We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Emperor's Crown Backpackers Hostel

85 Stirling St, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Emperor\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in January where I was greeted by one of the managers. Who was friendly and explained everything in great detail. The room was nice and the atmosphere was great! The windows were a little annoying as to wind them in you could not pull the broken blind. Overall, really nice, great people and free WiFi in the common... More 

Helpful?
Thank thisonetraveller16
Jerramungup
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a room at 6pm drove all the way thru the city to get told at 9pm that yous were over book and I was turned out with no wear to stay no impressed at all especially when at that time you can't find anywhere to stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank I3336MNstephanies
Adam B, Manager at Emperor's Crown Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Stephanie, Did you go through a full booking procedure, leaving your name, contact number, credit card details? These are required to hold a room for you. It may have been the case that we had rooms available at 6pm when you inquired but were full by 9pm if you didn't leave these details in reservation. I would be very... More 

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this was my first backpacker's experience. overall, it was ok, the room (especially the bathroom) was not the cleanest of places, but i suppose it fits perfectly well with this type of budget accommodation. location is good, close to the northbridge bars and restaurants. however, i would not recommend staying in northbridge for girls travelling alone.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank adrianad296
Adam B, Manager at Emperor's Crown Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Adriana, Many thanks for your feedback. I'm really happy you picked The Emperor's Crown as your first backpacker experience. I hope you will continue hostelling and benefit from the fantastic experiences it can afford. We appreciate it can get a little untidy in the 6 bed shared dorm and we encourage all guests to make use of the lockers... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I checked into a fairly clean room - with basic amenities in place. Free Wifi was available, but no signal from the room that I checked into (was in the first floor). Had to be in the lounge to use the Wifi.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ashr144
Adam B, Manager at Emperor's Crown Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Regarding the Wifi, as a backpackers we strive to create a social atmosphere we're travelers from all over the world can meet and socialise. With this in mind, we have limited our free & unlimited Wifi to our common area to encourage guests out of their rooms and... More 

Adelaide
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hostel was great, just what you would expect. We had a private room and our only complaint was the noise as we were right next to communal areas. The volume did decrease by 10:30 when the outside area was closed off. Staff were super helpful and friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lucyb348
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff of the hostel was so friendly. They explained in details where I could go and what tours I could join in Perth. With the map they provided, I could walk around the city and surroundings very easily. The sleeping environment was ordinary. I stayed in a 6-person room with a restroom. The cleanliness was not very good. One... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aamack L
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

The hostel is near museum. There is new year festival in the park and party in our back of hostel. The easy way from airport is that take 380 bus(4.5 Australian dollars per person) to Esplanade station, hen transfer blue CAT to museum station with free charge. I spent 4 minutes from museum bus stop to our hostel on foot.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ming-jungh
Woy Woy
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

I have a unisex name (Kim - but FFS we've had pretty famous men called 'Kim' in this country, right?). I arrived and was told they thought I was female, so I'd been "upgraded" to a Women Only dorm, and that there were no more beds for men. The staff member was very kind and apologetic, and offered to drive... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank genericname2016
Adam B, Manager at Emperor's Crown Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Again, we sincerely apologise for the mistake. You might note we received your booking under the name 'Kimberly' which we incorrectly assumed was a female name when upgrading you. As it was NYE we were at full capacity and could not re-assign you. I'm glad our staff were kind and helpful and did all they could to resolve the... More 

Perth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

Enjoyed being here for 10 nights! Met a lot of nice friends from all over the world, mostly Europe, and all staff were nice and friendly. Kitchen was good. Wifi was slow, but it wasn't too bad. Will stay here again if I have a chance.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 467mika
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

We live here in a twin room for a night. What impressed me most is the Irish receptionist, I asked him where is good place for fishing. He said he doesn't know, but he can google it for me. So after 20 minutes when I came to him again, he gave me nice suggestion for fishing around Perth with my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allen L
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (86)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#6 of 75 in Perth
4.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#3 of 53 in Perth
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#15 of 53 in Perth
3.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
City Perth Backpackers Hostel
Perth CBD
Coolibah Lodge Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay