We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oaks on Collins

480 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks on Collins
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oaks on Collins
Add Photo Write a Review

813 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    66
    217
    269
    163
    98
See reviews for
66
277
62
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (813)
  • Mar-May only
    (219)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (188)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (201)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (205)
All months
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed in the Oaks whilst on business in Melbourne recently. Even though I was traveling solo I was given a twin Queen room. This room was on the top floor, it included a nice galley style kitchenette and more than enough space in the bedroom areas. The furnishings and fittings were modern and clean and there was sufficient space... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel was recently upgraded it looks, but it is noisy and has an almost unusable bathroom. The staff are pleasant, although service is slow in the restaurant. The rooms are clean and well appointed with a lot of room. What is hard to understand is the tiny bathroom. It is almost impossible to use the basin as it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a great welcoming by the staff and went up to your room.the room was very clean and neat.loved the view that we got and the level we were placed.the hotel had a tram stop next to it which made it easy to get around as well as taxis.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing your Oaks on Collins experience. Regards, Hotel Manager More 

Queensland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have been an Oaks fan for many years and stay at majority of Oaks hotels when travelling for work or leisure, but unfortunately I found the Oaks on Collins a little bit of a let down! I would like to know who designed there bathrooms??? Bathroom basin slightly bigger than a soup bowl...ended up brushing my teeth in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

It is disappointing to read you did not like our compact bathroom design but do thank you for providing this feedback. Regards, Hotel Manager More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a weekend in May 2015. The hotel is well priced for what it is (serviced apartments). however I upgraded our room to a rooftop terrace room and room I received certainly did not have a terrace,,, The room was clean, the bed very comfortable, but all the rest was so, so. It was a gigantic space... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and glad you found us good value for money which we do pride ourselves on considering our fantastic location. We do have Rooftop Apartments available at Oaks on Collins (displayed as 'Deluxe King Room' on some booking websites or 'Deluxe Studio Rooftop Apartment') but not all have terraces unfortunately. Some do have the feature of a... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had to book something last minute and I'm generally a skeptical person when it comes to cheap hotel prices but Oaks on Collins is well worth the price paid. Comfortable bedding and updated decor in their rooms provided one of the best sleeps I've had in Melbourne. Don't be put off by the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay here at Oaks on Collins. Very pleased to read that your scepticism was unwarranted and hope to see you again when next in Melbourne. Regards, Hotel Manager More 

Leichhardt, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room service - 10/10 Customer service - 9/10 Cleanliness - 9/10 View from Window - 0/10 (Was in the centre of the building, window faced hallway. For $166.50/night, I would expect at minimum a street view).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in one of our studio apartments. It is pleasing you found service and cleanliness to standard even though the internal aspect and lack of a view from the apartment was deemed unacceptable. Kind regards, Hotel Manager More 

Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for one night as I was in Melbourne for business. I ate dinner at the hotel as it was convenient. Big mistake. The service was polite, but I had to ask everytime I wanted something. The food was quite bland. With so many good eating options in Melbourne, I was dissapointed I had made this choice. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Thanks you for making mention of the maintenance issues you experienced in your apartment which have now been addressed and I do sincerely apologise for your discomfort. I have passed on your feedback regarding the service and food received in the restaurant to the Food & Beverage department. We certainly do aim to provide proactive service and sorry this was... More 

Waterford West
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So the positives about this hotel is the location about a 5 min walk to the centre of Melbourne and the other positive we could save a few dollars by cooking our own breaky. Now the negatives: Room was pitch black being in the centre of the building no natural light The bathroom which was about the tiniest bathroom EVER!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

I am sorry to read of your disappointment with your stay. I certainly do not recommend people to upgrade their booking and pay extra to receive a larger bathroom, merely if they book a studio and not happy with its internal positioning, ie no view nor natural light. I am sorry your were not happy with your chosen room though.... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in the twin room and I had a pleasant stay. The check in process is quick and easy, and the staff members were very helpful. The only downside is there are limited breakfast options available around the hotel on weekends. Spacious rooms are great for families.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us recently. I agree that you would need to walk maybe 10 minutes on a weekend to be in an area littered with breakfast options but we always have the option available on level 1 here onsite for the buffet breakfast. Regards, Hotel Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

266 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (222)
Viewed
Room/suite (98)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay