We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 57 Perth hotels

The Melbourne

4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   942 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Perth CBD)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Melbourne to your Saves list
The Melbourne
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
56%
Ranked #53 of 57 hotels in Perth
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Greg A Brisbane, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (84)
  • Photos (10)
  • Location
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • More
true
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    22
    16
    4
See reviews for
7
36
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is clean and tidy, it has a good size room and bathroom The bed is firm and easy to move around, there is an iron and ironing board (a steam iron would be an added benefit) Good location at the top of Hay St (not far from Kings Park), very friendly staff with a 24 hour reception. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandon L, Front Office Manager at The Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to welcome you back. More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed overnight in Perth and the Melbourne was a well priced option right in the heart of the city. The room I stayed in on the second floor was spacious and the bed and pillows comfortable. The bathroom was well maintained and clean and, while a little dated, for the price I was very happy. The sleep I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandon L, Front Office Manager at The Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and would love to see you again. More

perth, australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked the Melbourne as I have used the venue many times for corporate meetings and lunches, dinners. Great food, hotel service is decent and most staff are friendly & smiley. We parked at QV1 and found the hotel's validation system easy to use - brings parking down to $15 a day which is cheap for Perth. the hotel itself... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandon L, Front Office Manager at The Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, and for all your comments. I am happy that your stay with us with primarily positive.We do understand your disappointment regarding the older rooms. We are excited about upcoming renovations here at the Melbourne, so if you do return I am sure you will be pleased with... More

Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The pluses: (1) good location, walking distance to the center and yet quiet, (2) clean, (3) spacious room, (4) free Wifi. The minuses: (1) the mattress was too soft to be comfortable, (2) the window opened on the kitchen chimney, so when opened it brought a smell of french fries in the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandon L, Front Office Manager at The Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Adeaemma, Thank you so much for taking some time to provide us with this review. We are glad that you found you found your accommodation to your liking. In regards to the bedding, please do kindly contact us so that we can take a look into the matter to help bring a better experience for all. We hope to... More

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Melbourne Hotel was a great find. We had a spacious room with french doors opening onto an iconic wide balcony, which would have been perfect on a summer evening for a pre - dinner drink, but not in the middle of winter. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. There is an arrangement with a near-by Wilson car park that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MelbourneHotel, Front Office Manager at The Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay at The Melbourne. We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay. We also thank you for your compliments on the staff and we will make sure to pass on the feedback to them. We do hope we get the chance to welcome you back... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed here at the top end of Perth to be close to Rigbys Bar. (Good option for walking to Convention Centre or Perth Arena too) Plenty of old world heritage charm like the exterior balcony, the older style lift and foyer staircase entry area. We chose a cheaper room (102) which had no window but it wasn't an issue... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelbourneHotel, Front Office Manager at The Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay at The Melbourne. We do agree that the hotel is conveniently located and only a stone’s throw away from the Perth Arena. We have looked into issue of the noise disturbance and are in progress to rectify the matter. We do hope we get the chance to... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Better than you might expect but don't get your hopes up. Location is fine but the old pub hotel style, worn and tired appearance are what you get for the price in Perth. Wifi worked well though so that's a bonus and it was quiet enough. No minibar but generous free coffee making facilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelbourneHotel, Front Office Manager at The Melbourne, responded to this review

We thank you for your review. The hotel is currently looking into possible renovations in the near future which will upgrade the appearances and facilities while maintaining the heritage style. We look forward to welcoming you back. Yours sincerely, Brandon Lee Front Office Manager More

Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at The Melbourne Hotel. After reading other reviews, we paid a little extra for a superior balcony room and weren't disappointed. We had read some previous reviews about rooms without windows etc so we took advice offered and paid a little extra.....and we felt it was still a good price. The room was very clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelbourneHotel, Front Office Manager at The Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay at The Melbourne Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed the facilities of your superior balcony room and took full advantage of the great city views. The team here strive to be helpful and courteous at all times and I am delighted to see that you noticed the... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I was excited by the prospect of a lovely old hotel in the middle of Perth city as a change from the normal box rooms on offer. The exterior of the building is gorgeous and maintains many of the original Victorian features including a wrap around veranda on the 1st floor with iron lacing. The entrance to the reception area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelbourneHotel, Front Office Manager at The Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay at The Melbourne Hotel. We are glad that you found our staff very helpful. In regards to the bedding, we do encourage you to please contact us as we would appreciate the opportunity to investigate the issue raise and room involved. Yours sincerely, Brandon Lee, Front Office... More

Western Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was our second stay at The Melbourne. The room was nicely decorated with french doors leading onto the balcony, where we shared a bottle of champagne for our wedding anniversary. The hotel was central to the restaurant we were going to and Perth city. The bathroom and ammenities were clean and functional. The bed was made up of two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brandon L, Front Office Manager at The Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so glad to have you returned to The Melbourne. We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay. Our maintenance team have ensure that the lightings have been restored since then. We are currently looking at some future refurbishments and will hope that we can once... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melbourne

Address: 942 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Melbourne 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melbourne Hotel Perth
Melbourne Hotel Perth
Melbourne Boutique Hotel Perth

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Near The Melbourne

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#30 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
34

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer