We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oaks on Market

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
60 Market Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save 10%
Oaks on Market
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #81 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Michael L
Add Photo Write a Review

763 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    180
    376
    132
    58
    17
See reviews for
137
235
60
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (763)
  • Mar-May only
    (225)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (197)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (157)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (184)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Room is comfortable and clean. Bed is good! Location is nice, not downtown busy but convenient to all shopping areas. Skip the breakfast, the quality is not worth full price $20+ or even the guess price $17.... you can get a much better breakfast in the cafe out there for this price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at Oaks on Market for two nights and found the room very comfortable with great views over the Yarra to the Crown Complex to the MCG especially at night!! The room was very comfortable with self catering if needed. It was quiet at night and warm! The bathroom was also a good size but the pressure of the shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for providing us with your invaluable feedback; we are glad that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and the great views. Thanks again for your comments and for recommending Oaks on Market to other travellers. Regards More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

With this being my first visit to Melbourne I was looking forward to finding something central that suited my budget. The location for me was spot on, only a couple of minutes walk from the Yarra river, where you can walk to see the likes of the Eureka Skydeck etc. The hotel is also only about a 15minute walk from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Oaks on Market, we are extremely glad that you enjoyed the excellent location of our building, our great rooms and the value for money that we offer. Thanks again for your kind review and we look forward to welcome you back soon. Regards More 

Phuket, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed at Oaks Market Street with my wife as a base for exploring the sights of Melbourne and was not dissappointed. From the time we walked in until the time we left it felt like home. Every staff member we encountered was efficient and genuinely friendly and seemed to really enjoy their job (especially Kara on reception). Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review, we are glad that we were able to offer you and your wife a home away from home. Thanks again for your comments and rest assured that we will duly share them with all our staff. See you back soon Regards More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed here one night in July. Its a convenient walk across to Crown and not far to the Flinders Street Station if you are meeting people or eating/drinking in that part of the city. We walked to Hardware lane, an old favourite. Rooms were fine although I had trouble getting the aircon to do anything other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are glad that you enjoyed the location of our building, yet disappointed that we were not able to tick every box. Thanks again for your feedback. Regards More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Standard hotel facilities, free wifi for 30minute, no slippery is provided, no hair cap, but this hotel provide mini kitchen with all kitchenware, spoon an fork, electric stove, microwave, refrigerator,and plate. Very near from collins st tram ( free tram for city area )

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing Oaks on Market, although we don’t exceeded your expectations we are glad that you enjoyed the location of our building. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back. Regards More 

Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

- Quite an average stay to be honest. - Good location. - Poor customer service. - Nosy room - Room keys failed to work, made to wait at the unattended counter for 5-10 minutes, no bell, no sign, no apology. All I wanted to do was go to sleep! - Your basic accommodation with a hefty price, lucky I didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, indeed we a blessed with an amazing location, however the location is only a factor towards the making of a great hotel. In our eyes customer service is the main attribute; and for this reason we are truly sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations. At Oaks on Market we... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Oaks on Market is in a very convenient location to see a football game at Etihad stadium and also a short tram ride or walk from the the airport bus terminal. The rooms are large and it is good value for money, though you do get what you pay for, without the polish of a more upmarket hotel, though the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to review our property, although we are glad that you enjoyed our location and the value for money that we offer, we are disappointed that you experienced some issues with hot water, recently we upgraded all our water valves and perhaps some still require some fine tuning. Thanks again for the... More 

cabridgeshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed for 1 night and upon check in, the receptionist asked for a credit card to place a holder of $150. what she didn't say is this would actually be debited from my account. upon phoning 3 days later to find out why they've actually taken the money off my card, I got a arrogant lady who decided to argue... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback; although we are extremely glad that you enjoyed our nice, clean and comfortable rooms; we are terribly disappointed that our customer service let us down; more so as this is one of the most recognised aspects of our property and mentioned time and time again by... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location, clean, affordable middle range price. ($138pn online). Studio rooms have everything you need. Staff were fantastic and and very helpful. Very close to Southbank/city centre/theatres and free Trams. Would stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed the location of our building, our rooms and our staff customer service. Thanks again and we look forward to welcome you back soon. Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

201 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (165)
Viewed
Room/suite (69)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#123 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 844 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#78 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#30 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#62 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay