We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hay Street Backpackers

266-268 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hay Street Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hay Street Backpackers
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    8
    1
    10
See reviews for
1
4
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dirty run down and overpriced don't bother as there is much better to choose from.the double room with en suit was a small dank cell like concrete block square room with no natural light a an overwhelming smell of chlorine from the swimming pool which it was below.Dirty shared toilet with piss on the floor and no toilet paper.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fook Keong L, Manager at Hay Street Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for leaving a review. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. Did you speak with someone of the staff about your discomfort? If you were not happy with that room we could shift you in a different one. However, every room has a window where natural light can go through. The hostel cleaning is done daily... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Yes a new experience I have heard that backpackers are dirty you loose stuff there so I had no intention if staying at a backpackrs, but circumstances made me find a room fast I got evicted from a private room i was renting late in the evening and I am 80 so i was not gooing to sleep in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fook Keong L, Manager at Hay Street Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Ronald! Thanks for the beautiful review, your feedback are really important for us! We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking froward to see you again! Take care, Elisa :-) More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Nothing really good or bad to say about this place. It is rather basic. Has a common kitchen and common areas which is rather normal. Room was basic. double bed and en-suite but toilet was common and in separate room. So a little misleading but besides that was not bad. Staff were helpful and pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fook Keong L, Manager at Hay Street Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks for leaving a review. We like to hear your feedback about your stay with us. We are thinking to do some changes soon and we will keep in consideration your opinion. :-) We hope to see you again in the future. Have a nice day, Elisa More 

Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I don't understand why there are terrible reviews? I arrived and was met by friendly staff and was shown my room. Immediately checked the bed and it was clean with fresh linen, granted the shower head leaked but this did not affect the pressure which was amazing, very powerful. The kitchen was clean with communal fridges and WiFi in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fook Keong L, Manager at Hay Street Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello! thanks for leaving a review. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to see you in the future! Thanks also for the positive comments you made about me.:) Have a great day, Elisa More 

Kauai, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Only stayed there for a single night between leaving my apartment and flying back home, but out of all the backpackers i've been in it was definitely my favourite. Amazing Staff, not just friendly but also motivated Neat and Clean, no need to be afraid of mice or rats like in other backpackers in perth Location, its literally like a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fook Keong L, Manager at Hay Street Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Sarah! Thanks for leaving a review. Feedbacks are really important for us. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future. :-) Thanks, Elisa More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

So when embarking on a Western Australian road trip my friend and I needed accommodation for one night. We were arriving late, and were planning on leaving early to pick up our transportation, so we essentially needed somewhere to lay down for a few hours sleep, and not much else. Proximity to where we needed to get to the next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed here a while back and although it´s great for the younger ones I wouldn´t recommend it for a family; a little too loud. However the room was comfortable and the pool was brilliant to cool off in. Staff were friendly and helpful. Had a great time in Perth itself and for a younger person traveling around i´m sure this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

i used to go in this place every time that i go to perth! is a bit expensive but the staff is friendly and them helped me to sort out my visit to the city and is a clean place!here i found good people and the position is very good!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Geraldton, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed one night in a twin room $80 for the night !! I was given two blankets and no top sheet, no towels ! The carpet was full of stains.. I felt dirty even after my shower.. The pool was closed for maintenance, at his time of the year is a joke.. The owner needs to spend money on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

That's right I should have bought a tent and stayed at the park. I changed from a reasonable twin room to a single room. The shared shower glass was so dirty with soap scum the glass appeared obscured. The pool was not open at all (closed for maintenance). $20 required for key deposit then another $20 to get key just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hay Street Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hay Street Backpackers

Address: 266-268 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hay Street Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (41)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay