We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arrow On Swanston

488 Swanston Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Arrow On Swanston
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
newcastle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is the fith time i have stayed here. It has a great location with a tram stop out front. Rooms can be small but you really only need a bed. Clean and tidy and friendly staff. Just need to put more cooking utensils in rooms and it would be perfect.

Helpful?
Thank westywood
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really great apartment facilities, close to Melbourne CBD .......comfy bed (had twin single beds) well stocked kitchenette, A/C, balcony, wonderful hot shower, 24 hr reception with very helpful staff.....very good value for money.

Helpful?
Thank Graeme R
Arrow M, Guest Relations Manager at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Graeme, Thank you for taking your time to write a positive review for us. I will spread your words to all of our department especially our front office department so they can continue to provide excellent service to all of our guests. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Take care Regards, Charlie More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We only stayed one night for a trip to the Australian open. We booked the hotel through Jetstar and was surprised by how clean and modern the rooms were for the price. There was a mini kitchen with hob, fridge and feeezer, basic utensils and microwave. Rooms are individually airconditioned which in the Melbourne summer is a must have. This... More 

Helpful?
Thank FionaPKawana
Arrow M, Guest Relations Manager at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Fiona, Thank you for taking your time to write a positive review for us. I will spread your words to all of our department so they can continue to provide excellent service to all of our guests. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Take care Regards, Charlie More 

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We where very satisfied with our stay at this hotel and I now understand what serviced apartment's are. Our apartment had 2 bedrooms double and single with kitchen and living room. We only spent one night here so we couldn't avail ourselves to the facilities. It was very handy for the centre of town. There is a coffee shop next... More 

Helpful?
Thank GS2013_13
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our overnight at this hotel I could say wasn't as good as I expected. We are assigned on the 4th floor and next to us are bunch of rude kids slamming the door when they go out of their to visit their friends on the other rooms. We ask the reception but didn't work. Kids slam the door til 2am... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Erol M
Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

We were a group of 6 and it turned out cheaper to book 3 twin rooms rather than a family room and a twin...so that turned out well for us as it means no arguing for the showers in the morning. Its a stop off the free tram zone so that means a bit of walking. Its quite cramped although... More 

Helpful?
Thank spikyone8318
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015

The location (only a few doors up from where our son is at university) was great but the room was not properly cleaned from previous guests and the electrics on the bedside lamp were decidedly dodgy. The room was stuffy with the windows closed but noisy with them open. I can't argue with the price though.

Helpful?
Thank Pepi M

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2015

We had a one bedroom apartment for a 2 night stay for 3 people. Rooms are small but as we wanted a central location and somewhere just to sleep and shower it was perfect. Within walking distance to the CBD, Chinatown and Lygon Street the tram stopped out the front of the building if you want to go further. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank cookiepagewood
Arrow M, Public Relations Manager at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to write a review on our hotel. Your positive comments have been forwarded onto the relevant departments. We hope to welcome back you soon. Regards, Charlie More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

Even though the room was booked for 2 nights (Sat & Sun) had been booked for 4dys earlier, but still had 3 days before being required, the management refused to refund anything. Even refused to give a voucher for a year for the room that has been paid for. Disgusted with this response and found this attitude money hungry. Would... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank CountryClient
Arrow M, Public Relations Manager at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to write a review to us. Regarding the refund issue you have with us. We have forwarded this matter to front office manager, it turns out that there was a misunderstanding regarding cancellation policy. We have a penalty charge of the 1st night's accommodation fee (non-refundable) for any cancellations. Please do understand that... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2015 via mobile

Booked here based on being a 2 bedroom SCA with a good price and location. And these positives hold true, and if these are your primary considerations then you cant do wrong. There were a few niggles, but at the price point hardly a deal breaker. +'s - The location was directly adjacent a tram stop with plenty of lined... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carpenteria
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Tune Hotel - Melbourne
#66 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#98 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#120 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay