We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Emperor's Crown Backpackers Hostel

85 Stirling St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
10% off direct bookings
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Emperor's Crown Backpackers Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Emperor's Crown Backpackers Hostel
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    60
    35
    7
    12
See reviews for
7
36
63
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (165)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Well I was living there with my wife in a private en suite where you have private toilet and everything. Be careful if you stay there because when I was there some of my personal possessions disappeared. Be careful with small valuable things such as rings, watch. In my case some rings disappeared. Then after staying in Perth, I notice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas O, Manager at Emperor's Crown Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review although I must admit I am a bit confused. During the 3 years that I have managed the Emperor's Crown, I have never had an incident of theft from a private room whatsoever. Our staff are incredibly trustworthy and we never go into private rooms while guests are staying with us unless there is an emergency.I... More 

Brasilia, DF
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great!! The location is nice!! they are friendly and the place is cool and clean!!! There are many bar and restaurants near. You can go by walk to swan river, Bells Tower. You can also take bus to Kings park. In the centre the buses are free.....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas O, Manager at Emperor's Crown Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review! We're always happy to see good reviews come in, it shows us that we are doing a good job and that people appreciate the effort we put in. I'm glad you managed to take advantage of our brilliant location to get the most out of your short stay! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The place to stay! Clean and tidy rooms, welcoming environment and awesome cooking facilities. Secure accommodation combined with friendly, obliging and helpful staff! Good location, 5 min into the city. One of the best backpackers I stayed in. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas O, Manager at Emperor's Crown Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your brilliant review, we're proud of our place and try to cultivate a friendly, fun atmosphere. Hopefully we'll see you again at some point in the future! More 

Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When i was there it was reasonably clean, especially the bathrooms. Not a fan of the staff. Guy got drunk with all his british mates and were screaming racist comments at a couple of Taiwanese girls. At that point I was thinking “Right! Never staying here again” Would raise the issue with staff, but, like I said, the guy was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas O, Manager at Emperor's Crown Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, I'm not sure what exactly happened here, my staff are usually very well behaved and quickly act against anything like this, as we try to promote a friendly atmosphere where everyone can feel welcome. Could you please get in touch with me so I can investigate? More 

Lyon, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed two weeks there and everything was very nice. Good staff, good facilities, clean, nothing bad to say xD There is a good atmosphere and i have made very good friends there :) Have a nice journey !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas O, Manager at Emperor's Crown Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the good review! I'm glad you found The Emperor's Crown welcoming and had a good time. We always try our best to promote a friendly atmosphere and take cleanliness of our facilities very seriously. Hope to see you again soon! More 

Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Friendly and sociable staff, good location and pricing. Rooms are clean compared to other nearby hostels. The aircon in mine did not work however. Also annoying that Kitchen is closed after 10pm as it is hard to get drinking water when it is closed. Hostel lacks a bar, but it is good that you can have beers in the courtyard... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas O, Manager at Emperor's Crown Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi John, Thanks for your review - I'm not sure what happened with the airconditioning in your room, as I checked all the rooms not long after you left this review and all the aircons were working. However, we do only put it on in the evening (usually from 9pm to 8am), so maybe this is what happened and why... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014 via mobile

- value for money - near CBD and all the reataurants and shops - friendly staffs - free WIFI - clean facilities - comfortable bed i will definitely recommend this hostle to my friends when visiting Perth.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas O, Manager at Emperor's Crown Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your brilliant review Rowena! Really glad that you had a good stay and we look forward to welcoming your friends (and you) in the future! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014 via mobile

I Stayed in a 6bed dorm.Bed was comfortable and the room had its own aircondirioning and bathroom. Over all experience was good however free WiFi would have been awesome and an extra fridge or two for the kitchen area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Stayed here just for 1 night while passing through, very clean, friendly and very close to city centre, trains and busses. Only 15$$ to airport via shuttle bus which the guy on reception organized for me at 3am In the top 10 of hostels I've stayed in in Australia

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

The first thing that hit us as we entered the dorm was a musty smell - a sign that the room wasn't well-cleaned. The floor and bathrooms weren't clean either. Seemed like they did not clean up the room because the other three who stayed in the room were long-term residents. Receptionist was helpful and friendly though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Emperor's Crown Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emperor's Crown Backpackers Hostel

Address: 85 Stirling St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Emperor's Crown Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emperor`s Crown Backpackers Hotel Perth

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (85)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay