We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oaks on Lonsdale

Hotel website
23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save 10%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks on Lonsdale
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oaks on Lonsdale
Add Photo Write a Review

575 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    172
    273
    76
    32
    22
See reviews for
101
212
35
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (575)
  • Mar-May only
    (173)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (106)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (129)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (167)
All months
There are newer reviews for Oaks on Lonsdale
See the most recent reviews
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Stayed here for four nights over a long weekend. This was my second time staying here - quality is stil high. One bedroom apartment - quallity of cleaning also very good. There is a tram stop and a train station around the corner. Walk down to Swanston St to the Crown Cafe Bakery for a great breakfast in the morning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Oaks on Lonsdale. We appreciate your positive comments and hope to see you again soon. More 

Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed here for two weeks while attending the Australian Open tennis tournament. In the past I've stayed at the business oriented chain hotels (Marriott, Park Hyatt) but didn't like having to eat out for every meal. After a recommendation from friends that had stayed at the Oaks-on-Lonsdale, I chose a 1 bedroom suite for this trip and was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review of Oaks on Lonsdale. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay during the Australian Open and thank you for your positive comments. Oaks Hotels & Resorts looks forward to welcoming you again soon! More 

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed for business and the lack of a mini bar or milk was a bit annoying and there is no cafe etc on site. Luckily - this is Melbourne so there were plenty around. The door in the second bedroom couldn't open more than halfway because there was a massive king bed in there. Think it would have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review of Oaks on Lonsdale. We are disappointed that on this occasion, our hotel did not suit your requirements. We do thank you for your recommendation to families however. We do hope that you choose to stay at an Oaks Hotels & Resorts property again in the future. More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We were a party of 4 couples sharing 2x2 bedroom apartments for 4 nights. This was a Australian Open weekend where every joint in the city is fully booked. We arrived first so I asked at reception if we could possibly have the 2 rooms on the same floor. Thanks to the two ladies on the reception who spent 10... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review

Many thanks for your detailed review of Oaks on Lonsdale. It’s wonderful to read of the friendly customer service you received, as it is an element of our hotels that we take pride in. We are happy to read that you and your party enjoyed your stay during the Australian Open. We do apologise that you were disappointed with one... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I booked for my husband and his friends (directly with Oaks) after ensuring 4 single beds were available in the 2 bedroom apartments at Lonsdale. The day before check in, the manager, Victor Kondarios emailed him to say they were moving them to Market St. He promptly rang back to ensure there were 4 single beds and was assured that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review

We are very disappointed to read of your recent experience with Oaks Hotels & Resorts. Please accept our sincere apologies. We would like to discuss this further with you. Please contact our Customer Feedback Representative on customerservice@theoaksgroup.com.au at your convenience. Oaks Hotels & Resorts hopes to have the chance to welcome you again. More 

Canberra
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Having stayed in the Oak chain before, I've booked studio room, (which from previous experience was a spacious, airy bedroom/seating room/kitchen) only to find out that a studio at 'Oaks on Lonsdale' means a tiny, cramped room...(on 25th floor) we have asked to be upgraded (extra fee) to a one bedroom apartment (on 20rd floor), which was just wonderful! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review of Oaks on Lonsdale. We are happy to have comfortably accommodated you and pleased to read that you enjoyed the one bedroom apartment. Your comments have been passed onto the Hotel Manager. We look forwarded to welcoming you again soon. More 

brisbane
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed in a studio room on a high floor. Good points, Friendly staff, clean, king bed and quite room. Negatives, very small for service apartment and no chair, table or sofa to sit on. There was no full length mirror and minimal crockery/ utensils in the kitchenette ( no bottle opener).

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at Oaks on Lonsdale. We are disappointed to read that some elements of your stay did not meet your expectations, however, we hope that this did not affect your overall opinion of Oaks Hotels & Resorts. We do hope to welcome you again in the future. More 

Townsville
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
43 hotel reviews
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

My family recently stayed in a two bedroom apartment in Oaks on Lonsdale in Melbourne. It wasn't as central as we hoped and we had to walk several blocks to get to the heart of the city. We paid approx $445 per night and expected great things. Although the apartment was spacious and clean we were disappointed not to have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Oaks on Lonsdale. Please accept our apologies that your time with us did not meet your expectations. As a team we always endeavour to provide quality accommodation that exceeds guest expectations, and it is disappointing to read that we did not achieve this during your stay. We do hope you will stay with Oaks... More 

Coogee, NSW
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Pluses: We stayed 6 nights with a baby & apartment met all our needs. The car park was a must to lug the baby gear in & out for $20 a day Unlimited exits. The views are great, the kitchen had Everything we needed. The rooms were very sound proof which I loved. Minuses: The bath is very shallow &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksHotels, Public Relations Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review

We appreciate your review of Oaks on Lonsdale. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to seeing you and your family again soon. More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed in the Oaks on Felix in Brisbane. We loved it that much we stayed at the Oaks on Lonsdale in Melbourne. Really nice staff. 1 bedroom apartments are brilliant. Fully equipped kitchen, dining area, living room, bathroom and king size bedroom. Everything is separate which was great rather than everything being crammed into one room. Fantastic value for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive feedback on Oaks on Lonsdale. We are very pleased to hear that you are a repeat customer and enjoyed your stay on both occasions. Your kind comments have been passed on to the team, which will be very well received. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

239 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (208)
Viewed
View from room (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (69)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay