We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mantra on Hay

Hotel website
Hotel deals
201 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mantra on Hay
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mantra on Hay
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    110
    68
    31
    21
See reviews for
75
60
13
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (284)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (76)
All months
There are newer reviews for Mantra on Hay
See the most recent reviews
Denmark, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Mantra on Hay what a rip off. $22 for parking if you can get a parking spot (We have two cars a baby and an overseas visitor and have booked a two room apartment). Tried to cancel the booking as baby is young and needs paraphernalia that babies do close at hand, $50 cancellation fee and then they give you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review

Hi Particia P Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. As an information tool for future guests "car parking" is listed under the guest facilities tab which is located on the home page. Again my apologies to you for the shortcomings relating... More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Well we stayed here in 2004 and it was quite good . The apartment had 2 bedrooms - very clean and tidy. Fast forward to July 2012 and wow what a difference. The lobby is the same which is tidy. But the first room was 100% damp- god knows what they did to it. The second room smelt like an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review

Hi matakanaisland, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I regret the shortcomings in service you have reported in terms of the room standards. I have liaised with my Executive Housekeeper and Maintenance Manager who will certainly address the points raised. This is not up to our usual standard and I apologise for any... More 

Sydney
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Like most properties in Perth these days they are getting away with extortionate prices here. I had just arrived from Melbourne where I stayed the night prior in a similar apartment on Collins St, for around HALF THE PRICE! Whilst the mining boom is allowing this sort of daylight robbery it will not last forever and that will be the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review

Hi MickeyTraveller Thank you for taking time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Mantra on Hay in Perth. With regards to rates these do fluctuate depending on the day of week and also seasonally as does Melbourne during peak times such as the Australian Open. Had the price been right it would have been... More 

Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were recommended by the Western Australia Travel Bureau this hotel. The hotel was good, but we found the meals in the restaurant expensive, and breakfast was not good at all fruit under ripe and only cold milk for my cereal. Car parking was a huge issue we had to park our car far from the hotel, even though it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review

Hi owl888 Thank you for taking your time to provide feedback of your experience with us here at Mantra on Hay. We aim to offer the natural breakfast items as fresh as possible, i will liaise with the Chef to ensure the quality of offerings are also "ripe". Yes we only have cold milk on offer as we do not... More 

adelaide, australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We used this for airport accommodation, about 20 minutes from International (at 2am in the morning) and the same to domestic (on a Sunday). The reason that we give this an average rating is that it is average. Nothing wrong, but nothing stand out either. We had the two bedroom, two bathroom apartment. For what you get, it is expensive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review

Hi cassandnigel Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are an older property at just over 15 years old and we are currently working through logistics of a soft refurbishment to enhance the properties overall appearance. Regarding the vending machine we have looked at this option however felt that having 2 supermarkets in... More 

Perth
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed for 3 weeks as part of a company relocation. Rooms nice and clean, equiped with all that you need. Room cleaned twice per week...and occassionally an extra time. Very satisfied. However, parking is an issue. This was a daily stress for me .... With a brand new car. Spots were quiet tight plus a few cars double parking. Raised... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review

Hi Neil Thank you for taking the time to place feedback regaing your stay with us here at Mantra on Hay. You are correct in saying that it is exrtemely frustrating when trying to get a car parking space in our hotel given that we have 65 bays and 153 apartments. The smaller size of the bays and the addition... More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

just finished three weeks here as part of a relocation for my firm. The hotel is barely average. I'm not a high maintenance guy but I do expect some basics. I don't think my shower was cleaned once in three weeks, finger marks on the mirror were there from the first day I arrived, never wiped down, garbage bins not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I regret the shortcomings in service you have reported from housekeeping and reception staff . Our Executive Housekeeper and Front Office Manager will certainly address this with their staff. This is not up to our usual standard and I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your... More 

Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed for 2 weeks in May and was there for two nights earlier this week. *** Recognizing a return guest would be good which didn't happen. Checked in by a lady May be in her 40s, didn't response any thing when mentioned that I had stayed before. Obviously when you go to a hotel second time you would expect staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Nepalichoro It disappoints me to learn that you encountered an instance of indifference in terms of attitude from a member within our team and sincerely apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay. The issue you raised has been addressed with the Front Office Manager to action accordingly. Regards Simon Ruri Executive Assistant Manager More 

Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Foyer looks great but the rooms are outdated and old. Kitchen looks like it is out of the 1980's, Air conditioner sounds like there is a truck in the lounge room, taps leak, shower head will not stay up. The food is disgusting. I had a steak and it was small and the majority was gristle and fat. Two potatoes,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review

Dear leanneandtony, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. Please accept my apologies in regards to the issues you have raised regarding our restaurant. Our Head Chef will certainly address this with his staff. Regards Simon Ruri Executive Assistant Manager More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

While the staff are friendly, we had other issues. Our room was not cleaned despite hanging out the clean my room sign. The cleaner came at 6pm when we were having a rest. The hallway smelt like fish sauce all the time. I guess this was because people were cooking there. They have a small car park and it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review

Dear ianrhocking Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. As we are predominantly apartments we do on occasions have the wafting scent of others cooking. With regards to your room not being serviced please accept my apologies relating to this matter. I will follow this up with the Executive Housekeeper as our housekeeping staff... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question