We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ovolo Laneways

19 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Ovolo Laneways
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

675 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    393
    195
    57
    19
    11
See reviews for
106
253
46
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (675)
  • Mar-May only
    (179)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (210)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (110)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (176)
All months
There are newer reviews for Ovolo Laneways
See the most recent reviews
Karlsruhe, Deutschland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Stayed there on a business trip in a 2-bedroom apt which came at 300 AUD per night. Surely not that bad for Melbourne considering what you get. There is a fridge in the lobby with beer, wine, siftdrinks, etc. and a Nespresse machine - the thing is it's all free. Same with the mini bar in the apt and pastry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review

Dear Benson1976, Many thanks for the review and for sharing your Ovolo experience with us. I am sorry about the double booking, it seems a small issue with the booking agency but a problem solver and sorted in no time. The Two bedroom suites have their main source of light from the floor to ceiling windows in the lounge area... More 

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

We stayed at the Ovolo for 10 nights - had a fantastic time. Amazing and friendly staff and great location. The complimentary breakfast of pastries and free bottled water and drinks and complimentary minibar are a winner! Will be staying here again when we come back next year.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review

Dear Natalie D, Thanks for the review! Glad to hear that yourself and the family had a great stay at Ovolo Melbourne. I look forward to welcoming you back next year! Regards, Kelly O'Neill General Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

My wife and I always enjoy staying at this lovely hotel. It is in a great location near the theatre district and china town. The trams are only a short walk away. We booked a studio rather than a 1 bedroom for this stay and I would recommend that for the small incremental cost that you book the 1 bedroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review

Dear Jason R, Thanks for the review! So pleased to hear that both yourself and your wife love the Ovolo hotel and have chosen to stay on a number of occasions. I agree with your comment, that the 1 bedroom for the small cost of an upgrade is well worth it. The room is much larger and gives you that... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

When I stepped out of the lift to head towards my room I was immediately wow-d! Awesome city vibe and that fake turf seat was awesome! But it didn't stop there, I opened my vibrant yellow door and was amazed at how beautifully laid out my room was! I had a studio suit (with lounge) and it was fantastic!! Great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review

Dear Pickyforts, Thanks for the great review. We hate broken hearts here at Ovolo so we hope to see you back in Melbourne sometime soon and if not Melbourne then one of our new Sydney properties perhaps. Happy Travels. Kelly O'Neill General Manager More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Excellent hotel, amazing staff and perfuse location. Would not hesitate to stay here again. The complimentary treats are a welcome surprise. Staff were very accommodating and nothing was too difficult. Perfect accessibility to Melbourne's theaters, bars and restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review

Dear ChelcOz, Thanks for the great review! My favorite of the week. Glad to hear you had a wonderful time. Looking forward to having you back. Regards, Kelly O'Neill General Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

My partner and I went on a mini break to Melbourne from Perth and had a blast! We were looking for a apartment style accomodation with a bit of an edge and definitely found it at the Ovolo. The complementary breakfast of pastries and coffee is a brilliant idea and one we found most useful when flying out the door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review

Dear StellaWasHere, Many thanks for the review. I am glad to hear you had a great time at Ovolo Hotel Melbourne and enjoyed all the inclusions we have to offer. I am sorry to hear you found the hotel was a little tired. We are in fact currently re-painting and refurbishing some rooms are the hotel so I hope you... More 

Romford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I arrived off of a long 22 hour flight and was greeted with a smile and the guy at reception knew my name, nice touch. Was up graded before I could even open my mouth. Room was really nice and lovely touches such as the goodie bag, ice cream in the freezer, free mini bar and even the free shoe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review

Dear Lisa G, Thanks for the great review. There is nothing better than receiving a smiling welcome and great service after a long haul flight and I am glad Ovolo was able to offer this to you during your most recent stay. Regarding the bedding, whilst it's not ideal you were cold I can confirm we have new bedding on... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

For a 2yr old hotel it is very trashed. If your a girl forget it, the bathroom sink is so small you cant brush your teeth unless you some how put your head sideways. No room to leave anything on shelves and the sink is in the way next to the toilet which had a faulty flush you can pull... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review

Dear motobk, Thanks for the review. I am glad to hear you felt the bedding was comfortable and the staff very friendly. I am however sorry to hear you felt the property was tired. There have been some areas of the hotel which are identified as needing some love and this is currently in place, this involves a brand new... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Ovolo is a cool, stylish hotel in a buzzy spot. I had a Studio Suite which was a good size with a lounge area. Positives: The bed was comfortable, the towels big and fluffy, the toiletries nice, the foyer was cool, the staff friendly and helpful. The goody bag and free beer, wine, juices and waters in the mini bar... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review

Dear scj100, Thanks for the review. Whilst there were some great positives which I will pass on to the team I will make note of the negatives such as maintenance and air conditioning. These are areas that have been identified and we are busily fixing these at present, our maintenance manager is hard at work and we currently have a... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The hotel is in a fabulous location for Melbourne’s theatre district and right on the doorstep of the city’s ‘Chinatown’. The hotel has a very narrow thin frontage on to Little Bourke Street, which means you could easily walk past it. Reception is small but the staff are extremely welcoming. There is a happy hour from 6-8pm, which allows you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review

Dear anactbloke, Thanks for the review. Sounds like you enjoyed the hotel as a whole and I will be passing on feedback to the staff, they will be thrilled to hear you enjoyed all the inclusions. You are correct in saying that we are a small hotel without the offerings a larger hotel might have but we like to play... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

472 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (195)
Viewed
Room/suite (77)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (64)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (252)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (97)
Viewed
Suite (44)
Viewed
Suite with City View (89)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
1.0 mi away
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
1.9 mi away
Art Series - The Blackman
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
2.3 mi away
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay