We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 113 Melbourne accommodations

Gem Apartments Short Stay

4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   63 Whiteman St, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gem Apartments Short Stay to your Saves list
Gem Apartments Short Stay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Siddaryl Perth WA
  • Overview
  • Reviews (23)
  • Photos (28)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth WA
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a 3x2 and a 2x2 apartment at Vue Grand in June 2014. We are "Ladies who love Footy" and travel to Melbourne once a year together to enjoy the Footy and Cocktails. The Gem Apartments were fabulous. Kelly and her team were always available, very helpful and responsive. Just before we arrived, Kelly offered us 2 apartments side... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The apartment block is in a perfect location. We didn't want to be right in the middle of the city, however you could easily walk in to the CBD within 5-10 mins. We wanted to have the flexibility of making our own meals as we were staying for a week. All of our "supplies" we purchased from the little IGA... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, NSW
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location for trams, casino, CBD. Lovely apartment, well equipped (kitchen especially). Staff were extremely helpful in allowing us an early check-in and a late check-out. Have already recommended to a friend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What can I say about gems apartment? Me and family stayed here on june 21-26 at 2005/180 cityroad. They send me the email the detail about everything I want to know without me have to ask them one by one. They replied the email so fast when I have a question. They even offered me a late check out or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whyalla, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed 6 nights on the 15th Floor of the Yarra Crest (99 Whiteman) and were very happy overall. (Family of 4 incl 2 teenage children). We had booked online some months prior and the email correspondence with the manager was excellent. We were met by a concierge and received a very good orientation. The designated carpark was ideal as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed at the Centurion Apartments - Whiteman Street - whilst attending conference at Exhibition Centre. Great location, 5 minutes walking distance to convention centre and great range of shops and restaurants. The apartment was lovely, VERY comfortable bed and furnishes lovely. Enjoyed a swim in the pool - no-one else there! Will definately stay here again when next travelling to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed 4 nights and whilst the views were amazing it was a shame you could only see them standing on the balcony. The windows and sliding were so dirty. It is a shame because the rest of the apartment was absolutely spotless. The furnishings were first class. Sure there was a bit of noise from the street below. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kellie S, Manager at Gem Apartments Short Stay, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at 83 Whiteman Street. We are implementing a better system so that the windows are cleaned more regularly. Please accept our sincere apologies that they were not clean during your stay. Warm Regards Kellie Skinner Gem Apartments More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

3 of us stayed in a two bed apartment 180 City Street. The flat was comfortable although as the flat was for 4 people not sure had we been 4 where the 4th would have sat to watch TV as only enough comfy chairs for 3. It was quite small as well. The flat was central to the Southbank and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kellie S, Manager at Gem Apartments Short Stay, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property - we are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Melbourne. We would like to take the opportunity to fully explain our accommodation. Firstly - if you book direct on our website, you are actually booking exactly what you see. The apartments pictured are the actual apartments. However, when you book through... More

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed at the Yarra Crest 99 Whiteman st last week. The apartment complex was very nice our apartment was 159 on the 15th floor it was very clean and comfortable the only down side was the air conditioner did not work by the time we realized it was at the end of our stay we did contact Ben the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kellie S, Manager at Gem Apartments Short Stay, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately I was not made aware that the air conditioning was not working during your stay, we would have relocated you. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Melbourne. More

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The furnishings mean it isn't a five star and the condition of the apartment means it only gets three not 4 stars from us. We had high expectations for this place and it isn't cheap but it is really starting to show it's age. The view is great and the location is brilliant but it is clearly run/owned by people... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kellie S, Owner at Gem Apartments Short Stay, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We were disappointed to hear that we did not satisfy your requirements on this occasion. We pride ourselves on providing high quality furniture, it is disappointing that the style did not appeal to you. As we had been informed prior to your arrival, by the person making the booking, that you require a very high... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Gem Apartments Short Stay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Gem Apartments Short Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Apartments Short Stay

Address: 63 Whiteman St, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gem Apartments Short Stay 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Gem Apartments Short Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (12)
Room/suite (5)
Dining (2)
View from room (4)
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (17)
Room/suite (9)
Hotel & grounds (2)
View from room (1)
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Melbourne with
any amenities


Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gem Apartments are a select group of Melbourne luxury apartments in Southbank and inner suburbs which offer guests spectacular views, central location, extra space and the touches of home. Our apartments are individually owned and located in different buildings, offering guests diversity to meet your needs. Gem Apartments provides the perfect Convention Centre & Exhibition centre accommodation in Melbourne. Our apartments are well equipped and perfectly suited for family, holiday, couples and corporate apartment accommodation. They are also ideal as short term accommodation if you are moving to Melbourne.Each Gem Apartment has fantastic views, open and airy, resort style facilities, central location, quality furniture and decor, broadband internet, secure parking for one car, flat screen televisions and pay tv, fully equipped kitchen to suit the needs of longer stays ... more   less 
Number of rooms

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gem Apartments Short Stay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer