We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 57 Perth hotels

The New Esplanade Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 The Esplanade, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The New Esplanade Hotel to your Saves list
The New Esplanade Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
12%
Ranked #54 of 57 hotels in Perth
  • Reviews (207)
  • Photos (68)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (67)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    19
    35
    51
    100
See reviews for
19
52
26
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Eaton, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Last week I stayed at this hotel. It is in a great location, close to the Convention Centre where I attended a three day conference and it is right on the edge of the CBD. While the hotel is a little worn, its facilities were very clean. Julian, on the front desk was very helpful whenever I had enquiries. Parking,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alice Springs, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It's only redeeming quality was that it was close to the city centre but that's about it. Unclean (finding a lump of hair with a bobby pin still attached by the bed was special) and renovations being required is an understatement! Tired, old, daggy and dirty is the only way to describe this place. I'm just glad I didn't use... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Do you remember the movie with Rik Mayall and Adrian Edmondson titled "Hotel Paradisio"? I'm thinking the New (joke) Esplanade in Perth was where the filming took place. It was filthy, smelly and had a mouldy bathroom that smelled of urine. The AirCon had buttons (just to look like an air conditioner) but in fact blew only very hot air.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

worst hotel I ve ever stayed in , interior is like the bates motel nothing "new" about it. No air-conditioning and they take money from your card unauthorised that you wont get back for 10 days incase you decide to use mini bar etc. handy location that's about it! would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EsplanadeTeam, Front Office Manager at The New Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lesley, Thank you so much for your time to post the review. We understand that we did not meet your expectations and we are disappointed by this. We have central system for the air conditioning, which we can not control. Our hotel is due for renovation after the renovation done that will be change as well. As per the... More

Busselton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Over night stay. Received an "unasked for" upgrade. There was 3 of us. While the rooms are a bit dated, they were quite sufficient for what we required. Room was warm and quiet . Clean and tidy. We were in Room 508

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
EsplanadeTeam, Front Office Manager at The New Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. It is wonderful to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay and also you were satisfied with the cleanliness of the room. We look forward to welcoming you back in The New esplanade. Kind Regards The New Esplanade Hotel Team More

st bees
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Never had to write a review like this, booked in and went to our room, which was grubby went into the bath room chipped bath, stained wash basin, and mould around both. Checked the bed and linen which was stained, immediately complained and the sheets were changed, no other rooms were available that evening, but we asked for a room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EsplanadeTeam, Front Office Manager at The New Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for writing your review on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the quality of our room. We are planning to do the renovation in our hotel, which will be soon in the near future. As a budget hotel our price is according to the condition of the hotel, in compare... More

Corlette, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed 1 night with work. Room was tired and needed some minor repairs to walls and to areas of the bathroom. Location is good if you want to be right in the city centre and is easy walking distance to the Swan river and the city centre restaurants. Reception staff were pleasant and helpful. OK for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
EsplanadeTeam, Front Office Manager at The New Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeff, Thank you so much for talking time to post your review. It is unfortunate that you did not like our room. There is no doubt that our hotel is due for big renovation. Our new management team planning to do that in near future soon. It is our pleasure that our hotel staff made your stay very comfortable... More

Shah Alam, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel offers good value for the budget family traveler. The rooms were very spacious with basic necessities. Strategically located, a short walk to the bell tower, gardens and hay street. It's a bit dated, but everything was functioning well. Would highly recommend to budget family travelers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
EsplanadeTeam, Front Office Manager at The New Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with The New Esplanade Hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you were thoroughly satisfied with your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back with us. Kind regards, The New Esplanade Team More

Kalgoorlie, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Room was dusty. All the fizzy drinks and alcohol in the mini bar were flat. Lifts in the car park were out of order so we had to walk down 6 levels with our luggage. Each time we wanted to leave the hotel with our car we had to go to reception first to get a new card. My husband... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed last night last minute booking, an being on a main road and overlooking the bell in Perth , was hoping to have a bright clean room, we found the bath still had the dirty ring around the bath, very little coffee and Tea , and dull. it has the view of construction, but once its finished im sure it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The New Esplanade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The New Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Esplanade Hotel

Address: 18 The Esplanade, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Esplanade Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The New Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Esplanade Hotel
New Esplanade Perth

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Perth with
any amenities

Amenities

Kitchenette
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
65

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The New Esplanade Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer