We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mantra City Central

318 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra City Central
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    9
    24
    9
    1
    6
See reviews for
7
11
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Door to room didn't open properly, door to bathroom didn't shut at all, TV only comfortably viewable from cheap plastic table, towel rail had paint all over it, bathroom tiles were covered in yellow mould, bed's doona had yellow stains all over it, great view of a grey wall, terrible coffee, bathroom shower only accommodates for people not slightly over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just returned from a 3 night stay. Last time I was there the hotel was a breakfree hotel and was pretty daggy and tired. The hotel has recently been refurbished and is looking good! My room was spacious, comfy and nicely furnished. Washing machine is handy if staying for a while. You simply cannot beat the location for shopping, Chinatown,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andrew W, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this review

Dear bottega s, Thank you for your kind commentary and staying at Mantra City Central. I will be sure to pass out your delightful feedback to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Cheers Andrew Walling General Manager More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Comfortable hotel without being flash. however it is in a great location right next to Myers and DJ's if you've come to Melbourne for a shopping trip. Parking is available but it is about a 300 - 400 metre walk up the road. No restaurant in house, but close to cafes and restaurants. Don't expect to get any views from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew W, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this review

Dear Annie11270, We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Mantra City Central. Thank you for providing your experience on Tripadvisor and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Andrew Walling General Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at a few of the Mantra around Melbourne and regular at the Mantra on Russell, unfortunately they overbooked and provided me a room at this hotel. It is sad to say it is not to the level of the other Mantra and I did not enjoy it one bit. The rooms are small and odd and if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew W, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this review

Dear davidg777, Our apologies that you did not enjoy your experience at Mantra City Central With our property being of Heritage build our rooms are of different shapes and sizes, thus adding an interest to some guests, however understandably not to others depending on expectations. We do indeed offer limited reception hours, which we are currently reviewing the possibility into... More 

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Hadspen, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great room on the first floor, nice comfy furniture and beds, lovely decor throughout. A very clean establishment that lived up to the Mantra brand. Our room wasn't available when we arrived, that was ok, but there weren't any bathroom facilities to use which was annoying. There is only one lift in the hotel which had us waiting on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew W, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this review

Dear sjc7306, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our newly refurbished product. With our central location there are times that city noise is apparent, however thank you for bringing your concern to our attention whilst in-house. We are appreciative of your post and views via Tripadvisor and hope to welcome you back in the near future Regards Andrew... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I chose this hotel for a weekend getaway and last minute deal. The location was very convenient as I came to Melbourne for the shopping and convenience with the train station and trams close by. I agree with the general reviews here. I was disappointed with the size of the bath as I was looking forward to a relaxing bath... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew W, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this review

Dear TrixieTjen, Thank you for advising us on your experience.. I have sent you a message in the hope to discuss your stay with us. Kind Regards Andrew Walling General Manager More 

Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you suffer any form of Claustrophobia - do not stay here. The location is absolutely perfect, you could not get any more close to the city! and the shopping precinct is LITERALLY at your doorstep here. We had a rooftop terrace with a group of friends, and although quite spacious, the layout and spread of the apartment was appalling.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew W, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this review

Dear epicurism, Thank you for your posting via Tripadvisor. Location location indeed... we do have to agree! It’s great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and made the most of the rooftop terrace apartment. Our Two Bedroom rooftop terrace and Two Bedroom Loft Apartments do indeed have a flight/s of stairs, if it’s the case that stairs are... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location behind the GPO and love the funky decor. I really was looking forward to a relaxing bath but unfortunately the 'bath' was only a half size bath (even though there was a space for a full size). Otherwise room was spacious with the bed up on a mezzanine level up a set of stairs (5th floor room 505)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew W, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this review

Dear Natoishka, We wish to thank you for your commentary above and our apologies that a couple of items were not of expectation. I’m glad you enjoyed the room layout and value added walk out balcony Thank you and Regards Andrew Walling General Manager More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent accommodation. The location is incredible with everything at your doorstep! Food, massive amount of shopping and free trams. Very helpful staff and very tidy and clean place. Highly recommend.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew W, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this review

Dear liahr2015, Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt that our location is “incredible”…we may have to agree with you there! Much appreciated Andrew Walling General Manager More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

I booked the 2-bedroom heritage rooftop apartment for a recent business trip with a work colleague, expecting that a 2 bedroom apartment would be more spacious for our requirements than two small studio apartments. I was wrong. Firstly, there is only one proper bedroom. The second bedroom is actually a single bed (with a trundle) on a landing. The "door"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew W, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this review

Dear SuzesMum, Thank you for posting your views on Tripadvisor and our apologies that we did not meet your expectations. I had sent a message the day of posting for a chance to discuss your stay however have been unsuccessful in our communication. There seems to be some misunderstanding in room types noted, as the description above fits our two... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
1:11
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay