We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oaks on Collins

480 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Oaks on Collins
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

844 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    69
    229
    281
    166
    99
See reviews for
69
284
63
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (844)
  • Mar-May only
    (219)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (219)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (201)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (205)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A room with no windows and a lampshade that had been stamped on and shattered. Lifts that don't work with the room key. This was a really poor experience and despite complaining and getting a different room, this was only slightly better. The 'bathrooms' are just a glass screened off cubicle within the bedroom. I won't ever stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Thank you for the review provided. It is disappointing that you were placed in a room with a damaged bedside lamp and this was removed immediately after you had changed rooms which I am glad we were able to find room for. I sincerely apologise for this damaged article not being identified and rectified prior to you checking in. The... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is the second time I visited this hotel and the second visit is result of the first one. First time the room was spacious and comfy, reasonable clean and with an acceptable view. The second time I got smaller room with exactly the same bathroom setup. The bathroom size would be acceptable for a smaller room but not for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments and I will certainly pass on your feedback regarding the breakfast to our Head Chef for consideration and to ensure our high standards are being maintained in the buffet breakfast offerings. We sincerely appreciate this feedback. Regards, Hotel Manager More 

India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms are dark with no windows. Bathrooms are tiny with no room to stretch your hands. Poor maintenance. The room I stayed had leaking AC, and I found my suitcase all wet when I woke up in the morning Had no choice but to check out of the hotel after staying for one night although the original plan was for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

I appreciate the time taken to provide feedback but surprised to read you did not find us value for money as we are always priced well in comparison to other accommodation providers, especially considering our location on Collins Street in the heart of Melbourne CBD. As advertised, our Studio apartments are internal with no external views but do have a... More 

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From a very lukewarm greeting on arrival that rapidly became rude when their system wouldn't accept my card (eventually the Receptionist acknowledged it was their system but definitely didn't apologise for implying I didn't have any money in my account) I found the whole experience very average. It beggars belief IMO, that in this day and age a hotel of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments but we certainly do strive to offer considerably better accommodation than average to all guests so slightly disappointing to read you found us as such. Whilst only filter coffee is included in the breakfast buffet, Espresso coffee is available upon request so I would encourage you to try this out if filter coffee is not acceptable.... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We caught an early flight to Melbourne and got the Skybus to Spencer Street Station, it was an easy walk to the hotel. Staff were very friendly and very happy to take our bags so that we could have a look around before we could check in. We came back to the hotel at around 2 o'clock to check in.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and glad you enjoyed the apartment you stayed in. Please note that Studio Executive apartments either come with a balcony overlooking St James Lane or Collins Street. Unfortunately the Collins Street view apartments do not have balconies unless you were to book a Rooftop apartment. Glad you did ask the staff to move rooms so you... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel itself is pretty ordinary - but the location is fantastic! Within easy walking distance of Southern Cross Station (i.e. the Skybus from/to airport) as well as Flinders Street Station and all of downtown's shopping precincts.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide us these comments regarding your stay with us. Just for tripadvisor readers, apartments with numbers ending in '15 are actually Studio Executive apartments that have a balcony overlooking St James Lane. The internal apartments are the Studios which are our best-priced accommodation option. Very pleased you appreciated our fantastic location and see you... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This accomodation suffers through staff who lack training and who seem to have a blanket policy of refusing to apologise for myriad shortfalls in standards, work safe practices and customer service. The bathrooms are minuscule- glass wardrobes. No one seems to know who is in charge and access to a feedback tool was noticeably absent. Not to be repeated but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Thanks for providing your comments regarding your stay even though they are quite disconcerting to read. I have emailed you to gain further clarification on your experience so that I can properly respond and await this accordingly. All our Rooftop apartments do have king beds so would also like to confirm the room your booked and stayed in so that... More 

Brisbane
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location for a good price at the weekend. Were upgraded to a bigger version of a studio. Nice clean well appointed room. Agree with orbits comments on the layout which is poor use of space and silly bathroom. What was the architect thinking cramming a bed next to a glass walled bathroom in a good sized room. Other than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Happy to read you enjoyed your stay and the apartment. We truly appreciate your comments and hope to see you again in the future. Regards, Hotel Manager More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After reading others reviews I was nervous on what to expect for my week long stay at the Oaks on Collins. I was pleasantly surprised...all the negative stuff in other posts I did NOT experience any of them. We (3 of 4 co workers) arrived Saturday morning at 7am. I know I know no hotel will allow you to check... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Many thanks for your detailed feedback, there is certainly value in your comments for both management and fellow travellers. I am glad you found us generally comfortable and a suitable home whilst you were in Melbourne for an extended business trip. Regards, General Manager More 

Wangaratta, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are a family of 4 and so ordered an extra bed and a port-a-cot. As a result, it was very tight in the room. If we didn't take up the whole room with extra beds, the space would have been adequate. Everything was of a high standard, comfy bed, clean bathroom with nice toiletries. Its always a bonus to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Thanks for the review provided, all reviews are appreciated. As you suggested, our apartments get a little tight on space once additional bedding is placed in the rooms for a 3rd person but does work well if this is not a huge concern for our guests. Regards, General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

278 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (234)
Viewed
Room/suite (98)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#81 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#77 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#24 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
0.7 mi away
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
0.2 mi away
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#30 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay