We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 Broome accommodations

Cable Beach Backpackers

12 Sanctuary Road, Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Cable Beach Backpackers to your Saves list
Cable Beach Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
63%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
JeremyMPestun Brisbane, California
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    9
    5
    4
    9
See reviews for
1
6
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed in a private room with air con. The room was a fair size anlthough, I really only spent time in my room to sleep. The bar on site was fun as were the people hangng out. Sure the amenities were basic but really, what do you expect. I look forward to coming back again in June!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I arrived from a late flight in the dark, the staff were helpful and I got me checked in within a few minutes. The single room was basic by all means, however the floors had not been vacuumed for a long time and were full of sand and dirt, so I could not take my shoes off. The bed had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I don't generally like staying in hostels but this one was great! It was affordable and in a great location. The staff were really cool, the drinks were cheap and the facilities were clean. The bed was comfortable and I got a great night's sleep. I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Yes, this place offers very basic accommodation but LOTS of character! I stayed here for about a month and met some wonderful people that I will call friends for life. The place has a very laid-back feel and the staff is super-friendly and helpful. You will find a range of folks staying here, from the long-term guests who are on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night in nov. place was very quiet as out of the peak season. double room was extremly basic... no towels, bedside table or lamp. aircon turned off between 7am -5pm windows lodged open and no sound proofing (wooden floors) so could hear people walking around. apart from this staff were friendly and bathrooms were ok. Next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This place is by far the best backpackers I have stayed in in WA. Not only is it great value for the rooms but also an amazing friendly environment. So hard to leave, after two weeks here everyone has became like family. Managers are so chilled and also have a laugh which is epic! Always some fun activities to get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Relaxed environment, great people, super helpful staff and a 5 minute walk from the stunning Cable Beach! What more could you ask for? Cheap bar prices...$3 beers during happy hour! don't think you would find those prices anywhere else in Broome! Really had a great time here and would definitely visit again. Lots to see and do in Broome so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Perhaps if I was younger (I'm in my late 30s) I could over look the filthy toilets, dirty mould ridden rusted broken showers and the dust in my so called private room. I know this is a hostel, but when I can hear people speaking in the next room (they were not talking loud) and when I am woken up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
cbbpackers, Manager at Cable Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

This review simply isn’t fair or accurate. There is a $100 difference per night between the double up the road and ours; I assume that's why you chose us - we're cheap. The comparison is apples and oranges – a brand new multi-million $$ build to ours is a ridiculous comparison! Our facilities may be older but not filthy –... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Really liked this place. Mostly 20 something's and a good vibe. Stayed in a four bed dorm with my girl and when possible management tried to keep the room free for just us which was good. Walk out of your room and your in a really chilled resident bar with really good drink specials. Most drinks are 5bucks or 3... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had a double room! It says basic and it is! But there is so much to do in broome there is no need to do anything but sleep there! The staff are all very friendly and offer an airport/town shuttle bus. The beach is a short stroll away and there is a bus stop outside it. Didn't use the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Cable Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cable Beach Backpackers

Address: 12 Sanctuary Road, Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Specialty lodging in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cable Beach Backpackers is located a short walk from famous Cable Beach, Broome. We are young, fun and relaxed and offer clean basic dorm room accommodation with shared facilities for international backpackers and young adventurous travellers. Everything you need is here including our fully licensed bar, large outdoor dining area, pool, hammocks and much more. Come and mix and mingle with people from all over the world. Cable Beach Backpackers...it's all good! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Cable Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cable Beach Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.