We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Melbourne B&Bs / inns

Nomads Melbourne

2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
Hotel amenities
Nomads Melbourne
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Nomads Melbourne to your Saves list
Ranked #16 of 30 Melbourne B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
ragnibob
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    50
    49
    36
    31
See reviews for
2
27
62
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (183)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Maineville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My name is Nick Westermeyer. I am a quadriplegic from a gymnastics injury sustained at Michigan State University in April 1991 who is interested in global travel and participating in activities not normally associated with disabled people. I’m currently on an adventure that will explore worldwide handicapped accessibility. Many people have travel blogs, but there are none that I know... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here my first night in Melbourne, I'm not picky so beside from the fact that the blinds didn't shut I was happy with my stay. It had everything I needed for a good stay - lockers in the room, clean bathrooms, good shower, kitchen and fridges to put your own food in, it was close to shops and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

"Mark" and "Sophie" incredibly rude bar staff - ask them a simple question, like how much a drink is, and you are met with a sigh and blunt answer - very unfriendly and unwelcoming. Do not quite understand why they are so rude considering the bar is almost always empty? Key cards rarely work.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really liked this hostel. It was clean and convenient. Didn't have our own bathroom which usually wouldn't appeal to me but the shared facilities were very clean and easily accessible with plenty of bathrooms for all so no having to get up early to have a shower! Wifi in the foyer was free, would've been nice to have it free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms were average. I stayed in a 4 bed but there were 2 bunk beds one which had a double on the bottom. There were two plug sockets between the four of us and one was used for the fan as there wasn't any air con. The kitchen is really small and although the bar and seating area out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
La Spezia, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014 via mobile

one of the worst experience with hostels. I took a six bed shared room, for an average price but: Filthy rooms, no wardrobe, no locker, no personal light next to your bed (if you wish to read a book and one of the other 5 is sleeping you can't), not even a grid achievable from my bed. If you want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

It wasn't what I expected at all. I thought it would be as good as other nomads hostels but it wasn't. The kitchen is extremely small, a lot of people is staying there and you almost had to make a line to use a spoon. The bathrooms are always dirty and you have to wait a lot to use them.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Suzie T, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Hello Micaela, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hostel. I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't have a positive experience. We are a very new management team. We are currently spending a lot of time with staff training across all sectors of our business. We want to excel in offering the very best... More 

London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

It's alright. Honestly nothing special, terrible wifi, one particularly moody member of staff, average rooms, not that close to town, but really good showers, the one positive! The wifi was free, which is something that you had to pay for at the second nomads hostel I stayed at, so I guess you can't complain too much.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Suzie T, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry to hear that we didn't blow you away. I'm surprised that you didn't feel that you got good customer service. This is an area we always seem to excel in. However I will see who checked you in to see if there are any training issues... More 

Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
41 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Good clean rooms of a decent size. Pool table In the bar, and decent facilities! Only stayed one night before moving to st kilda. Located not far from a market! Staff are helpful and it's a good base for shopping as it's not too far to walk to places.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Suzie T, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Hello there, I Just wanted to say thank you for your positive feedback. Its lovely that you took the time to do that for us. If you ever come back to Melbourne come and stay with us again and we will sort you out a discount. Enjoy the rest of your travels. More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

A group of us stayed here as we were heading out in melbourne and just needed a place to crash in the early hours. Staff were friendly enough and had a nice bar down stairs. rhe beds were pretty average and not comfy so if you were going to stay here a long time then you might be in for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Suzie T, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Hello there, I just wanted to thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it when customers take the time to do that for us. I just wanted to let you know that we are in the process of replacing some of our older mattresses. We are a new management team here, part of our new structure is that I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Nomads Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Melbourne

Address: A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nomads Melbourne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nomads Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Industry Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay