We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mantra City Central

318 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra City Central
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    11
    27
    9
    1
    6
See reviews for
10
11
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (54)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If your looking for an affordable, beautifully renovated spacious containable apartment look no further. The emporium mall is just next door and its just a small walk away from restaurants and cafes! So glad our travel agent booked us in here worth every cent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed at the mantra city central for 12 days in july ,and it turned out to be a great decision to stay there.The hotel had very friendly helpful staff , was in a great location , next to all the major shops and restaurants . The hotel was clean and tidy , the rooms are good , we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Two adults and 15yr old daughter stayed in a loft room on the 5th floor. Got off to a bit of a poor start with the key not working as the door handles were loose only to be told we were doing it wrong... had other people on our floor try the door to no avail... 12 swipes later it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boort, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As far as location goes you can't get any better than this, great for shopping and exploring the CBD with fantastic restaurants close by. Comfortable beds and minimal street noise made for a good nights sleep. Staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved the position. Could walk everywhere from the Queen Vic markets in the north to the casino in the south and everywhere in between. The best was that all the eateries and shopping were a stones throw! Making it my only stay from on! Staff were excellent, they were kind enough to change our room, they printed our boarding passes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew W, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this review

Dear Mia288, Thank you for your glowing review. We are delighted the you enjoyed your stay with us with the location and staff service being the highlights. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon Thank you and Regards Andrew Walling General Manager More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Door to room didn't open properly, door to bathroom didn't shut at all, TV only comfortably viewable from cheap plastic table, towel rail had paint all over it, bathroom tiles were covered in yellow mould, bed's doona had yellow stains all over it, great view of a grey wall, terrible coffee, bathroom shower only accommodates for people not slightly over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew W, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this review

Dear Minkey T, I'm disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have sent you a message to further discuss your experience. Thank you and Regards Andrew Walling General Manager More 

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from a 3 night stay. Last time I was there the hotel was a breakfree hotel and was pretty daggy and tired. The hotel has recently been refurbished and is looking good! My room was spacious, comfy and nicely furnished. Washing machine is handy if staying for a while. You simply cannot beat the location for shopping, Chinatown,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andrew W, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this review

Dear bottega s, Thank you for your kind commentary and staying at Mantra City Central. I will be sure to pass out your delightful feedback to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Cheers Andrew Walling General Manager More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Comfortable hotel without being flash. however it is in a great location right next to Myers and DJ's if you've come to Melbourne for a shopping trip. Parking is available but it is about a 300 - 400 metre walk up the road. No restaurant in house, but close to cafes and restaurants. Don't expect to get any views from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew W, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this review

Dear Annie11270, We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Mantra City Central. Thank you for providing your experience on Tripadvisor and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Andrew Walling General Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

I have stayed at a few of the Mantra around Melbourne and regular at the Mantra on Russell, unfortunately they overbooked and provided me a room at this hotel. It is sad to say it is not to the level of the other Mantra and I did not enjoy it one bit. The rooms are small and odd and if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew W, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this review

Dear davidg777, Our apologies that you did not enjoy your experience at Mantra City Central With our property being of Heritage build our rooms are of different shapes and sizes, thus adding an interest to some guests, however understandably not to others depending on expectations. We do indeed offer limited reception hours, which we are currently reviewing the possibility into... More 

Hadspen, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

Great room on the first floor, nice comfy furniture and beds, lovely decor throughout. A very clean establishment that lived up to the Mantra brand. Our room wasn't available when we arrived, that was ok, but there weren't any bathroom facilities to use which was annoying. There is only one lift in the hotel which had us waiting on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew W, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this review

Dear sjc7306, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our newly refurbished product. With our central location there are times that city noise is apparent, however thank you for bringing your concern to our attention whilst in-house. We are appreciative of your post and views via Tripadvisor and hope to welcome you back in the near future Regards Andrew... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
1:11
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#80 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
0.0 mi away
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
0.3 mi away
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#62 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
0.2 mi away
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#92 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#107 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay