, WiFi is very weak or non-existent Was a twin room, spartanic but if serves... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom886
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015

stayed for on night,in dorm it was fine,found the staff friendly no problems at all. have made reservations to stay again,the place could be a bit cleaner but all in all i thought it was a nice cheap place to stay in perth

Helpful?
Thank John V
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2015 via mobile

First of all, I would like to give my two thumbs up to Randy who is the receptionist in charged during morning shift. As we arrived, he greeted us with warm welcome. He is very friendly. Double room that we booked were quite comfortable. Good location and easy access to CAT bus stand and interesting places around Perth city. Will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ismail H
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
410 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015

We needed a day room and this was one of the only places which would let us check in early enough to have it. In that regard it fit the bill but the place could have done with a clean, the lack of towels seemed unnecessary and parts of the bathroom appeared to be dangerous. We did manage to get... More 

Helpful?
Thank CTricity

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

I only wanted a basic room close to East Perth but this was substandard! Plastics on the mattress, musty smelling room and very poor service! Advised I would be a late checkin, entry code provided didn't work and when I rang was told to wait. When I was eventually let in to the building I had to pay a further... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Carol T
Fook Keong L, Manager at Hay Street Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Carol, It is our aim to provide the best service and amenities possible and we would like to apologize, if the service and accommodations provided to you during your stay were anything less than that. We will be looking into the concerns you have expressed and will review our procedures to try and improve upon your feedback. We hope... More 

Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

While there is no doubt the location is prime because it's close to the city, they need to improve and upgrade the environment of the hostel. They have squeeky mattreses and wooden floor. The pillows have plastic sounds because they wrapped a layer of plastic on them before putting the pillow case on. I understand the hygiene concern but it's... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jyswit
Fook Keong L, Manager at Hay Street Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Hello! thanks for taking time to leave a review. We find most guests appreciate our urban location, which are just steps away from the center of Perth. We recently change our business name from "Hay Street Travel Lodge" to "Hay Street Traveller's Inn" due to our change in business model. We already started with the upgrading and we hope that... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

This was conveniently located for me as it was within walking distance of the WACA. There are shops nearby and a decent pub (the Grosvenor Hotel). The private room was basic – two single beds. And it had no bathroom, which is not ideal. Cleanliness was marginal and facilities were basic - a kitchen and outside seating area. The free... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
Fook Keong L, Manager at Hay Street Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review; we appreciate it when our guests take the time to share both their good impressions and not so good impressions from our property. We already started with the renovation and lots of changes are already happening. :) We hope that you may consider staying with us again in the future on our improved Hostel.... More 

Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015 via mobile

Relatively good place, if you travel alone and never mind a shared restroom on the floor. The room was clean, but worn out. Don't stay if you are up to a romantic stay. The cost is about 60 AUD/night, which is a bit too much to my mind. A definite pro: a BWS shop next doors:)

Helpful?
Thank Владимир Н
Fook Keong L, Manager at Hay Street Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Hello! thanks for leaving a review. With the New Year we are taking the past experience into new ideas for a big development! There will be some changes coming soon. =) We hope you have enjoyed your stay and to see you again in the future. Have a great day, Elisa More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Dirty run down and overpriced don't bother as there is much better to choose from.the double room with en suit was a small dank cell like concrete block square room with no natural light a an overwhelming smell of chlorine from the swimming pool which it was below.Dirty shared toilet with piss on the floor and no toilet paper.

Helpful?
2 Thank Beau J
Fook Keong L, Manager at Hay Street Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for leaving a review. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. Did you speak with someone of the staff about your discomfort? If you were not happy with that room we could shift you in a different one. However, every room has a window where natural light can go through. The hostel cleaning is done daily... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (41)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
Perth CBD
Comfort Inn Wentworth Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#57 of 75 in Perth
3.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Perth CBD
Criterion Hotel Perth
Criterion Hotel Perth
#56 of 75 in Perth
3.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay