We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nomads Melbourne

A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Nomads Melbourne
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ranked #17 of 31 Melbourne B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015
ragnibob
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    52
    55
    38
    35
See reviews for
3
29
64
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (199)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
There are newer reviews for Nomads Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

Nomads Melbourne was our first hostel experience in Oz, two months and many hostels later we've agreed that it was our first and worst. We stayed the 16th-19th Dec 2014. We booked the hostel as part of a package which included free breakfast. Two mornings on the trot our only options were cornflakes and stale Rice Krispies. I brought this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Booking this place was a bit of a headache as I needed to book for a group and they only responded via email and did not work every day, and would not give me a phone number to talk directly. We arrived and it seemed normal, we booked 3 rooms, the first room had wet carpet floors. While some of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maineville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

My name is Nick Westermeyer. I am a quadriplegic from a gymnastics injury sustained at Michigan State University in April 1991 who is interested in global travel and participating in activities not normally associated with disabled people. I’m currently on an adventure that will explore worldwide handicapped accessibility. Many people have travel blogs, but there are none that I know... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Stayed here my first night in Melbourne, I'm not picky so beside from the fact that the blinds didn't shut I was happy with my stay. It had everything I needed for a good stay - lockers in the room, clean bathrooms, good shower, kitchen and fridges to put your own food in, it was close to shops and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

"Mark" and "Sophie" incredibly rude bar staff - ask them a simple question, like how much a drink is, and you are met with a sigh and blunt answer - very unfriendly and unwelcoming. Do not quite understand why they are so rude considering the bar is almost always empty? Key cards rarely work.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Really liked this hostel. It was clean and convenient. Didn't have our own bathroom which usually wouldn't appeal to me but the shared facilities were very clean and easily accessible with plenty of bathrooms for all so no having to get up early to have a shower! Wifi in the foyer was free, would've been nice to have it free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

The rooms were average. I stayed in a 4 bed but there were 2 bunk beds one which had a double on the bottom. There were two plug sockets between the four of us and one was used for the fan as there wasn't any air con. The kitchen is really small and although the bar and seating area out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
La Spezia, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014 via mobile

one of the worst experience with hostels. I took a six bed shared room, for an average price but: Filthy rooms, no wardrobe, no locker, no personal light next to your bed (if you wish to read a book and one of the other 5 is sleeping you can't), not even a grid achievable from my bed. If you want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

It wasn't what I expected at all. I thought it would be as good as other nomads hostels but it wasn't. The kitchen is extremely small, a lot of people is staying there and you almost had to make a line to use a spoon. The bathrooms are always dirty and you have to wait a lot to use them.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Suzie T, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Hello Micaela, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hostel. I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't have a positive experience. We are a very new management team. We are currently spending a lot of time with staff training across all sectors of our business. We want to excel in offering the very best... More 

London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

It's alright. Honestly nothing special, terrible wifi, one particularly moody member of staff, average rooms, not that close to town, but really good showers, the one positive! The wifi was free, which is something that you had to pay for at the second nomads hostel I stayed at, so I guess you can't complain too much.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Suzie T, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry to hear that we didn't blow you away. I'm surprised that you didn't feel that you got good customer service. This is an area we always seem to excel in. However I will see who checked you in to see if there are any training issues... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question