We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hay Street Traveller's Inn

266-268 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hay Street Traveller\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1
    5
    9
    4
    10
See reviews for
2
5
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (29)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I only wanted a basic room close to East Perth but this was substandard! Plastics on the mattress, musty smelling room and very poor service! Advised I would be a late checkin, entry code provided didn't work and when I rang was told to wait. When I was eventually let in to the building I had to pay a further... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fook Keong L, Manager at Hay Street Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Carol, It is our aim to provide the best service and amenities possible and we would like to apologize, if the service and accommodations provided to you during your stay were anything less than that. We will be looking into the concerns you have expressed and will review our procedures to try and improve upon your feedback. We hope... More 

Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

While there is no doubt the location is prime because it's close to the city, they need to improve and upgrade the environment of the hostel. They have squeeky mattreses and wooden floor. The pillows have plastic sounds because they wrapped a layer of plastic on them before putting the pillow case on. I understand the hygiene concern but it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fook Keong L, Manager at Hay Street Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Hello! thanks for taking time to leave a review. We find most guests appreciate our urban location, which are just steps away from the center of Perth. We recently change our business name from "Hay Street Travel Lodge" to "Hay Street Traveller's Inn" due to our change in business model. We already started with the upgrading and we hope that... More 

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

This was conveniently located for me as it was within walking distance of the WACA. There are shops nearby and a decent pub (the Grosvenor Hotel). The private room was basic – two single beds. And it had no bathroom, which is not ideal. Cleanliness was marginal and facilities were basic - a kitchen and outside seating area. The free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fook Keong L, Manager at Hay Street Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review; we appreciate it when our guests take the time to share both their good impressions and not so good impressions from our property. We already started with the renovation and lots of changes are already happening. :) We hope that you may consider staying with us again in the future on our improved Hostel.... More 

Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Relatively good place, if you travel alone and never mind a shared restroom on the floor. The room was clean, but worn out. Don't stay if you are up to a romantic stay. The cost is about 60 AUD/night, which is a bit too much to my mind. A definite pro: a BWS shop next doors:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fook Keong L, Manager at Hay Street Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Hello! thanks for leaving a review. With the New Year we are taking the past experience into new ideas for a big development! There will be some changes coming soon. =) We hope you have enjoyed your stay and to see you again in the future. Have a great day, Elisa More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Dirty run down and overpriced don't bother as there is much better to choose from.the double room with en suit was a small dank cell like concrete block square room with no natural light a an overwhelming smell of chlorine from the swimming pool which it was below.Dirty shared toilet with piss on the floor and no toilet paper.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fook Keong L, Manager at Hay Street Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for leaving a review. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. Did you speak with someone of the staff about your discomfort? If you were not happy with that room we could shift you in a different one. However, every room has a window where natural light can go through. The hostel cleaning is done daily... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Yes a new experience I have heard that backpackers are dirty you loose stuff there so I had no intention if staying at a backpackrs, but circumstances made me find a room fast I got evicted from a private room i was renting late in the evening and I am 80 so i was not gooing to sleep in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fook Keong L, Manager at Hay Street Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Hello Ronald! Thanks for the beautiful review, your feedback are really important for us! We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking froward to see you again! Take care, Elisa :-) More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Nothing really good or bad to say about this place. It is rather basic. Has a common kitchen and common areas which is rather normal. Room was basic. double bed and en-suite but toilet was common and in separate room. So a little misleading but besides that was not bad. Staff were helpful and pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fook Keong L, Manager at Hay Street Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks for leaving a review. We like to hear your feedback about your stay with us. We are thinking to do some changes soon and we will keep in consideration your opinion. :-) We hope to see you again in the future. Have a nice day, Elisa More 

Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I don't understand why there are terrible reviews? I arrived and was met by friendly staff and was shown my room. Immediately checked the bed and it was clean with fresh linen, granted the shower head leaked but this did not affect the pressure which was amazing, very powerful. The kitchen was clean with communal fridges and WiFi in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fook Keong L, Manager at Hay Street Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Hello! thanks for leaving a review. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to see you in the future! Thanks also for the positive comments you made about me.:) Have a great day, Elisa More 

Kauai, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Only stayed there for a single night between leaving my apartment and flying back home, but out of all the backpackers i've been in it was definitely my favourite. Amazing Staff, not just friendly but also motivated Neat and Clean, no need to be afraid of mice or rats like in other backpackers in perth Location, its literally like a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fook Keong L, Manager at Hay Street Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Hi Sarah! Thanks for leaving a review. Feedbacks are really important for us. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future. :-) Thanks, Elisa More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

So when embarking on a Western Australian road trip my friend and I needed accommodation for one night. We were arriving late, and were planning on leaving early to pick up our transportation, so we essentially needed somewhere to lay down for a few hours sleep, and not much else. Proximity to where we needed to get to the next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (41)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Comfort Inn Wentworth Plaza
Ibis Styles Perth
#43 of 72 in Perth
3.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Criterion Hotel Perth
Criterion Hotel Perth
#50 of 72 in Perth
3.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#56 of 72 in Perth
3.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay