We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Melbourne B&Bs / inns

Nomads Melbourne

2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
Hotel amenities
Nomads Melbourne
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Nomads Melbourne to your Saves list
Ranked #16 of 30 Melbourne B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013
NoelBella Malaysia
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    52
    51
    36
    33
See reviews for
3
27
63
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (189)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
There are newer reviews for Nomads Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had the most fabulous stay at nomads between 15-17th May 2013. First of all a great thumbs-up for the staff at the reception. They were really great.... helpful, friendly and very patient, despite us having a mixed up in our bookings and we arrived late, it was rectified very proffesionally and quickly. The noise at the bar didnt really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hobart, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Reasonably priced, clean, great atmosphere. Convenient location near both the Queen Victorian Markets and local clubs, pubs and bars. Only a 15-20 minute walk to the Crown Casino complex too. Staff were absolutely amazing and hilarious! Had a mixture of fun and safety for all guests as their number one priority! Bar was great, especially the themed nights, prices were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Arriving at Nomads, I was happily greeted by the reception staff and then the bar staff when I went down for a drink. The room was alright, no real space for storing anything and it looked as though the housekeeping staff didn't try to encourage guests to stay tidy if they were staying for an extended period of time. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here for a week and was not impressed. The Room i was assigned was facing the back of the building and i could hear nothing but music all night long. The majority of the staff seem to be backpackers themselves and seem to be more worried about having a party than entertaining the guests. I am aware the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nomads11, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Brizle87, I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Just a few things, regarding the music, we only have a licence until 1am and therefore all music finishes at 12.30am. We have sound barriers to protect upstairs guests and hope that no guests is affected by this. Our Travel desk is open 7 days... More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

When I read past reviews about the sqeaky beds, I wondered what everyone's problem was...but having spent a week in the hostel in October 2012 I now know what they meant! They sqeak and shake as soon as you touch them which means whenever anyone is climbing in our out you're likely to wake everyone up no matter if you're... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nomads11, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear shootingstar13, Thank you so much for your great feedback, you are a star. We do try very hard to make everything work for you so that you can enjoy your stay and I am very sorry that you had a squeaky bed. Our mattresses are of top quality, but some of the beds need to be tightened every now... More 

Sapa, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

It's an alright place, cleanish and the staff were helpful enough. The kitchen was the worst part of my stay. I didn't use it because its so small! Also friends had food stolen. The bar was good but so expensive! And the free wine on offer (goon) was only available if they had any luckily they ran out :) there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nomads11, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear John, Thanks very much for giving us some feedback, we endeavor to try and make everyone's stay enjoyable. As for the kitchen, we understand it is small but to compensate for this we give all guests free pasta, rice, Tea and Coffee and we also put on very cheap BBQ's and as you mentioned free Sunday BBQ's. Most people... More 

Cork
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Modern hostel. Rooms large and have small lockers. Beds are the worst I've ever come across and I stayed in twice in two different rooms bottom and top bunk all the same, they shake like crazy and squeak all night when people move the only a inch never mind if anything else goes on. Good deals in bar and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nomads11, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Monamahony, Thank you for your feedback. I am very glad to hear that most of your stay was enjoyable and that you enjoyed the Free walking tour. as with the beds we do have a few rooms that have squeaky beds and maintenance do tighten them every 2 weeks, so I am sorry that you had to endure this.... More 

Queenstown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We only stayed here for one night and one night was enough, the 8 person dorms were ok but a little bit small, the toilet and shower were quite clean but a bit annoying being in the rooms, the kitchen was small and quite dirty. The bar area was nice looking but didn't have much atmosphere and didn't have many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

There is no loo paper in the toilets, they are no where near clean, showers leak, smells like poo everywhere. They say there are sun loungers on the roof - its just rubbish and what use to be sun beds. They lost our booking but still had our payment and said no refunds but didn't have a bed for us.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nomads11, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Violet, Thanks very much for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We are sorry that your experience was not to standard and I would like to personally apologize. We have a strict cleaning policy and our bathrooms and toilets are cleaned thoroughly 4 times daily. Unfortunately in busy times with the high traffic volumes it is hard to constantly... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

When we arrived at the hostel we were given an average greeting, but it wasn't unfriendly. The rooms are INCREDIBLY hot. We had a fan in ours which only swept about half of the room, alas I was in the half that it didn't reach, nor did my bit of the room have a working light. The beds were uncomfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Nomads Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Melbourne

Address: A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nomads Melbourne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nomads Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Industry Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay