We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oaks on Market

Hotel website
60 Market Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save 10%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oaks on Market
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    351
    120
    52
    17
See reviews for
125
221
58
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (709)
  • Mar-May only
    (221)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (146)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (157)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (185)
All months
Mooloolaba
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Like any markets you go there for a reasonable deal and Oaks on Market is no different. Yes it's a bit tired, the repainted vanity basin starts the eyes wondering. The near obscure hot and cold logos on the shower bath taps can give you a bit of a nasty shock if you get them mixed up but the position... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 4 nights. Clean and tidy room, location excellent, very helpful staff and heres the but: - At $215 a night internet wasn't included and was desperately slow even when I paid. - My door lock failed on night 1, and I needed help to enter my room. - Common areas make a bus station waiting room look inviting.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for providing us with your feedback, needless to say we a truly disappointed that we were not able to offer you what we would have hoped to be a comfortable and relaxing stay. We thank you for your feedback and regret the inconvenience caused. Regards More 

Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Helpful and polite staff can only do so much; the hotel's décor and infrastructure is struggling. From the large stain on the tired carpet outside my room, to the internet service that took hours to download (so much for the 'free' first 30 minutes), from the gym lift under repair, to the TV remotes that didn't work (in mine nor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for providing us with your invaluable feedback, although we are glad that you enjoyed our customer service, we are truly disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectation. As you have noted, our carpet is due for an upgrade, please rest assured that we have already started the replacement of every square metre of... More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed two nights with my boy friend. We didn't spend a lot in the hotel room during our short trip to Melbourne, but basically we liked the room and facility. First of all, the hotel is based in very convenient location. We could go everywhere within CBD on foot, and sometimes we also enjoyed the free-tram ride. There's a kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing Oaks on Market, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to offer you a later check out. Thanks again and we look forward to welcome you back soon. Regards More 

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Oaks on Market overnight for a business trip and was pleased with the quality of the hotel and the room. The room was very clean including the bathroom and carpets and the bed was very comfortable. My colleague had an issue with noise from the street as he is a light sleeper and was on a lower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are that you enjoyed our clean rooms and our staff fantastic service. Thanks again and we look forward to welcome you back soon. Regards More 

Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed two nights -convenient location for dinner at Federation Square and then footy at Etihad the next day. Clean room, friendly, helpful staff. Only warning is major construction site across the road - very noisy but they didn't work during sleep time. Also a heavy smell of cigarette smoke at the front door (due to taxi drivers and desperately) is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are glad that you enjoyed our clean rooms and our friendly staff customer service. Although out of our control, we have been working very closely with the site Managers from across the road and we were able as you experienced to minimise the inconvenience to our guests.... More 

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed at Oaks on Market recently for 3 nights when visiting Melbourne. Friendly, efficient check in by the staff. Great room with a view of the city (View room) and in a good location , close to Docklands and only a short walk to the centre of town. Everything is close by. Room was comfortable with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your in-depth review, we love to read feedback like yours as it provides other travellers with a snapshot of what our property and Melbourne itself has to offer. Thanks again for your kind review and we look forward to your next visit. Regards More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights with my daughters. The apartment was extremely comfortable and clean. The service from all staff was excellent. It was located an easy walk from shops, restaurants and Flinders station. Would definitely stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing Oaks on Market, we are glad that you enjoyed our comfortable and clean rooms, our excellent customer service and the location of our building. Thanks again and we look forward to welcome you back soon. Regards More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here with the Mr's. Wen't for a night out in the city, it was much easier stumbling back here in the early morning. It's pretty close walk to a lot of nice places. Room's were clean, bed was comfortable. I didn't get to see or use any amenities as only spent a few hours here. Well priced, friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, although you didn’t spent much time with us; we are glad the we were able to offer few hours of rest after a night out in our clean rooms and on our comfortable beds. Thanks again and we look forward to you staying with us again, perhaps a little longer next time. Regards More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just stayed here with a friend and it was a very good stay. We just used the room as a crash pad but the room was clean with everything you would need for a weekend. Staff at reception were friendly and obliging, nothing was too much trouble for them. I really enjoyed the breakfast and the hotel is very close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you back soon. Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

183 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (160)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (69)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay