We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oaks on Collins

480 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Oaks on Collins
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

934 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

When you arrive at hotel there is now where to park your car. Hotel staff did not tell us to leave car key at hotel concierge. When arrived the next morning our car was parked in for the rest of the day. Make sure you let the staff at Asian pasific know what time you want your vehicle.

Helpful?
Thank Annelien V
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Good hotel and a short walk from Southern Cross station. Tram stop is also close to hotel. You can also walk to the Casino and surrounding riverside area. The rooms are quite large and comfortable beds. Room service was reasonable, but they left the dirty towels on the floor on our first day there and did not leave more soap... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian F
Mornington, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Many things wrong with this hotel. Firstly, when you arrive there is nowhere on street to park, not even for 5 mins, we had to double park in a lane way. Once checking in we were told there was no car park and we had to use the public one. Hotel guests are to go onto the lower basement. But... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kristie M
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Thanks you kindly for providing comments pertaining to your recent stay with us. Please note that the car park in the basement of the building we are located in is not managed nor owned by Oaks. They do run on a valet system due to its size which can cause delays and it is a requirement that keys are left... More 

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Arrived mid afternoon to a quiet reception area. Check-in was fast and smooth although they do take $150 cc bond, which wasn't made clear when booking via hotels.com and paying the full amount in advance. The concierge team seemed very happy to just stand and watch whilst me and my partner struggled to carry our heavy bags up the reception/elevator... More 

Helpful?
Thank FitzroyMelbs
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Many thanks for providing your Tripadvisor review even though we would have liked to earn a higher rating as a result of an enjoyable stay rather than a average one. We truly appreciate your feedback as we have identified some information that we require Hotels.com to update which can ensure all future guests can be properly informed when using this... More 

Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I recently checked in to this hotel for business. Upon getting into bed the first night was confronted by a brown stain on the blanket underneath the sheet. It was absolutely disgusting and I rang the front desk ( was on hold for 7 mins) to complain. I had also found a hair under the pillow and another stain on... More 

Helpful?
Thank GregWBrisbane
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and also taking the time to speak with me recently regarding your regrettable issue upon arrival. As communicated, this certainly was a serious breach of our standards and has been dealt with internally and apologise again sincerely. Regards, Hotel Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

All in all, the stay was quite pleasant. The room was clean and furnishings nice. The bathroom was just tiny, I didn't really appreciate trying to use the toilet when it was literally a meter away from the bed of where someone was lying. Also no staff pointed out there was a mini elevator to take our bags up the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma M
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Glad your stay was all in all a pleasant one and hope we have the opportunity to tick a few more boxes for you should you stay with us again in the future. Regards, Hotel Manager More 

Brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the 4th hotel I've stayed in on an extended business trip & quite possibly the most mediocre. To begin with the parking is ludicrous. One driveway in & out means you quite often queue back onto Collins to get in then good luck getting the car down the ramp without ripping the front bumper off its that tight.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brisvegas_Boy
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Thanks for posting this review, it is greatly appreciated and provides us with feedback to improve in areas highlighted. Please note that the car park is independent of the hotel and whilst convenient understand that it is quite compact. There is an alternate option nearby (Flinders Lane) that may be more suitable for those requiring a spacious car park and... More 

Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Most bizarrely small bathroom I have ever come across. It is roughly the size of a cupboard. Rooms are modern and very spacious, it seems strange that the bathroom is so small. Housekeeping needs a serious and immediate overhaul. Never had the right amount of towel, delivery of towels took hours at a time. Rooms not cleaned thoroughly.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mel G
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay, it is sincerely appreciated. I am sorry we were not able to rate higher on this occasion but will be working with the housekeeping department to show improvement in the deficiencies you have highlighted. Regards, Hotel Manager More 

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'm not too sure why this hotel has had some mediocre reviews, I was a little nervous I must admit after reading some of them. To my pleasant surprise I found the hotel great, I was on the 13th floor with the window looking into a courtyard but I had no problem with that as there was no noise whatsoever.... More 

Helpful?
Thank kezCairns
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and pleased you enjoyed your stay at Oaks on Collins. See you again next time. Regards, Hotel Manager More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights with another couple, each of us booked studio apartments. Even though both rooms cost the same, theirs was almost twice the size of ours (although theirs smelled moldy.) Rooms had no outside view, Window opens onto an enclosed space so no fresh air here. Air con doesn't work properly, we had it blasting on 16... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mel M
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Whilst it is regrettable to read that you would not recommend us as an accommodation provider, it does seem like we have let you down in a few areas on concern which are being tended to urgently. Please note that Studio apartments are internal and we do advise that the bathroom doors are closed whilst guests are showering. Thank you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

281 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (256)
Viewed
Room/suite (102)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#26 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#81 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#60 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay